User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

RandomHouse

Phantom by Jo Nesbø

Nesbø returns with another explosive mystery starring the tortured, aging former detective Harry Hole, who probably would have gotten along well with Sherlock Holmes. Hole thought he’d escaped his troubles when he fled to Hong Kong, but soon finds himself pulled back to Sweden after the boy he helped raise is accused of murder. This is a great installment in the series, delving into an Oslo drug ring and Harry’s own troubled past.
Reviewed by: 
Flannery
Staff Pick Badge
Phantom: A Harry Hole Novel (9) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780307960474
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Knopf - October 2nd, 2012

Talking to the Dead by Harry Bingham

This is a mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates. “Fans of Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander will cotton to the heroine of British author Bingham’s highly entertaining U.S. debut, Det. Constable Fiona Griffiths, whose social awkwardness and intensity make her unpopular among her fellow officers in Cardiff, Wales.” —Publishers Weekly

Talking to the Dead Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345533739
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Delacorte Press - September 25th, 2012

Building Stories by Chris Ware

“Ware provides one of the year’s best arguments for the survival of print. In more than 200 pages spread over 14 separate printed works that include broadsheets, booklets, and full-sized books, Ware tells the visually stunning story of a nameless woman as she lives a quiet, frustrated life in Chicago.…The spectacular, breathtaking visual splendor make this one of the year’s standout graphic novels.” —Publishers Weekly

The Hive by Charles Burns

Charles Burns (Black Hole) left us hanging at the end of his strange but fantastic graphic novel, X’ed Out, but now he’s back with the sequel—and we’re happy to say that it’s equally weird and exciting. “The second volume in Burns’s head-scratching series about a man trapped in a creepy netherworld is outstanding.” —The Guardian
The Hive (Pantheon Graphic Library) Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780307907882
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Pantheon - October 9th, 2012

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan’s latest novel centers around Serena Frome, a young secretary in 1970s-era London who loves fiction and works for the MI5. She’s sent on a mission of literary espionage, but falls for the very writer she’s meant to be secretly influencing. If this all sounds a bit odd, that’s because it is…but it works. I just adored this book. It’s thoughtful, ambitious, and compulsively readable, with a bright witty edge. I couldn’t put it down.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
Sweet Tooth: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780345803450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 2nd, 2013

Dear Life by Alice Munro

Alice Munro has the ability to smash through the genre of short story writing and claim her place as one of the best writer’s in literary craft. Rules don’t seem to apply to Munro’s stories; she can span 100 years in 15 pages. She shatters the idea of happy endings, and instead ends with a question. She takes children and makes them old, in their wizened stoic views. Dear Life is a collection to be celebrated not only because it is a deft example of literary finesse, but also because it is a mirror for the human experience.
Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
Staff Pick Badge
Dear Life: Stories Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780307596888
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Knopf - November 13th, 2012

History of a Pleasure Seeker by Richard Mason

Charming and scintillating, Mason’s novel captures a very rich slice of life in early 20th century Amsterdam and New York. Drawing on the tensions between upstairs and downstairs, and the sexual advances across those lines, History of a Pleasure Seeker provides a lush and evocative romp through posh households and a sensual and hypnotizing account of a man bent on experiencing as much pleasure as possible.
Reviewed by: 
Nici
History of a Pleasure Seeker Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307949288
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Vintage - November 13th, 2012

The News from Spain by Joan Wickersham

The News from Spain is a shockingly good read, a collection of graceful, compact stories that explore love as it honestly is: messy and shifting, overwhelming and strange. I longed to inhabit these small, deftly formed worlds far longer than their page counts allowed. Wickersham is now one of my favorite fiction writers—I am in awe of her ability to tease so much emotion from the simplest of sentences, and I’m certain we’ll be seeing more from her in the future.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Badge
The News from Spain (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307949295
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Vintage - July 2nd, 2013

Ready for Dessert by David Leibovitz

Lebovitz, who was the pastry chef at Chez Panisse for 12 years before relocating to Paris, has more experience making mind-blowing desserts than I can ever hope to have. His friendly, humorous writing makes any of his favorite recipes seem doable, and the names alone are mouthwatering: Black Currant Tea Crème Brûlée, Fresh Ginger Cake, and Anise-Orange Ice Cream Profiteroles with Chocolate Sauce. If you read his blog, you’ll know that he goes for a laid-back approach and favors taste over fussy presentation. Sounds good to me!
Reviewed by: 
Andrea
Staff Pick Badge
Ready for Dessert: My Best Recipes [A Baking Book] Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781607743651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 18th, 2012

The Epicurious Cookbook by Tanya Steele

Epicurious is one of the most popular culinary websites in the world, with over nine million visitors per month (!) and a database of over 180,000 recipes collected from sources such as Bon Appetit and Gourmet (R.I.P.) magazines, revered chefs, and home cooks. Over 250 time-tested favorites are gathered in this easy-to-love collection. The recipes, organized by season, are super appealing and I love the comments throughout the book by Epicurious readers who’ve actually made the recipes.
Reviewed by: 
S.B.
The Epicurious Cookbook: More Than 250 of Our Best-Loved Four-Fork Recipes for Weeknights, Weekends & Special Occasions Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780307984852
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Clarkson Potter - October 30th, 2012

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - RandomHouse