User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Hachette

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

This book is a wicked good time. As someone who grew up on 70s/80s rock, the idea of reimagining monster fighting mercenaries as touring rock bands makes my heart pitter patter. Saga being the retired “we’ve seen it all, smoked it all, fought it all” on a comeback tour/rescue mission is ingenious and hilarious. Read this if you love adventure, laughs, and amazing band names. - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Kings of the Wyld (The Band) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316362474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 21st, 2017

Isa Does It by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Easy, cheap, and always delicious. Isa is a food genius. I find myself daydreaming about her recipe for Seitan and Wild Mushroom stew more often than I’d like to admit. I’ve loved everything I’ve made in this book so far. Whether you’re a vegan or not this book hits all the marks - accessible, delectable, alluring photography, and witty. - R.H.

Staff Pick Logo
Isa Does It: Amazingly Easy, Wildly Delicious Vegan Recipes for Every Day of the Week Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316221900
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 22nd, 2013

Ninth Street Women by Mary Gabriel

Reading this book feels like a vindication; long overlooked, the women of abstract expressionism are revealed not just as muses and supporting players, but the founders of a movement. Don't let the size intimidate you; Gabriel's use of interviews and firsthand accounts takes what could be a dense tome down to a personal scale that feels intimate to read despite its scope. - Katherine

Staff Pick Logo
Ninth Street Women: Lee Krasner, Elaine de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, Joan Mitchell, and Helen Frankenthaler: Five Painters and the Movement That Changed Modern Art Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780316226189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 25th, 2018

American Overdose by Chris McGreal

The opioid crisis has recently received considerable coverage in the media nation-wide. However, it is not in any way, a new phenomenon, and for years, a great effort was expended to obscure its severity. McGreal’s investigative journalism reads like true crime and the story he tells is tragic, common, and ongoing. - Jade

American Overdose: The Opioid Tragedy in Three Acts Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781610398619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: PublicAffairs - November 13th, 2018

Maid by Stephanie Land

The way this country reviles people in need of government assistance has always appalled me. As a child of parents who have, at one time or another been those people, Maid resonated. Land thoughtfully recounts her experiences being a working mom with no support and abusive partners, proving yet again how this country is built on the backs of the invisible and ignored. - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316505116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 22nd, 2019

The Ornament of the World by Maria Rosa Menocal

Countering the assumption of the Middle Ages as stagnant and prejudiced, Menocal explores the diverse, flourishing world of Muslim Spain. I was fascinated by the cultural exchange between Muslims, Christians, and Jews that nourished such unique art, poetry, philosophy, and architecture. Beautiful history writing with a hopeful message. - Clara

Staff Pick Logo
The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316168717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2003

Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall

The masterful art and writing of Caldecott Medal winner Sophie Blackall makes Hello Lighthouse a delight all the way through. Imagining the life of a keeper of a lighthouse, we tend the light, trim the wick, and write letters to a distant wife—who arrives then by ship! Brimming with seaside joy, foggy warnings, and even a shipwreck, this picture book is one I would have loved dearly as a child and do as an adult. One of my favorite books of the year. Ages 3–7. - Tera

Staff Pick Logo
Hello Lighthouse Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316362382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

Otis and Will Discover the Deep written by Barb Rosenstock illustrated by Katherine Roy

Two inquisitive and determined scientist-adventurers carve a path to the depths of the ocean in this true story of the invention of the bathysphere. The water pressure at 7 miles deep makes observation all but impossible, but in 1930 Otis and Will conducted a series of precarious dives and unlikely engineering that resulted in the first vision of hidden depths. Gorgeous panoramic illustrations and edge-of-your-seat storytelling make this a truly fun ride for young adventurers. Ages 5–8. - Tera

Staff Pick Logo
Otis and Will Discover the Deep: The Record-Setting Dive of the Bathysphere Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Katherine Roy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316393829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

Winnie's Great War written by Lindsay Mattick & Josh Greenhut; illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Winnie-the-Pooh was based on a real bear (as many of us know), but this version of her story is unspeakably charming and deftly retold. Winnie is rescued after her mother dies, and is brought up by a thoughtful boy, then by a veterinarian who takes care of the horses being transported to wartime Europe. Sensitive Winnie wants nothing but to make everyone around her laugh at her antics. We can’t help but feel and hope for her safe return to the woods of Canada. Like Charlotte’s Web or Bambi, this read-aloud book will enchant and transport every listener. Grades 3–6. - Tera

Staff Pick Logo
Winnie's Great War Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316447126
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 18th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Hachette