User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Simon&Schuster

Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner

After a car accident, Lou Montgomery's life changes radically: she's removed from her mom's care, placed with her aunt and uncle, and diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. These changes are accompanied by a cast of new and lovable characters, including Lou’s funny, fabulous, theatrical best friend Well. Thought-provoking in its exploration of disability, wealth, and familial relationships, this novel about a young girl's journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance is perfect for fans of So B. It, Out of My Mind, and Counting By 7s. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Tune It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534457003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Women in the Kitchen: Twelve Essential Cookbook Writers Who Defined the Way We Eat, from 1661 to Today by Anne Willan

Many of us have a connection to a particular woman who commanded the kitchen at family gatherings, as well as memories that evoke sounds, smells, tastes, and sights that we try and recreate with our present day families from recipes scrawled on index cards. Anne Willan unpacks the stories of female cookbook writers throughout history and their recipes, methods,and backgrounds that have influenced many aspects of our own kitchen practices today. Women like Fannie Farmer, Irma Rombauer, Julia Child, Edna Lewis, and Marcella Hazan, with all of their notoriety, still had a process of utility, economy, discovery, sometimes failure, and ultimately creation. —Jenny

Staff Pick Badge
Women in the Kitchen: Twelve Essential Cookbook Writers Who Defined the Way We Eat, from 1661 to Today Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501173318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 11th, 2020

Having and Being Had by Eula Biss

I do not pretend to speak from much experience, but Having and Being Had is the most interesting, most resonant writing about capitalism I’ve ever read. Eula Biss’s personal examination begins after buying her first home, follows the peculiarity and discomfort she finds living within the confines of class, property, and ownership, and expands in fascinating ways from there. Each refreshingly bite-sized essay is equal parts intelligence and personality, like the best late-night conversation with your smartest friend—utterly, brilliantly delightful. —Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Having and Being Had Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525537458
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 1st, 2020

The End of Everything (Astrophysically Speaking) by Katie Mack

Not many would read about the end of the world for fun during a pandemic. If you smiled at that last sentence, pick up this book. Katie Mack is funny, educated, incredibly smart—and will make you feel the same. Beyond pop-culture references and complex scientific concepts (that she makes absolutely relatable and understandable!) Mack’s passion will hook you in to the last (hilarious) footnote, leaving you excited for what is left to discover (and following @AstroKatie on Twitter) before the end. —Jocelyn 

Staff Pick Badge
The End of Everything: (Astrophysically Speaking) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982103545
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

Why Fish Don’t Exist A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life by Lulu Miller

Lulu Miller writes of chaos, of scientist David Starr Jordan, of the elegance that can come from putting everything in order (be it emotions, milestones in life, fish in jars). She intersperses her own story and personal reflections within history and true crime events, scientific discoveries and hidden horrors. I have raved about this book at multiple coworkers and added it to my small stack of “books I have hugged upon finishing.” It is dog-eared, something I never do (which I attribute to all the chaos in said book), and a book I’ll be recommending to as many folks as possible. 

Staff Pick Badge
Why Fish Don't Exist: A Story of Loss, Love, and the Hidden Order of Life Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501160271
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 14th, 2020

The Language of Butterflies by Wendy Williams

Butterflies have entranced humans for hundreds of years. Why did this fascination begin? And what part do butterflies take in our ecosystem? Wendy Williams has carefully crafted a study about the fascinating history of humankind’s relationship with these delightful, colorful insects, as well as into butterflies’ evolution. A perfect addition to any naturalist’s collection and to that of the casual appreciaters of butterflies.

Down Days by Ilze Hugo

Topical for the COVID-19 era, this magical realist novel is inspired by the 1962 Tanganyika Laughter Epidemic and set in a fictional version of Cape Town, Ilze Hugo’s hometown. This time, the laughter never stopped; seven years later, everyone is wearing a mask, laughing is forbidden, taxi drivers are death collectors, and a little girl is trying to find her brother—who may or may not be a ghost. But when even the truth is up for debate, what is one to do but laugh?

Staff Pick Badge
The Down Days: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982121549
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Skybound Books - May 5th, 2020

Waiting for Bojangles by Olivier Bourdeaut

A beautiful French novel exploring the difficult subject of mental illness. Written to the soundtrack of Nina Simone singing Mr. Bojangles, this is a magical love story. A young boy tells the story of watching his parents dance their way through life even as his mother descends into madness. This is a book that will make you laugh and cry. An international bestseller.

Staff Pick Badge
Waiting for Bojangles Cover Image
By Olivier Bourdeaut, Regan Kramer (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501175091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 17th, 2020

The Hidden Girl and Other Stories by Ken Liu

Staff Pick Badge
The Hidden Girl and Other Stories Cover Image
By Ken Liu
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982134037
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - February 25th, 2020

Ken Liu delivers a beautiful mix of speculative fiction and light fantasy in his second collection of short stories following The Paper Menagerie. Delving into the complexities of shared history, the impending reality of a virtual existence, and other thoughtful meditations on the ramifications of our social evolution, The Hidden Girl and Other Stories questions our idea of authenticity and consciousness—yet Liu always returns to the pervasive power of memory and the strength of human connection (even when it’s in 1s and 0s). —Tori


Downfall by Inio Asano

Staff Pick Badge
Downfall Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781974709366
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: VIZ Media LLC - February 18th, 2020

Inio Asano, renown manga author of Solanin and Goodnight Punpun, is back with his new publication Downfall. Known for his unique combination of ordinary, everyday events and psychological horror, Inio Asano is bound to deliver in this new manga centering on a failing mangaka in a deteriorating marriage. This is one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2020. —Brooks


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster