User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Penguin

What It’s Like to Be a Bird From Flying to Nesting, Eating to Singing—What Birds Are Doing, and Why by David Allen Sibley

In his new, large format release, revered author and illustrator David Allen Sibley explains the mysterious behaviors of the most common backyard birds. With vivid and exacting illustrations to accompany the text, What It’s Like to Be a Bird is both an accessible entry point for young birders and rewarding to the more experienced individual. 

Enemy of All Mankind A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History’s First Global Manhunt by Steven Johnson

Prepare to be transported from your favorite armchair to the high seas; reading this book is like bingeing a great history documentary. Enemy of All Mankind uses the story of a mysterious and infamous pirate named Henry Every to take the reader on a journey through the origins of piracy, the history of India’s economic system, the emergence of global trading corporations, the spread of Islam, the frustrating beginnings of celebrity journalism, and more. Steven Johnson knows how to write captivating history.

Staff Pick Badge
Enemy of All Mankind: A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History's First Global Manhunt Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735211605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 12th, 2020

Real Queer America LGBT Stories from Red States by Samantha Allen

Real Queer America is a cross-country road-trip stretching all the way from Provo, Utah, to the Deep South. It pairs a narrative tour through the sometimes surprising yet always vibrant queer communities in America’s red states with Samantha Allen’s own transition journey. This is a window into the profound cultural shifts underway in our country today, revealing an amazing national network of chosen family fighting for a better world. Real Queer America is a treasure trove of uplifting stories of incredible LGBTQ people working for change. Fans of Love and Estrogen and Susan Kuklin’s Beyond Magenta are sure to enjoy.

Staff Pick Badge
Real Queer America: LGBT Stories from Red States Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316516020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - June 16th, 2020

Surviving Autocracy A Status Report by Masha Gessen

Having grown up queer in the Soviet Union and going on to cover the resurgence of totalitarianism in Russia, National Book Award winner Masha Gessen (The Future Is History) sounded the alarm about the trajectory America was on within the first 48 hours of Trump’s election. Her urgent book lays out the ways in which autocracy works and is also a guide to enduring and resisting the ongoing assault. Absolutely essential reading.

Staff Pick Badge
Surviving Autocracy Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593188934
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

Brown Album Essays on Exile and Identity by Porochista Khakpour

Porochista Khakpour is a novelist but believes she is better known as an essayist. Specifically, as an Iranian American essayist. One who now is debuting her first published essay collection on being Iranian American. And these are powerful essays on the subjects of, as the title says, exile and identity, along with culture and politics, of being American, and being Iranian, and being American Iranian. But even more, these essays—independently written though they were—create a writer’s memoir, of becoming an artist and finding one’s voice, of becoming a New Yorker, and of being a human who is a person of color in our modern-day world. Pick up this book to read Khakpour’s insight into being an immigrant, being Iranian, and Iranian American culture, to be sure. But also pick it up for the voice and artistic story of the brilliant and powerful woman behind this book.

Staff Pick Badge
Brown Album: Essays on Exile and Identity Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525564713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 19th, 2020

The End of October by Lawrence Wright

Wright cowrote a 1998 movie about extremists attacking New York City. With his new novel about a viral pandemic, you might think he’s prophetic. But the real trick is that he writes about what’s most likely to actually happen, researches how it might play out, then writes a book. I’m afraid he isn’t a master of character in fiction, but he does have a heroic scientist trying to save the world and a president who is going to let it go down the drain. That’s pretty realistic. And I still think we should airdrop this to every home in Santa Cruz County.

Staff Pick Badge
The End of October: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525658658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - April 28th, 2020

Seven Years of Darkness by You-Jeong Jeong

The revenge narrative has gotten a bold new update with You-Jeong Jeong’s Seven Years of Darkness. This is a book driven by atmospheric setting and character development, and these features certainly deliver. The characters are endearingly flawed, and you feel for them as they attempt to right the wrongs that they have committed, and in some cases, inherited. As a reader, I was especially intrigued by Sowon, the son of a convicted mass murderer who grapples with the disparity between the loving memories he has of his father and the reality of his father’s crimes. The uncompromising yet sympathetic depiction of the characters’ moral ambiguities makes this book a one-of-a-kind read.

Staff Pick Badge
Seven Years of Darkness: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143134244
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 2nd, 2020

Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis

Make no mistake: Carolina de Robertis has written an epic to stand in the annals of the Western canon. Set in Uruguay, with five protagonists. Women protagonists. Queer women protagonists. Building love, family, and future amidst a violent dictatorship and cultural oppression that would deny them themselves. This novel sings through decades and heartbreak to be vibrantly, fiercely alive and free, as the stories of these five cantoras unfold with vivid, sometimes aching, truth of nation and humanity. 

Staff Pick Badge
Cantoras Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525563433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2020

A Burning by Megha Majumdar

Megha Majumdar has written an astounding debut novel, and my favorite book of the year thus far. Following a terrorist attack in modern-day India, A Burning explores three very different lives. It lays bare the consequences and complexities of class, gender, politics, religion, and race—the social constructs that both empower and imprison the book’s richly drawn characters. It is propulsive, it is important, it is beautifully rendered. A Burning is exactly the book it needs to be, even as it lifts you, even as it breaks your heart. I am filled to the brim with all of it.

Staff Pick Badge
A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

The Vanishing Half is the multigenerational story of a Black family spanning from the Civil Rights Era to the end of the twentieth century, centering itself around Stella and Desiree, twin sisters who are separated when one of them leaves to live a life passing as White. What follows is an exploration of family and identity, the complexity of race constructs and their very real effects, what is lost, what can be found. Bennett offers no clear answers, only much to think about, and deliciously so, as you race through to discover how these crucial life choices will affect each character, all of whom you have come to understand and care for immensely.

Staff Pick Badge
The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Penguin