User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Simon&Schuster

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

A career boost covering the voyage of a luxury cruise ship quickly becomes a nightmare when journalist Lo Blacklock witnesses a passenger fall overboard; or does she? With everyone accounted for, Lo begins to question what she saw. Perfect for fans of Girl on the Train, Ware has crafted a clever, fast-paced thriller that makes for a great beach read. - Jade

Staff Pick Badge
The Woman in Cabin 10 Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501132957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - April 11th, 2017

Rivers by Michael Farris Smith

Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and Paolo Bacigalupi, this gripping, atmospheric, and sparsely beautiful sci-fi novel imagines a near-future Mississippi Gulf Coast ravaged by climate change. The narrative Smith constructs is a bleak one, but this novel features outstanding worldbuilding, fine details, and deeply human characters. - Stuart

Rivers: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781451699432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 9th, 2014

The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder by Sarah J. Harris

A kaleidoscope of colors permeates this creative coming of age story.  Jason, age 13, has synesthesia and face blindness. He sees colors instead of hearing sounds. He can only identify people by the color of their voice and the clothes they wear. When police discover the body of his neighbor, Jason believes he may have been witness to a murder. This is a fascinating and unique mystery. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Color of Bee Larkham's Murder: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501187902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 5th, 2019

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

This novel is, in a word, devastating. It opens as Romy Hall is on the way to prison to serve a life sentence for murder. As much the story of Hall’s life in prison, it’s the story of her past--her childhood on the streets of San Francisco, her experiences as an exotic dancer, and the circumstances surrounding her crime. I can’t recommend this one enough. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
The Mars Room: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476756585
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

Sorry I'm Late, I Didn't Want to Come by Jessica Pan

As a lifelong introvert, this book made me snort-laugh whilst giving me cause for self-reflection. It also made me feel goodwill towards my fellow humans, a miracle for someone who sees strangers primarily as potential sources of anguish and irritation. Dare I say my heart grew a size or two, in true Grinch fashion? A warm, funny read for anyone feeling disconnected. - Ilana

Staff Pick Badge
Sorry I'm Late, I Didn't Want to Come: One Introvert's Year of Saying Yes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781449499235
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - May 28th, 2019

Don't Make Me Pull Over by Richard Ratay

One of my favorite memories is driving 1276 miles by myself to Canada to meet someone I met online and hang out with them for three weeks. (It’s cool, we promised each other we weren’t serial killers.) Ratay’s book recaptured that joy I found throughout the back roads and highways, and it introduced me to a whole mess of histories associated with road travel. The facts are surrounded by stories of the author’s own road trips, back when seat belts were optional and CB radios lived next to the 8-track player. From the introduction of the radar gun to what brought about the actual building of the transcontinental highway system, this book covers all facets of the best and worst of vehicle travel. - Rachel

Staff Pick Badge
Don't Make Me Pull Over!: An Informal History of the Family Road Trip Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501188756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 14th, 2019

Rough Beauty by Karen Auvinen

This is a beautiful story of a woman trying to find her own, with powerful prose and captivating descriptions of nature. Karen Auvinen’s metaphorical writing is surprisingly accessible and paints a vivid picture of her process of self-discovery through a Thoreau-esque 4 years in the woods with just her dog. As an artist, I particularly enjoyed the collection of watercolor pieces contributed by Auvinen’s partner. - R.H.

Staff Pick Badge
Rough Beauty: Forty Seasons of Mountain Living Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501152290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - June 4th, 2019

What My Mother and I Don't Talk About edited by Michele Filgate

When Michele Filgate, the editor of What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About, wrote an essay about her stepfather’s abuse, she revealed the fracture that the abuse caused between her mother and her. The essay went viral and Filgate realized that there was much to be learned about what happens in the intimate bond between mother and child when things go unsaid. Filgate gathered 15 writers to explore the topic. Some of the essays are hilarious; others heartbreaking; but there is such strength and resilience in this collection. I kept recalling Leonard Cohen’s line, “There is a crack in everything/That’s how the light gets in.” - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
What My Mother and I Don't Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence Cover Image
By Michele Filgate (Editor)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982107345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 30th, 2019

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I couldn’t put down this rip-roaring sequel of a novel. Roanhorse assumes you’re already familiar with the world she created in Trail of Lightning, which allows her to throw you headlong into a pulse-pounding adventure in the postapocalyptic hinterlands beyond the Navajo Nation’s protective wall. She continues to explore the complex, troubled characters from her first novel, introduces a couple of wonderful new heroes, and efficiently sets up the third book while still delivering a propulsive and captivating story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 23rd, 2019

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

On just about every best-of-the-year list in 2018, The Mars Room still never quite got the attention it deserves. Romy—a woman who is serving a life sentence for murder in an all-women’s jail in the Central Valley—tells with total honesty, surprising humor and gritty reality, the fate of women who have never gotten a fair shake in life. Incarceration, abuse, and justice are just a small sample of the important issues addressed in this novel, but it is Romy’s voice and her tenderness that leave you breathless as you witness her plight.                            —Casey

Reviewed by: 
Casey
Staff Pick Badge
The Mars Room: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476756554
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster