Penguin

Winner of the Man Booker International Prize, Olga Tokarczuk’s latest work, Flights, is a novel for those who’ve traveled to an unknown world, unsure of what they might find there. Told through more than a hundred short pieces, Flights takes the readers into the minds of some interesting characters from the 17th century to the present. Full of ethereal asides and prose poetry, Flights is great for any reader looking for an escape. - Aric

Staff Pick Logo
Flights Cover Image
By Olga Tokarczuk, Jennifer Croft (Translated by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525534198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 14th, 2018

A good Western is all in the telling, and Jessilyn Harney, the young woman at the heart of Larison’s new novel has a voice made for stories. Newly orphaned, she disguises herself as a boy and sets off to find her outlaw brother, to bring him home, reclaim their father’s land and reclaim her sense of family. There are delightfully new threads in this riveting Western yarn, but the adventuring and seeking remain the same, song-like and enjoyable to the end. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Whiskey When We're Dry Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735220447
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - August 21st, 2018

This isn't an easy or quick read. It takes stiffening your spine and grinding your teeth. Not because the writing is bad, quite the opposite; Dalcher is a fantastic writer. The premise of the story centers on limiting the speech of women in a very real way by electrocuting them through a bracelet every time they go over their 100-word daily quota. Given today’s political climate, it was a scary and very unsettling read. I highly recommend it (with a very stiff drink). - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Vox Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780440000785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 21st, 2018

The feelings evoked by the life story of Kya, the Marsh Girl, lingered with me long after I finished reading this beautifully crafted novel. Abandoned first by her mother, and then by the rest of her family, by age ten Kya was living on her own in the marsh of coastal North Carolina. This is a coming of age story, a romance, a murder mystery, and a remarkable love story about the living breathing marsh itself. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

Karen Piper’s fascinating memoir is a surreal and starkly honest look at growing up on the secretive China Lake military base in the Mojave Desert, where Piper’s parents designed missiles for the U.S. Navy. With wit and humor, she explores the dichotomies of being raised in a strict but loving Baptist household by parents whose day jobs were to create some of America's most fearsome weapons of war. This memoir is perfect for fans of Tara Westover’s Educated. - Stuart

Staff Pick Logo
A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399564543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - August 14th, 2018

Although we may be but grains in an ever-running hourglass, our current livelihood was built up across the millennia by all the grains of those that came before us. Beiser ultimately positing from his learnings on roads to glass to sand itself as a finite and diminishing resource, if our civilization is one that will be put to the test of time, will it sand. Simply fascinating. - Ian

Staff Pick Logo
The World in a Grain: The Story of Sand and How It Transformed Civilization Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399576423
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 7th, 2018

A sense of levity is needed when you live in an inhospitable environment and Michael P. Branch’s humor is as dry as the desert he lives in. Alternating between pensive and comedic, he paints a picture of the terse, but generous community he’s chosen to raise his family. As an introvert, I was compelled to tread in his footsteps despite my hatred of heat. A must read for those who love nature and to laugh with your whole self. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
How to Cuss in Western: And Other Missives from the High Desert Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781611804614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roost Books - August 28th, 2018

Steven Johnson remains one of my favorite nonfiction writers and his new book is a perfect example of why: he asks smart questions in ways somehow different and then searches for answers through wide-ranging disciplines. Here, he explores the big long-lasting decisions we make, those that change whole lives and histories, but it is his curiosity and narrative ease that makes reading it an easy choice for me. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Farsighted: How We Make the Decisions That Matter the Most Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594488214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 4th, 2018

This book is pure, joyous fun. England’s new Sorcerer Royal is cursed and the fate of English magic is held in the hands of the capricious fairy court. Add in the strong-willed sorceress Prunella Gentleman, a coup afoot in the Thaumaturgical society, and some powerful Malaysian witches and you get this charming, romantic fantasy. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
Sorcerer to the Crown (A Sorcerer to the Crown Novel #1) Cover Image
By Zen Cho
$15.00
ISBN: 9780425283400
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - July 12th, 2016

Sweet, sexy Katie is a small-town girl who was a champion rider in Kentucky and writes letters to her mama every week. Bold, handsome Cassidy has built her life around playing as hard as she works. Both are ambitious lawyers whose tension sizzles across the boardroom table and in the dark corners of a divey, neighborhood lesbian bar. This book is the perfect rom-com! - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
When Katie Met Cassidy Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780735212817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 19th, 2018

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060