MacMillan

A child, coming home from school in her red-hooded parka, leans into a white prairie blizzard. On her way, she finds a wolf pup lost and frightened and carries it over hills and streams, through fields and woods, delivering it to its family. Exhausted, she starts home but loses her way. The wolves return, surrounding her, and howl and howl until her parents arrive. A last scene is a firelit interior, the child and her family, steaming mugs in hand, sitting by the hearth. Hearty heartfelt applause from me. Grades K–2. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Wolf in the Snow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250076366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 3rd, 2017

A father and daughter break down their creekside campsite, stow gear, and climb out of the Inner Gorge and up through layer after layer of ancient rock formations and ecosystems to the top of the Grand Canyon. Jason Chin’s clear, scenic watercolors and detailed text give us a sense of geological time, which (though illustrated with scientific specificity) seems in fact magical. Grades 1–4. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Grand Canyon Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781596439504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 21st, 2017

Everything I’ve tried from this new Moosewood cookbook has been excellent, from So Simple Banana Pancakes to Mushroom and Barley Salad. I love the diversity of recipes throughout (Nori Kale Rolls on one page, Russian Blinis on the next) and that the ingredients are inexpensive. I highly recommend this new book from the always excellent Moosewood Collective. - Ashley

Staff Pick Logo
The Moosewood Restaurant Table: 250 Brand-New Recipes from the Natural Foods Restaurant That Revolutionized Eating in America Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250074331
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 26th, 2017

In Autentico’s foreword, Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa), writes about Rolando Beramendi’s incredible enthusiasm for Italian food and for life. That joy and vibrancy certainly come through on every page of this beautiful book, which is equally a pleasure to read and cook from. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself, as I did, becoming more enamored with anchovies and olive oil than you ever thought possible. - S.B.

Staff Pick Logo
Autentico: Cooking Italian, the Authentic Way Cover Image
By Rolando Beramendi, Rebekah Peppler (Contribution by), Laurie Frankel (Photographer)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250124975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 24th, 2017

While longtime admirers of Stevie Nicks won’t find any new revelations within these pages, the book is still a lovingly crafted biography about the goddess of rock. Respected music biographer Stephen Davis (who cowrote Fleetwood with Mick Fleetwood) follows all the heartbreaks, drama, drugs, and magic that fueled Nicks and her songwriting. Gold Dust Woman documents how Nicks used her talent to create the life of fame and success in which she continues to reign. - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
Gold Dust Woman: The Biography of Stevie Nicks Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250032898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 21st, 2017

Joni Mitchell has played with some of the greatest musicians in the world and her music has inspired even more. She’s best known for her incredible lyrics and beautiful, lilting voice (seriously, where is her Nobel Prize?), but she has lived an incredibly full life beyond her music, which David Yaffe chronicles in his new book. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374248130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - October 17th, 2017

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Dharma of the Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us about Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

In these times, we could all use a little light, beauty and inspiration—and Oprah’s gorgeous new offering is just the tonic. Open to any page and find a stunning photo, an essay by Oprah, or a short piece of conversational insight from Elizabeth Gilbert, Thich Nhat Hanh, Shonda Rhimes, and more. It’s the loveliest bit of breakfast table reading, so breathe deep and enjoy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Wisdom of Sundays: Life-Changing Insights from Super Soul Conversations Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250138064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 17th, 2017

In a northeast Asian–influenced fantasy world, two young women are tethered by destiny. The Tiger’s Daughter is the kind of book you find yourself tumbling into: falling into the immersive world and lore; caring for the fierce, headstrong heroines; losing yourself in the story. The writing sweeps you along with a lilting cadence—my copy is thick with tags marking passages I loved. I was swept away by this creation and can’t wait for the sequel. - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
The Tiger's Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765392534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 3rd, 2017

Hidden deep in the Canadian wilderness, the town of Rockton is cut off from all society, inhabited by those in need of a total reset in life, fleeing all varieties of danger in their past. As Detective Casey Duncan knows, some of those inhabitants never let go of their dark side—and that darkness is what she’s there to root out. I’m hopelessly in love with this smart, chilly series and can’t wait for more. - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
A Darkness Absolute: A Rockton Novel (Casey Duncan Novels #2) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250092182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - November 14th, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060