User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

RandomHouse

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara

Take a deep dive into the slums of India, where this story is told from the perspective of the children who live there. Life is hard but there is a wonder too, and an optimism in Jai, our young protagonist, that causes his friends and him to start investigating when a classmate goes missing. Anappara doesn’t skimp on the sensory details, which makes it hard to put down and impossible to escape. A truly gorgeous and challenging debut. — Jax

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593129289
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - May 11th, 2021

Katie the Catsitter, Book 1 Written by Colleen AF Venable Illustrated by Stephanie Yue

Katie can’t afford to go to summer camp, so she decides to take on odd jobs from her neighbors in order to raise the money to join her friends. She begins catsitting for her neighbor upstairs, whose cats—ALL 217 OF THEM—are absolutely hilarious... and possibly evil? This was a delightful read that had me chuckling all the way through, and it would be perfect for fans of superheroes or cats (like me!). —Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Katie the Catsitter Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

Between Two Kingdoms: A Memoir of Life Interrupted by Suleika Jaouad

Young, fun, and ambitious, Jaoud’s entire world was knocked from its axis when she was diagnosed with leukemia at just 22 years old. Thrust into a life of grueling treatment, confinement, and total dependence, her struggle didn’t end with the remission of her disease. Taking to the road, she embarked on a post-cancer road trip to visit people who wrote to her during her illness, looking for a new sense of self along the way. A gifted writer, Jaoud’s story is immersive and her descriptions of grief and loss are profoundly moving. — Jade

Staff Pick Badge
Between Two Kingdoms: A Memoir of a Life Interrupted Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399588587
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 9th, 2021

The Sea Wife by Amity Gaige

Inspired by a real-life newspaper article, Gaige tells the story of a young father who decides to give up his middle-class life, buy a sailboat and take his family on a long sailing voyage off the coast of Panama. Needless to say, things don't go as planned. Alternating between the wife’s post-voyage narration and the husband’s sailing journal, this is an extremely well-written, utterly gripping story of a family trying to hold it together in the face of crisis. Now in paperback, this was one of my favorite books of 2020. —Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Sea Wife: A novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525566922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 2nd, 2021

Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

Ishiguro has the ability to write with great lightness and empathy, as a creeping danger boils under the surface of his stories. Klara and the Sun is no different and it is really wonderful. Klara is a robot designed to be the perfect companion for a child in a crumbling world and through this relationship, she contemplates what it means to be human and what it means to love. Exploring similar themes to Never Let Me Go, Klara discovers that impermanence only makes love more beautiful. I absolutely love Klara. —Tori

Staff Pick Badge
Klara and the Sun: A novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593318171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 2nd, 2021

How Beautiful We Were by Imbolo Mbue

American oil has come to Kosawa and it’s poisoning their water and their children. But, no one will listen. That is, until the resident madman speaks up at a regular meeting with the oil representatives and there’s no turning back. This is the West African eco-thriller I didn’t know I needed. The chapters take turns from the perspectives of different villagers, young and old, but all have been touched by the destruction of their land by the powers of exploitative and extractive colonization. —Celeste

Staff Pick Badge
How Beautiful We Were: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593132425
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - March 9th, 2021

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

This book is a gift. In it, Nguyen offers readers a beautiful tale of immigration and coming out that weaves Vietnamese fairy tales into something magical and deeply moving. The art is nothing short of gorgeous. Being the daughter of immigrants myself, Tiến’s struggle to connect with his refugee parents resonated deeply with me, but this is a story that anyone can sink into and appreciate. I can’t wait to read what Nguyen does next. — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

The Last Marshmallow by Grace Lin

This cozy counting book by the great Caldecott medalist Grace Lin takes an organic approach to counting by drawing on the example of drinking hot cocoa and marshmallows with a friend. In using everyday objects to introduce mathematical concepts, Lin also gives a great lesson on sharing. It’s a perfect winter read in a new board book series by Lin on math. I just adore it! — MJ

The Last Marshmallow (Storytelling Math) Cover Image
By Grace Lin, Grace Lin (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781623541262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - October 13th, 2020

Magdalena: River of Dreams by Wade Davis

Magdalena: River of Dreams is the story of the Rio Magdalena, the great river at the center of Colombia’s history. Davis uses the river path as the basis for his narrative arc, exploring the natural, cultural, and political history of a complicated country. Amplifying the voices of the people he meets, and with great respect for Colombia and Colombians, Davis is fierce in his desire to tell the full spectrum of the country’s history, far beyond the violence that has beset it.  — Tori

Staff Pick Badge
Magdalena: River of Dreams: A Story of Colombia Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780375410994
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf - September 15th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - RandomHouse