User menu

Shopping cart

Bookshop's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids

Whether your kid is a reluctant or a voracious reader, graphic novels are a perfect fit! Get ready for a visual feast with this collection of Bookshop Santa Cruz's favorite graphic novels for kids. They feature stunning artwork and engaging stories that will keep kids entertained for hours. From superheroes to everyday heroes, these graphic novels feature a diverse range of characters and themes that kids can relate to. These are a great way to introduce your child to the exciting world of graphic novels!

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party: (A Graphic Novel) By Reimena Yee Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

This book is a gift. In it, Nguyen offers readers a beautiful tale of immigration and coming out that weaves Vietnamese fairy tales into something magical and deeply moving. The art is nothing short of gorgeous. Being the daughter of immigrants myself, Tiến’s struggle to connect with his refugee parents resonated deeply with me, but this is a story that anyone can sink into and appreciate. I can’t wait to read what Nguyen does next. — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) By Trung Le Nguyen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Written by Jason Reynolds Illustrated by Danica Novgorodoff

Fifteen-year-old Will gets on the elevator with a gun in his waistband. On his 60-second journey to the lobby, Will has “the Rules” in mind: No crying, no snitching, and get revenge. Who he meets on the elevator will help determine what Will does when he hits the lobby. This graphic novelization of the award-winning novel in verse chronicling one Black boy’s dilemma will grab you and not let go. A great choice for middle-grade to adult readers. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel By Jason Reynolds, Danica Novgorodoff (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534444959
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 13th, 2020

Twins, Vol. 1 written by Varian Johnson

Francine and Maureen are best friends who happen to be identical twins. Starting sixth grade, Maureen doesn’t want things to change, but Francine suddenly wants to be Fran and pushes her sister away. Everything comes to a head when the sisters run against each other for class president. Both girls are realistically drawn (figuratively and literally) and I found myself bouncing between sides. If you’ve read Real Friends or Invisible Emmie, you’ll want to check out this series-starting graphic novel!

— Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
Twins: A Graphic Novel (Twins #1) By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338236132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian by Tim Probert

Bea, a young girl who has intense anxiety, and a Galdurian, a species assumed extinct, team up to find Bea’s missing and increasingly infirm grandfather. Traveling through Irpa (their world), they discover beautiful wonders and creeping dangers. A wildly inventive start of what is sure to be an exciting graphic novel series, I couldn’t put it down for anything. I can’t wait for the next installment! Fans of Amulet and Mighty Jack take notice, this one's for you. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

White Bird: A Wonder Story by R.J. Palacio

Sara, a Jewish girl in Nazi-occupied France, has only ever wanted a normal life, but in a single, fateful day everything she knows and loves is destroyed. Relying on the everyday courage and kindness of friends and strangers, Sara fights for survival, finding hope in the unlikeliest of places. A companion book to her beloved novel Wonder, Palacio’s graphic novel debut is a harrowing but ultimately inspiring read. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story (A Graphic Novel) By R. J. Palacio Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: This item is likely out of print! We may be able to order it from the publisher. If it's unavailable, we will refund you ASAP.
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner

Moth Hush loves fun witchy stuff. So she’s delighted to discover she’s a real-life witch from a line of powerful witches. But being a witch isn’t all fun and games. The historical bits add gravitas to this tale, making it one full of humor (Mr. Laszlo, Moth’s familiar, is one quippy cat) and heart. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jameison are sure to love this story about families, identity, and finding a place where you belong. - Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch By Emma Steinkellner, Emma Steinkellner (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534431454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - September 3rd, 2019

Mighty Jack and Zita the Space Girl by Ben Hatke

It’s the crossover everyone’s been waiting for: Zita the Spacegirl & Mighty Jack get an adventure together! When an army of creatures bent on destruction attempt to portal to Earth, it’s up to the dynamic duo and their friends to save the day in this out-of-this world adventure. A great place for new readers to jump in, this story’s sure to please long-time devotees of Zita and Jack, and is a perfect choice for fans of Amulet and Cleopatra in Space. - Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Mighty Jack and Zita the Spacegirl By Ben Hatke Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250191731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - September 3rd, 2019

New Kid by Jerry Craft

Meet Jordan, an African American boy attending a prestigious New York middle school where he’s torn between two worlds—rich and working class, black and white. On the first page, Jordan says, “This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I’m falling without a parachute,” and illustrates his experiences (via a book within the book) with insight and ironic humor that all young students, especially students of color, will really appreciate. A humorous yet poignant story. - Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur: In the Beginning

If you don’t know Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur, you need to correct that immediately! Lunella (a.k.a. Moon Girl) is a nine-year-old genius who teams up with Devil Dinosaur when he appears in her modern-day NYC neighborhood. Can Moon Girl solve the mystery of her own DNA, field havoc-wreaking cavemen and aliens bent on destruction, and still make it home for dinner? Full of laughter and lots of heart, this story of finding one’s voice is sure to delight.

—Jax

Staff Pick Badge
MOON GIRL AND DEVIL DINOSAUR: THE BEGINNING By Amy Reeder, Marvel Various, Marco Failla (Illustrator), Marvel Various (Illustrator), Natacha Bustos (Cover design or artwork by) Cover Image
By Amy Reeder, Marvel Various, Marco Failla (Illustrator), Marvel Various (Illustrator), Natacha Bustos (Cover design or artwork by)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781302916541
Availability: Backordered
Published: Outreach/New Reader - February 5th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Bookshop's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids