User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Hachette

Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

Attica Locke’s award-winning Highway 59 series is a favorite of contemporary mystery fans, and this sequel to 2017’s Bluebird, Bluebird is another fantastic novel. It again follows black Texas Ranger Darren Mathews deep into East Texas, this time to the swampy bayous of Caddo Lake in search of a missing child who also happens to be the son of a local member of the Aryan Brotherhood of Texas. Locke’s characters are complex and her writing is evocatively detailed, suspenseful, and intensely atmospheric. I loved it! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Heaven, My Home (A Highway 59 Mystery #2) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316363402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mulholland Books - September 17th, 2019

Fortuna by Kristyn Merbeth

I’m so excited for this book! Perfect for fans of Firefly, Becky Chambers, and Catherynne M. Valente, this novel about a family of smugglers caught in an interstellar war—who have to decide whether to take responsibility for their family’s involvement in a devastating massacre or lay low and hope it blows over—is the first of an exciting, suspenseful, and propulsive new space opera trilogy. I can’t wait to read it! - Stuart

Pre-Order Now Badge
Fortuna (The Nova Vita Protocol #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316453998
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Orbit - November 5th, 2019

Make It Scream, Make It Burn by Leslie Jamison

I have been ready for this book since devouring The Empathy Exams, Jamison’s first collection of essays that blazed new vistas in the landscape of narrative nonfiction. Here Jamison explores what it means to be wanting, whether as a blue whale, in Second Life, or in our own everyday lives—how do we live with want, how does it haunt, how can it enrich? Make It Scream, Make It Burn does not disappoint; rather it does exactly as the title directs, each of its essays bridging disciplines in astute, thoughtful, urgent ways. A beautiful, mind-reeling pleasure to read. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Make It Scream, Make It Burn: Essays Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316259637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 24th, 2019

The Witches Are Coming by Lindy West

I’m so here for books written by women and queer folks that reveal the over-50, white, cis-het men behind the pop culture and politics curtain. We’ve existed in a world created by and for these men for too long, and West’s essays are a rallying cry to take up a sledgehammer and knock down those institutions. Don’t settle. Give this to your favorite feminist who needs a good laugh at everything awful that’s going on. - J Gallo

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Witches Are Coming Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316449885
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Hachette Books - November 5th, 2019

Talking to Strangers by Malcolm Gladwell

The more we seek to understand strangers, the more elusive they become. Brilliantly pertinent, eloquent, and captivating, Gladwell’s Talking to Strangers explores our interactions with strangers through narratives of CIA interrogations, college sexual assaults, the Amanda Knox case, bail arraignment hearings, and more. These interactions—playing on our inherent biases about the truth—have historically led to devastating mistakes when not approached with caution and humility. For everyone from the politically engaged citizen to the college freshman, Talking to Strangers is a must-read. - Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780316478526
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

Little Weirds by Jenny Slate

Reading this book felt like looking directly into Jenny Slate’s soul. I have a lot of respect for any comedian who is able to open up about the darker, less humorous aspects of themself, and Slate does that here. In many small vignettes, Slate uses dreams, metaphors, and lyrical language to unspool her recent struggles and try to come to terms with them. - Jade

Pre-Order Now Badge
Little Weirds Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316485340
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 5th, 2019

Home Work by Julie Andrews

Julie Andrews begins her second memoir where her first, Home, left off, with her Hollywood entrance and the quick succession of Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music. Writing with heart, candor, and an authentic invitation into her world of hard work, show business, family, and self, Andrews has crafted the most considerate tell-all possible, taking care with her reader as well as with the movies and experiences that have made her life so extraordinary. It is a delight to spend time with her, practically perfect in every way. - Melinda

Home Work: A Memoir of My Hollywood Years Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316349253
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - October 15th, 2019

Movies (And Other Things) by Shea Serrano illus. by Arturo Torres

You know that friend who will endlessly debate Marvel plot points or keep trying to get you to watch that one movie that you’ve hardly heard of? Oh wait—you are that friend? Buddy, do I have a book for you. Shea Serrano is passionate, nerdy, and funny, and with the help of Arturo Torres’s pop culture–perfect illustrations, has rants and debates you have never even thought of. You will devour each point, paragraph, and ridiculously meaningless/ful idea that fills these pages. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Movies (And Other Things) Cover Image
By Shea Serrano, Arturo Torres (Illustrator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781538730195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Twelve - October 8th, 2019

Music: A Subversive History by Ted Gioia

Music scholar extraordinaire Ted Gioia’s new book is a sweeping history of epic proportions. Ranging from the music of antiquity to the advent of modern streaming services, the book explores music’s dynamic relationship to culture, politics, and power. While the material is vast, Gioia’s sharp wit and astute observations make this a rewarding read. If music plays as important a role in your life as it does in mine, pick this one up. - Travis

Staff Pick Badge
Music: A Subversive History Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781541644366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - October 15th, 2019

Cabin Porn: Inside edited by Zach Klein

Cabin Porn began as an online project created by a group of friends to inspire their own homebuilding. Then came a phenomenally popular website and bestselling book featuring the exterior designs of handmade homes. Now an all-new volume features a look inside these most beloved cabins, shelters, and retreats from all over the world. The rooms in the getaways are filled with warmth and simplicity and will appeal to anyone wanting to live in harmony with nature.

Cabin Porn: Inside Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316423090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voracious - October 1st, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Hachette