User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

RandomHouse

Inland by Téa Obreht

The author of The Tiger’s Wife takes on the country western in this novel about an outlaw and a homesteader whose paths cross, changing both of their lives forever. Obreht’s ear for language will knock you sideways—you’ll feel the wind whipping across your face as you stare across the wide plains. Fans of Cormac McCarthy and Larry McMurtry who are hungry for more can happily satiate themselves on this epic. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Inland: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812992861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 13th, 2019

Quichotte by Salman Rushdie

An homage to Don Quixote, the novel tells the story of a television-obsessed South Asian man who sets out on a journey to win the heart of an actress he’s never met. Along for the ride is his imaginary son, Sancho. The book is also the story of Sam DuChamp, a mediocre and mostly failed author of spy thrillers—and the creator of Quichotte. Though one of the main characters is real, and a couple of the others are fictional, they are all fully realized, deeply human and absolutely compelling. As usual, Rushdie’s writing dazzles with intelligence, humor, breakneck pacing and brilliant turns of phrase. This is easily my favorite novel of the year. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Quichotte: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593132982
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - September 3rd, 2019

A Cosmology of Monsters by Shaun Hamill

Strap in, kids, this one is a wild ride. With a slow-burn horror, Lovecraftian beginning, you won't be able to put this one down. Part family drama, part spine tingling spookiness, the Turner family and their woes will make any horror fan happy. Cosmology is perfect for anyone who has read through all of Stephen King’s back catalog and is itching for more. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

Trick Mirror by Jia Tolentino

Jia Tolentino's debut essay collection navigates our absurd modern world. Each one is fatalistic and filled with quick wit covering everything from identity, celebrity culture, feminism, and religion. Tolentino expertly binds these disparate topics with her cynical humor and intelligence. Every essay is filled with Tolentino’s refreshing voice and provides empathy and relief when redemption in this country feels impossible. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525510543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 6th, 2019

The Outlaw Ocean by Ian Urbina

New York Times investigative journalist Ian Urbina spent several years and traveled thousands of miles to research this book, and his dedication shines through. This deeply immersive account of illegal fishing, piracy, and human slavery on the high seas gripped me right away. A real eye-opener, Urbina sheds light on the true cost of the seafood industry and its devastating effect on our oceans and the people who inhabit them. - Jade

Staff Pick Badge
The Outlaw Ocean: Journeys Across the Last Untamed Frontier Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780451492944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - August 20th, 2019

Walking by Erling Kagge

Kagge speaks to the importance of walks not only in his own life but for everyone, and the ways walking in the world is good for our bodies and minds. Each section is a little gem, a seed of thoughtfulness that I admit I took with me when I set out my own front door. So come on, take a walk with this book. It’s good for you, after all. - Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Walking: One Step At a Time Cover Image
By Erling Kagge, Becky L. Crook (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781524747848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - April 23rd, 2019

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

In this faced paced novel, Contreras draws upon her life to create a novel that reads like a thriller and coming of age story set in her native Columbia. Chula is drawn to her live-in maid, Petrona who comes from a guerrilla-occupied slum. As the relationship between Petroana and Chula grows, so does the danger they find themselves in. I felt I was reading a diary of both Chula and Petrona's everyday lives. This only added to the depth of the story for me. The last half of the book I was rushing to devour every word. I was left heartbroken with the taste of reality both faced.

Staff Pick Badge
Fruit of the Drunken Tree Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525434313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - June 4th, 2019

The Learning Curve by Mandy Berman

This timely novel is framed as a college love triangle involving two friends and their new professor, but it’s much more than that. Told from multiple perspectives in Pennsylvania, Berlin and Paris, each storyline presents a nuanced look at loneliness and intimacy. The events take place in 2008, but Berman intelligently grapples with many of today’s #MeToo issues. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
The Learning Curve: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399589348
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - May 28th, 2019

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life revolves around a diverse group of talented young men in New York City set on establishing their adult lives. With some devastating descriptions of childhood trauma, it can be a difficult read at times but the main character’s suffering finds its balance in the compassion of those who love him. The book offers radiant moments of beauty, warmth and kindness. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
A Little Life Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780804172707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - January 26th, 2016

My Best Friend's Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

This can best be described as the demon lovechild of Carrie and Mean Girls. It offers mid 80's high school popularity woes alongside the timeless tale of girl meets demon. Luckily for the possess-y, she's got a best friend who knows something is up, and won't stop until someone's head spins around. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781594749766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - July 11th, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - RandomHouse