Penguin

Tom Barren is majorly messed up. After a time-travel accident born of arrogance and grief, he finds himself in the disastrous year 2016. Tom, you see, is from the world we were supposed live in. Hilariously funny and hyper aware of itself, this is a madcap roller-coaster ride from start to finish. Man, am I mad at Tom Barren for the present we have. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
All Our Wrong Todays Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101985137
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - February 7th, 2017

This book delivered exactly what I hoped for from the main creative forces behind Broken Lizard. There are about as many “colorful” jokes as one might imagine, including hilarious misadventures with sex, drugs and the comedy high life. But those jokes are very funny, and his writing is honest, engaging and full of good advice about film, comedy, and just living. 

Check it out, right meow. - Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Mustache Shenanigans: Making Super Troopers and Other Adventures in Comedy Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781101985236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - March 28th, 2017

Anne Lamott wants us to start living like we value forgiveness and humility more than we value being right and winning. Unlikely in these divisive times, you say? Yet Hallelujah Anyway makes a reasonable case that we can, and should, start within our personal lives, weaving lofty spiritual wisdom with a dose of cynicism and silliness. In true Lamott fashion, even the God-talk isn’t dogmatic, but resonates as inspiring and relevant. - Julia

Staff Pick Logo
Hallelujah Anyway: Rediscovering Mercy Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780735213586
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 4th, 2017

Bare, intense, and incredibly beautiful reading. Arimah has a kind of raw and obvious literary talent that seems almost unfair in the world of publishing. These concise and powerful short stories cut deeply without lingering too long over one image, over one characterization... a quiet and harsh exploration of violence, each story flashed like a photograph in the mind, using powerful words touched upon only briefly to vivid effect. Hard to read; worth every word. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735211025
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - April 4th, 2017

Hamid delivers a haunting parable for our times, a prescient novel that follows the budding relationship of Nadia and Saeed, two young people who must leave an unnamed city imploding with violence and unrest. Both a modern love story and a surreal migration tale, Exit West holds up a mirror and magnifies the ways we are all affected by the loss of home in a world increasingly shifting; as Hamid writes, we are all migrants through time. It is a powerful and lovely prospect. - Melinda

Reviewed by: 
Melinda
Staff Pick Logo
Exit West Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735212176
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - March 7th, 2017

In the pursuit of truth and its exposure, photojournalist Lynsey Addario is always trying to get closer to the place where truth is happening. For a photographer documenting war-torn Libya, the lives of women under Taliban rule, or the effect of violence in Congo, that very often means putting herself in mortal danger. This memoir is blunt and intense (Addario is, at heart, an adrenaline junkie and adventure addict), raising questions of journalistic ethics and how one can truthfully, respectfully document others’ lives and deaths. —Julia

Staff Pick Logo
It's What I Do: A Photographer's Life of Love and War Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143128410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - November 8th, 2016

A debut collection and my favorite poetry release of 2016. Incredibly beautiful and artful, with affecting imagery, intelligent allusions, small pieces of language like glass shards perfectly placed to catch you in the heart. Ideal for fans of Rankine's Citizen. Bennett is an exceptional writer, almost mandatory reading. I looked up each reference as I went, and then read it straight through the second I'd finished. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
The Sobbing School (National Poetry) Cover Image
By Joshua Bennett, Eugene Gloria (Selected by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143111863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 27th, 2016

During the Second World War, the Russians torpedoed and sunk the Wilhelm Gustloff with 10,582 passengers on board. More than 9400 died in the cold Baltic Sea, including 5000 children. This little-known maritime disaster is impeccably researched and viscerally conveyed through the stories of four adults, slowly revealed in alternating chapters in Sepetys’ haunting historical fiction. Why do we read about disasters? Perhaps to illumine our character—our most base and our best tendencies. And because it is important here, as well, to not forget. Ages 14 & up.  —GA

Staff Pick Logo
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160301
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - February 2nd, 2016

“A remarkable journalistic achievement from a Pulitzer Prize and MacArthur Fellowship winner that crystalizes the last 10 years of global war and strife while candidly portraying the intimate life of a female photojournalist. Told with unflinching candor, the award-winning photographer brings an incredible sense of humanity to all the battlefields of her life. Especially affecting is the way in which Addario conveys the role of gender and how being a woman has impacted every aspect of her personal and professional lives. Whether dealing with ultrareligious zealots or overly demanding editors, being a woman with a camera has never been an easy task. A brutally real and unrelentingly raw memoir that is as inspiring as it is horrific.” —Kirkus, starred review

 

Staff Pick Logo
It's What I Do: A Photographer's Life of Love and War Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781594205378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - February 5th, 2015

The ubiquity of ghost stories, and their pervasiveness throughout human history and culture, makes it seem as if there is something... more…at work here. Dickey argues that there is indeed something more and that behind every ghost story are our history and our anxieties, past and present made manifest. Come with him as he journeys across America, hunting the ghosts that haunt our nation’s psyche, searching for the stories behind what goes bump in the night.                                                      —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Ghostland: An American History in Haunted Places Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781101980194
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Viking - October 4th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060