User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

MacMillan

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This remarkable debut novel is a richly imagined tale that immerses the reader in a unique culture. Interstellar politics set the stage for a murder mystery, a struggle of assimilation and questions of identity. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a background of stars make this a brilliant space opera. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Issac Asimov. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

Empress of Forever by Max Gladstone

I want to be Vivian Liao when I grow up. Tech genius, revolutionary subversive and chosen by a god, she is at the center of a whirlwind adventure across the galaxy to save space, time and autonomy. I loved the unique, brash characters running around in Gladstone's magic and computer-science-based world. So fun! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Empress of Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765395818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 18th, 2019

Amberlough by Lara Elena Donnelly

Amberlough delighted me and broke me and did it all over again. A Jazz-age alternate world of queer spy-vs-spy shenanigans and cat-and-mouse politics, featuring the rise of a conservative facist government in a diverse and throbbingly alive world. Possibly a little too real in our current real-world, but author Lara Elena Donnelly kept me hoping against reason for the characters, even as she broke me down. Fair warning: you will immediately need to pick up the sequel. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Amberlough: Book 1 in the Amberlough Dossier Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765383822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 13th, 2018

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Elaborate heist? Elaborate magical heist? Elaborate, brilliantly realized world inspired by historical Amsterdam, but filled with living, breathing people with complex histories and personalities, that will come together for the pay-off of their lives – and maybe save the world? I devoured this novel that will satisfy fantasy fans of any age, of six young criminals and misfits who refuse to accept a (brilliantly-built) world that won’t accept them. Trust me – you’ll be glad there’s more.

Staff Pick Badge
Six of Crows Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Regarding the Pain of Others by Susan Sontag

Published just three years after 9/11, this is a powerful meditation on the intention behind and consumption of war photography. Sontag explores the necessary act of acknowledging violence while challenging ourselves to respond to it with empathy, not apathy. Today, when acts of mass violence are as common as the hashtags that represent them, this book feels particularly urgent. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
Regarding the Pain of Others Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780312422196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - February 2004

America Before by Graham Hancock

While many scientists cling to the idea that humans didn’t inhabit the American continents until fairly recently, evidence proving the contrary continues to build. In his latest, unorthodox analysis of human history, Hancock parses this evidence to prove that technologically and socially advanced humans inhabited the Americas for 10,000s of years before European conquest. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
America Before: The Key to Earth's Lost Civilization Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250153739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - April 23rd, 2019

3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook by Drew Maresco

I’m usually too busy to make a meal every night, so my slow cooker has become a godsend. Drew Maresco has made my life even easier with this cookbook, with recipes that are both delicious and extremely easy to prepare. This fantastic cookbook is packed with gorgeous, full-page pictures and covers a wide variety of culinary traditions, and includes vegetarian options. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook: Delicious, Hassle-Free Homemade Meals Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781624147234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Publishing - January 29th, 2019

Native Country of the Heart by Cherrie Moraga

Moraga is one of the most powerful voices of Xicana feminism. In this biography of her mother Elvira, she grapples with the struggles and erasure of women (especially of indigenous women) in the Mexican diaspora. Elvira is the strong, difficult backbone in Moraga’s life journey from the mixed-race Los Angeles household of her childhood to the hard-won “queer familia” of her present. A beautiful reclamation of language, memory, and culture. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Native Country of the Heart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374219666
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 2nd, 2019

Naturally Tan by Tan France

I am such a fan of Queer Eye that I jumped on the chance to read France’s biography. It is such a fun book. This was like sitting down with a friend and sharing your life’s highs and lows while getting the best fashion advice. I love how France relates certain articles of clothing to a moment in his life. He made me laugh and contemplate (and consider whether my jewelry collection could use just one more piece). - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
Naturally Tan: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250208668
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 4th, 2019

Wolfpack by Abby Wambach

Long known as a force to be reckoned with on the soccer field, Abby Wambach expands her play to the rest of the world with Wolfpack, an inspiring rally cry for a new way forward, based on her 2018 commencement speech at Barnard College. Her presence on the page is powerful, joyful, and inclusive; her rules are ones we should all adopt. Abby has found a new pack to lead, and we are so lucky to run with her. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
WOLFPACK: How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250217707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - April 9th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MacMillan