User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

RandomHouse

Normal People by Sally Rooney

Switching between the two halves of a longtime on-again, off-again romance, Rooney offers us an intimate study of her two well-drawn protagonists. Totally absorbing, this powerful book is perfect for traveling or a quiet afternoon at home. You will be fully transported into Rooney’s masterful novel, which explores the dynamics and complexities of relationships. - Emma

Staff Pick Badge
Normal People: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781984822178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - April 16th, 2019

Machines Like Me by Ian McEwan

Set in an alternative 1980s London in which extremely humanlike robots are available for purchase, this is the tale of Charlie, his love interest Miranda, and his robot-slash-friend Adam. As usual, McEwan’s writing is fantastic—smart, wry, and filled with a creeping menace that keeps you turning the pages in a rush. He tells the story with so many observant and insightful details, his “alternative” world feels like real life—and might actually be real life in the not-very-distant future. The book’s blend of the fantastical, the real, and the just plain weird is perfect for hardcore sci-fi fans as well as readers of literary fiction. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Machines Like Me: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - April 23rd, 2019

The Travelers by Regina Porter

Regina Porter’s novel moves through time and characters with such agility and craft that it’s deliciously hard to believe it’s a debut. Playful in form and inspiration, at its center is the compelling narrative of two interweaving families, from the 1950s to the first year of Obama’s presidency, whose story also tells the greater American experience with an exacting, compassionate touch. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
The Travelers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525576198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - June 18th, 2019

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo

This is a delightful, moving read for fans of Ann Patchett, Celeste Ng, or Alice McDermott. As the story weaves in and out of a narrative that covers 40 years, the reader gets an intimate view of a Chicago couple and their four daughters and of what happens when a family secret resurfaces. There is such realness in each character that it is impossible not to find yourself simultaneously exasperated and in love with each family member. The novel explores the complex ties of parenting and sisterhood, and how love can be a weight as well as salvation. This is a wonderful, amazing debut. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

Spring by Ali Smith

The third book in her Seasonal Quartet, Spring is full of all the surrealism, gender play, oddball love, and clever puns admirers of Ali Smith have come to expect from her work. Anyone who is desperate for hope in an increasingly hopeless world will find a tonic in Smith’s work; the seeds she planted in Autumn and Winter start to sprout in Spring, as sunlight slowly begins to edge out the night. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Spring: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101870778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - April 30th, 2019

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

A whirlwind inside account of the rise and fall of the 70’s legendary rock band Daisy Jones & The Six. Well written and believable as a biography of a real band, this unique and fun novel is hard to put down once started. The unusual interview style illuminates the complex dynamics propelling the band to stardom. This is an entertaining read for all fans of rock and roll. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524798628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 5th, 2019

Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg

If you loved The Historian or People of the Book this should be your next read. Dr. Voth, a modern-day historian, faces relationship troubles and "mandatory unpaid leave" while researching a unique manuscript from 18th century London. Jack Sheppard is an indentured servant who is ushered into a life of crime when he discovers the freedom of a pair of trousers. Part counter-history, part rollicking historical-thriller Rosenberg tackles transgender history and incarceration in this deeply satisfying mystery. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Confessions of the Fox: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399592287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 5th, 2019

Sabrina & Corina: Stories by Kali Fajardo-Anstine

This debut collection centers on Latina women living in Colorado, where their work is endless—from clocking in at Macy’s to kneading masa for fresh tortillas to trying to survive the men in their lives. These are stories of abandonment, addiction, and violence, but loss is the thread that connects each character to the last, as they reckon with the ghosts who have haunted their families for generations. Some of these stories will make you want to look away, but the stunning prose makes this book impossible to put down. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
Sabrina & Corina: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525511298
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - April 2nd, 2019

See You in the Piazza by Frances Mayes

In her latest book, Frances Mayes encourages her reader to travel with an open mind. The best parts of Italy, she urges, are found when you least expect them. Arranged geographically with authentic recipes sprinkled throughout, this is a book to to open at random and explore leisurely. A great way to get ready for your own Italian adventure--whether it's in a few weeks or many years away. - Emma

Staff Pick Badge
See You in the Piazza: New Places to Discover in Italy Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780451497697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - March 12th, 2019

Doing Justice by Preet Bharara

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book by the former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York, who oversaw cases involving terrorism, corruption, and organized crime (among others) and was famously fired by President Trump. Preet Bharara has written a fascinating, compelling, and surprisingly readable book. I was really taken in by the tales from his legal career (including tragic and triumphant cases) and by the insight into what prosecutors must consider when prosecuting and crime and recommending sentences. From the importance of a fair and open justice system to regrets in Bharara’s career, Doing Justice is a page-turner. - S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Doing Justice: A Prosecutor's Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525521129
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 19th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - RandomHouse