User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Penguin

Cool Beans by Joe Yonan

Many of us have become much more familiar with pantry staples like beans during Covid-19 times. But just when you think you’ve maxed out on them, along comes this terrific book to reignite your love for legumes. Yonan showcases his passion for the humble bean in 125 delicious, modern, vegetarian recipes including Yellow Bean & Spinach Dosas and Harissa-Roasted Carrot & White Bean Dip. 

Cool Beans: The Ultimate Guide to Cooking with the World's Most Versatile Plant-Based Protein, with 125 Recipes [A Cookbook] Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399581489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - February 4th, 2020

Flavors of the Southeast Asian Grill by Leela Punyaratabandhu

Punyaratabandhu’s grilling recipes for seafood, meat and vegetables cooked over charcoal is fantastic. With Filipino Roasted Pork Belly Rolls to Malaysian-Style Grilled Soy Sauce Chicken Wings to Chicken Satay with Coriander and Cinnamon and beyond, these recipes showcase the vibrant flavors of Asian-style barbecue that will definitely tempt you to move beyond burgers. 

Flavors of the Southeast Asian Grill: Classic Recipes for Seafood and Meats Cooked over Charcoal [A Cookbook] Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781984857248
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - March 31st, 2020

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award–Winning Stamped from the Beginning by Jason Reynolds & Ibram X. Kendi

A comprehensive book that brings to light what some have tried to erase from our history. This is a must-read for all ages, powerfully honest and compelling from start to finish.—Shannon

This book should be required reading for everyone. Jason Reynolds is a genius: He takes a complex issue (the history and modern-day manifestations of anti-Black racism in the US) and makes it accessible for any reader. I love the emphasis on how to be actively antiracist. Also a great choice for adults daunted by the 608-page original! —Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316453691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Rebel Chef In Search of What Matters by Dominque Crenn

I tore through this absolutely engaging memoir by Dominique Crenn, whose highly acclaimed San Francisco restaurant, Atelier Crenn, is the recipient of three Michelin stars. Charming, personable, and determined, Crenn found her way in the food world despite the lack of female chefs in chauvinistic France where she grew up. She yearned for America, where she believed anything was possible (except for a decent sandwich). When I started this book, I thought that I might not connect with the world of fine cuisine, but I ended up being mesmerized by Crenn’s descriptions of creating, plating, and serving her food, which engage all of the senses. Not only that, but a great deal of Rebel Chef deals with her family, identity, sexuality, and search for home. This memoir is as tender, bold, sweet, and gracious as the chef herself.

Staff Pick Badge
Rebel Chef: In Search of What Matters Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735224742
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 9th, 2020

Always Home A Daughter’s Recipes & Stories by Fanny Singer, foreword by Alice Waters

Beyond its title’s unexpected relevance, Always Home is the perfect book to curl up with in these times. Fanny Singer has written a warm, lovely memoir about growing up as the daughter of culinary icon Alice Waters, who raised her to appreciate beauty in the world and to be grateful for good food, family, and friends. Singer writes with humor and grace and an awareness of the privilege she enjoyed growing up at Chez Panisse and traveling the world on culinary adventures. Although she clearly adores her mother, she thankfully does not shy away from including her foibles—such as her insistence on highly curated spaces (leading to hiding clothing and items deemed too garish) and her complete lack of baking talent. This book is a total delight (the description of Fanny’s school lunches had me in stitches) and even includes recipes.

Staff Pick Badge
Always Home: A Daughter's Recipes & Stories: Foreword by Alice Waters Cover Image
By Fanny Singer, Alice Waters (Foreword by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781524732516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 31st, 2020

The Bird Way A New Look at How Birds Talk, Work, Play, Parent, and Think by Jennifer Ackerman

In her new book The Bird Way, Jennifer Ackerman, author of The Genius of Birds, expands on fresh discoveries in the science of birds. Ackerman once again uses her engaging prose to shine a light on the startling ways in which birds are very much like us. Her lyrical and informative depiction of “the bird way” is the most delightful, inspiring, and exciting book I’ve read in ages.
Don’t miss our virtual event with Jennifer Ackerman on June 30th.
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Bird Way: A New Look at How Birds Talk, Work, Play, Parent, and Think Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735223011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - May 5th, 2020

What It’s Like to Be a Bird From Flying to Nesting, Eating to Singing—What Birds Are Doing, and Why by David Allen Sibley

In his new, large format release, revered author and illustrator David Allen Sibley explains the mysterious behaviors of the most common backyard birds. With vivid and exacting illustrations to accompany the text, What It’s Like to Be a Bird is both an accessible entry point for young birders and rewarding to the more experienced individual. 

Enemy of All Mankind A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History’s First Global Manhunt by Steven Johnson

Prepare to be transported from your favorite armchair to the high seas; reading this book is like bingeing a great history documentary. Enemy of All Mankind uses the story of a mysterious and infamous pirate named Henry Every to take the reader on a journey through the origins of piracy, the history of India’s economic system, the emergence of global trading corporations, the spread of Islam, the frustrating beginnings of celebrity journalism, and more. Steven Johnson knows how to write captivating history.

Staff Pick Badge
Enemy of All Mankind: A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History's First Global Manhunt Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735211605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 12th, 2020

Real Queer America LGBT Stories from Red States by Samantha Allen

Real Queer America is a cross-country road-trip stretching all the way from Provo, Utah, to the Deep South. It pairs a narrative tour through the sometimes surprising yet always vibrant queer communities in America’s red states with Samantha Allen’s own transition journey. This is a window into the profound cultural shifts underway in our country today, revealing an amazing national network of chosen family fighting for a better world. Real Queer America is a treasure trove of uplifting stories of incredible LGBTQ people working for change. Fans of Love and Estrogen and Susan Kuklin’s Beyond Magenta are sure to enjoy.

Staff Pick Badge
Real Queer America: LGBT Stories from Red States Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316516020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - June 16th, 2020

Surviving Autocracy A Status Report by Masha Gessen

Having grown up queer in the Soviet Union and going on to cover the resurgence of totalitarianism in Russia, National Book Award winner Masha Gessen (The Future Is History) sounded the alarm about the trajectory America was on within the first 48 hours of Trump’s election. Her urgent book lays out the ways in which autocracy works and is also a guide to enduring and resisting the ongoing assault. Absolutely essential reading.

Staff Pick Badge
Surviving Autocracy Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593188934
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Penguin