User menu

Shopping cart



Simon&Schuster

Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson

Painfully shy after an early encounter with a possessing spirit, Artemisia wants only to keep her head down and escape into the life of a nun who keeps the spirits at bay, but destiny, of course, has other plans. When her home is threatened, she binds herself to a revenant—a dangerous undead spirit trapped in a relic—and makes a deal. Part spooky, part adventure, and all heart, this book is for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Bone Witch.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Vespertine By Margaret Rogerson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534477117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - October 5th, 2021

Aristotle and Dante Dive Into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Almost a decade ago, Aristotle and Dante’s story ended with a declaration of love and a kiss in the desert. Now turn the page and you’re back in 1988 under the stars with two boys in each other’s arms. Benjamin Alire Sáenz draws a world wider than just Ari and Dante, full of danger and sorrow—the AIDS pandemic, prejudice, personal tragedy—but also populated with fantastic characters, new and old, with connection and hope in a better tomorrow.—Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World By Benjamin Alire Sáenz Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534496194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 12th, 2021

Barb the Last Berzerker by Dan Abdo & Jason Patterson

Barb is a rough and tough young Berzerker who can’t wait to kick some monster butt! But when her pals get in trouble, she finds the unlikeliest of friends to help her on her epic quest to save them. For fans of sword & sorcery fantasy and cartoons like Adventure Time, this graphic novel will keep you laughing as you encounter monsters, wizards, and fighters alongside the charmingly silly and utterly lovable Barb the Last Berzerker!—Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Barb the Last Berzerker By Dan Abdo, Jason Patterson, Dan & Jason, Dan Abdo (Illustrator), Jason Patterson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dan Abdo, Jason Patterson, Dan & Jason, Dan Abdo (Illustrator), Jason Patterson (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534485716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Stuntboy in the Meantime written by Jason Reynolds, illustrated by Raúl the Third

Portico Reeves has a secret. A super secret. Don’t tell anyone, but he’s really a superhero named Stuntboy! His superpower is to protect other supers so they can save the day. But no stunt can stop his parents from fighting or from Herbert the Worst from teasing him. Interspersed with Raúl the Third’s expressive artwork, Jason Reynolds’ story perfectly captures all the trials and anxieties of a young kid living in a turbulent situation. This is a great book for kids going through big changes.—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Stuntboy, in the Meantime By Jason Reynolds, Raúl the Third (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jason Reynolds, Raúl the Third (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534418165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - November 30th, 2021

Beautifully Me written by Nabela Noor, illustrated by Nabi H. Ali

Say “Salaam” to Zubi! In body-positivity activist Nabela Noor’s debut picture book, we meet a cheerful and outgoing young girl, Zubi. The illustrations are lively and colorful, and the characters' designs are lovely. Touching on the relatable experience of learning body shame from those we love, this sincere and affirming story is a wonderful reminder that when we love ourselves, we make the world a more beautiful place for everyone. A much-needed tale of fat acceptance for children.—Molly S.

Staff Pick Badge
Beautifully Me By Nabela Noor, Nabi H. Ali (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nabela Noor, Nabi H. Ali (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534485877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 14th, 2021

Taste by Stanley Tucci

Stanley Tucci was born and raised in upstate New York by Italian American parents and their extended family, in a household in which food played a central role. His mother was an accomplished home cook, and he conveys an intense nostalgia for the meals of his childhood. Determined to pass his love of cooking and food in general along to his children and share it with his loved ones, Tucci makes dinner for his family whenever he can and loves to host dinner parties for his friends. His recent battle with oral cancer—which left him without a sense of taste for two years—has only deepened his appreciation for a good meal. Packed with amusing anecdotes and peppered throughout with mouth-watering recipes, Tucci’s memoir will delight fans of his films and food aficionados alike.  —Jade

Staff Pick Badge
Taste: My Life Through Food By Stanley Tucci Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982168018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - October 5th, 2021

World War C by Sanjay Gupta

A fascinating and in-depth look at the Covid-19 pandemic, Gupta gives us a look at what is needed to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. He writes with compassion and lively curiosity, so that even those without a science background will be engrossed. I came out of this book with more hope than I expected, and the certainty that if we can only take preventative measures, we have the power to keep future generations safe.—Jax

Staff Pick Badge
World War C: Lessons from the Covid-19 Pandemic and How to Prepare for the Next One By Sanjay Gupta, M.D., Kristin Loberg (With) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982166106
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 5th, 2021

On Animals by Susan Orlean

On Animals is a collection of animal writing from throughout the career of accomplished writer and life–long animal lover Susan Orlean. The essays here are all over the map, from diary-entry-like tidbits on her experiences with backyard chickens to a true-crime-esque story about a tiger hoarder in New Jersey to reporting on the use of mules in the military. Ranging in length and tone and spanning several decades, Orlean’s writing is personal, informative, and infused with an unselfconscious sense of humor.—Jade

Staff Pick Badge
On Animals By Susan Orlean Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982181536
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - October 12th, 2021

The Hidden Case of Ewan Forbes by Zoe Playdon

The Hidden Case of Ewan Forbes is as infuriating as it is fascinating. It chronicles the erased history of Scottish aristocrat Ewan Forbes, a transgender man whose life spanned most of the 20th century and established important legal precent for trans rights. The suppression of his story and the facts of his case by the UK government has inhibited the expansion of trans rights for decades. Now rescued from obscurity, I hope this timely addition to trans history will help secure the still-vulnerable rights of trans people in the courts internationally.—Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
The Hidden Case of Ewan Forbes: And the Unwritten History of the Trans Experience By Zoë Playdon Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982139469
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Scribner - November 2nd, 2021

Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much by Jen Winston

Through an array of personal essays ranging from childhood anecdotes to serious, introspective pieces on sexuality, privilege, and gender identity, Greedy gets to it all—it’s laugh-out-loud funny even while delivering its gut punches. Jen Winston’s debut memoir is something I won’t stop talking about all winter long. If you’re bi, this is a must read. If you’re not, this is still a must read!—Andrea

Staff Pick Badge
Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much By Jen Winston Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982179175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - October 5th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster