User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Simon&Schuster

Don't Make Me Pull Over by Richard Ratay

One of my favorite memories is driving 1276 miles by myself to Canada to meet someone I met online and hang out with them for three weeks. (It’s cool, we promised each other we weren’t serial killers.) Ratay’s book recaptured that joy I found throughout the back roads and highways, and it introduced me to a whole mess of histories associated with road travel. The facts are surrounded by stories of the author’s own road trips, back when seat belts were optional and CB radios lived next to the 8-track player. From the introduction of the radar gun to what brought about the actual building of the transcontinental highway system, this book covers all facets of the best and worst of vehicle travel. - Rachel

Staff Pick Badge
Don't Make Me Pull Over!: An Informal History of the Family Road Trip Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501188756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 14th, 2019

Rough Beauty by Karen Auvinen

This is a beautiful story of a woman trying to find her own, with powerful prose and captivating descriptions of nature. Karen Auvinen’s metaphorical writing is surprisingly accessible and paints a vivid picture of her process of self-discovery through a Thoreau-esque 4 years in the woods with just her dog. As an artist, I particularly enjoyed the collection of watercolor pieces contributed by Auvinen’s partner. - R.H.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Rough Beauty: Forty Seasons of Mountain Living Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501152290
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scribner - June 4th, 2019

What My Mother and I Don't Talk About edited by Michele Filgate

When Michele Filgate, the editor of What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About, wrote an essay about her stepfather’s abuse, she revealed the fracture that the abuse caused between her mother and her. The essay went viral and Filgate realized that there was much to be learned about what happens in the intimate bond between mother and child when things go unsaid. Filgate gathered 15 writers to explore the topic. Some of the essays are hilarious; others heartbreaking; but there is such strength and resilience in this collection. I kept recalling Leonard Cohen’s line, “There is a crack in everything/That’s how the light gets in.” - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
What My Mother and I Don't Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence Cover Image
By Michele Filgate (Editor)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982107345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 30th, 2019

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I couldn’t put down this rip-roaring sequel of a novel. Roanhorse assumes you’re already familiar with the world she created in Trail of Lightning, which allows her to throw you headlong into a pulse-pounding adventure in the postapocalyptic hinterlands beyond the Navajo Nation’s protective wall. She continues to explore the complex, troubled characters from her first novel, introduces a couple of wonderful new heroes, and efficiently sets up the third book while still delivering a propulsive and captivating story. 

Staff Pick Badge
Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 23rd, 2019

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

On just about every best-of-the-year list in 2018, The Mars Room still never quite got the attention it deserves. Romy—a woman who is serving a life sentence for murder in an all-women’s jail in the Central Valley—tells with total honesty, surprising humor and gritty reality, the fate of women who have never gotten a fair shake in life. Incarceration, abuse, and justice are just a small sample of the important issues addressed in this novel, but it is Romy’s voice and her tenderness that leave you breathless as you witness her plight.                            —Casey

Reviewed by: 
Casey
Staff Pick Badge
The Mars Room: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476756554
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 2018

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

This is one of my favorite books of the year. Reminiscent of modern classics by Diana Wynne Jones, Robin McKinley, Patricia C. Wrede, and Garth Nix, it defies age designations. Elisabeth is an entirely lovable protagonist whose fondness for books, willingness to reexamine her biases, and penchant for getting into scrapes both warmed my heart and made me laugh. I also fell in love with wry sorcerer Nathaniel and his dry wit. Though the stakes were high and danger abounded, I was in stitches for much of the book; chances are you will be too. - Stephanie

Pre-Order Now Badge
Sorcery of Thorns Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497619
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - June 4th, 2019

Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane

Two Irish families, living side by side in suburban New York, are tied by the similarities of their path into the neighborhood and by a tragic event of a single night that reverberates across multiple generations for decades. Mary Beth Keane paints a subtle portrait of families dealing with mental health issues and long-held secrets, and the desire for connection across those divides. The result is a deeply felt and immersive novel, one that ties you not only to the characters but ultimately to their lessons for life. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett and Celeste Ng and one of my favorite reads this year. - Casey

Pre-Order Now Badge
Ask Again, Yes: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982106980
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scribner - May 28th, 2019

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Early reviews dubbed Candice Carty-Williams' fierce debut as a "black Bridget Jones Diary" which speaks to the book's unparalleled humor, raw look at relationships and sex, and the chronicling of the ups and downs of single women today. However, this book is so much more. It is one of the most honest looks at race while dating, sexual norms of men vs. women and the navigation of relationships carrying the weight of abuse and societal norms that I've ever read. This is one you'll pass to all your friends and then stay up long into the night talking about how Queenie changed your thinking about life and love.  - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Queenie Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501196010
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 19th, 2019

New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color edited by Nisi Shawl

With an incredible collection of stories ranging from the fantastic to the macabre, told by established and emerging authors alike, New Suns is a book that you’ll have a hard time putting down. From the first page of the introduction by Lavar Burton to the afterword by the collection’s editor, Nisi Shawl, the reader will find tales of intergalactic tourism, interspecies erotica, and creative retellings of fairy tales. A fun read for all fans of Sci-fi and Fantasy. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781781085783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Solaris - March 12th, 2019

Waiting for Bojangles by Olivier Bourdeant

A beautiful French novel exploring the difficult subject of mental illness. Written to the soundtrack of Nina Simone singing Mr. Bojangles, this is a magical love story. A young boy tells the story of watching his parents dance their way through life even as his mother descends into madness. This is a book that will make you laugh and cry. An international bestseller. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Waiting for Bojangles Cover Image
By Olivier Bourdeaut, Regan Kramer (Translated by)
$23.99
ISBN: 9781501145919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 19th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster