User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

MacMillan

Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood by Gary Paulsen

Gary Paulsen, the author of Hatchet, recounts his childhood memories in this powerful and moving memoir. Paulsen traverses his troubled childhood, from finding joy and safety living in the Wisconsin woods with his aunt and uncle, to navigating a bombed-out Manila with his drunken parents, to meeting a kind librarian who shows him the magic of books and encourages him to write. This book deserves a place on the shelves of those who fondly remember Paulsen’s novels, as well anyone who loves great storytelling. —Kathy

Staff Pick Badge
Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374314156
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 12th, 2021

Outside, Inside by LeUyen Pham

Caldecott Honoree LeUyen Pham shows us all the ways people continued to love, learn, and grow while social distancing during the pandemic. Through emotive illustrations and approachable text, Pham explores both the hope and the hardship of sheltering in place, and shows the important work done by essential workers like doctors and grocers. Gentle yet honest, this is the perfect book for families and classrooms looking for a story to discuss the pandemic with children of all ages. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Badge
Outside, Inside Cover Image
By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250798350
Availability: Backordered
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 5th, 2021

Last Call: A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York By Elon Green

Piano music and dark corners, the looming spectre of AIDS and the anti-queer violence it flamed high, the struggle for safety and recognition, and simple human connection. Elon Green charts an incredible, underreported decades-long true crime story that lasted into the 21st century, bringing to life not just the hunt for a serial killer, but the lives of his four known victims and the world of piano bars and hustlers amongst queer male New York that he prowled. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Last Call: A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781250224354
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - March 9th, 2021

Remote Control by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor, award-winning author of The Binti Trilogy, offers us a new coming-of-age story. Remote Control chronicles the travels of Sankofa, a young Ghanian girl who is endowed with the touch of Death by a mysterious celestial object. Through Okorafor’s skillful storytelling, Sankofa quickly becomes a living legend in this slim Afrofuturistic novella. A wonderful read for lovers of fast-paced sci-fi and female protagonists. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Remote Control Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250772800
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - January 19th, 2021

The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

Why do we ignore the realities that upset our ideas of ourselves? What if we were forced to face them? What if you were a brilliant scientist who made a clone of yourself and then your husband started having an affair with that clone? The Echo Wife takes these questions and runs with them, merging Black Mirror’s eerie, science fiction energy with the page-turning thrill of a murder mystery (and don’t forget the strong feminist voice!). A must read for the modern sci-fi enthusiast! —Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Echo Wife Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250174666
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 16th, 2021

The Rain Heron: A Novel by Robbie Arnott

Beautiful, descriptive writing brings this remarkable story to life. Evocative images of a landscape experiencing a climate crisis. A broken country in the aftermath of a coup. Ren, an old woman living wild on a mountain. Lieutenant Zoë Harkness, a battle-hardened soldier on a mission. Daniel, the impressionable young medic. Their three stories intertwine with the shimmering magic of the mythical rain heron. This is a subtle and yet stunning fable. The poetic prose echoes long after finishing the final page. —Trey

This book is part of our Spring Reading Challenge. Read more here.

Staff Pick Badge
The Rain Heron: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374539306
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: FSG Originals - February 9th, 2021

Oona out of Order: A Novel by Margarita Montimore

Every year on her birthday (January 1st) Oona wakes up a different age. Each new chapter reveals her circumstances (she is married to a man she doesn’t know, she is a little girl on holiday, she is an old woman on her deathbed). Beautiful written, enjoyable, and innovative, fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Groundhog Day will love this unique take on time loops. I read it in less than a week, and then gave it immediately to a coworker. —Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Oona Out of Order: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250236616
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 9th, 2021

We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker

A murder mystery set in a California coastal city, We Begin at the End carries equal parts suspense, tenderness, and social commentary about the communities that we call home. We meet Duchess Day Radley, a 13-year-old "outlaw" who tries valiantly to hold her family together while everything works to tear them apart. Radley and her community seer deep into the readers mind, making the outcome not only surprising, but filled with heart. —Casey

Staff Pick Badge
We Begin at the End Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250759665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - March 2nd, 2021

Jack by Marilynne Robinson

Barack Obama’s favorite novelist graces us all once again, this time with Jack, which delves back into the inner lives of the characters Robinson introduced many years ago with Gilead. Jack tells the story of the relationship between ne’er-do-well preacher’s son Jack, and Della, the Black woman he loves, and the complications they face in midcentury America’s racist society. Prepare yourself for the tender, stolid prose that characterizes Robinson’s best work—like a perfectly crafted Arts and Crafts–era table, it’s impossibly elegant in its simplicity. — Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Jack (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374279301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 29th, 2020

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Henry Khoo, who is NOT a baby, is on a mission to prove his independence. His proof? He’s going on a long-distance trip by himself without telling his family. What follows is a series of mishaps worthy of a farce. This graphic novel/prose hybrid is hilarious, fun, and inspiring. I related so much to Henry and was charmed by his successes and mistakes. Great for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Shannon Hale’s work. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MacMillan