User menu

Shopping cart

Bookshop's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids

Whether your kid is a reluctant or a voracious reader, graphic novels are a perfect fit! Get ready for a visual feast with this collection of Bookshop Santa Cruz's favorite graphic novels for kids. They feature stunning artwork and engaging stories that will keep kids entertained for hours. From superheroes to everyday heroes, these graphic novels feature a diverse range of characters and themes that kids can relate to. These are a great way to introduce your child to the exciting world of graphic novels!

The Secret Garden on 81st Street written by Ivy Noelle Weird, illustrated by Amber Padilla

Everyone wants a secret…and needs a friend. Ivy Noelle Weir and Amber Padilla deliver a lovely graphic novel of renewal, hope, and connection. Any kid who has ever been lonely will relate to Mary, Colin, and Dickon as they find each other. Inspiration can be found in their care for themselves and for the people, plants, and world around them. A welcome update to a traditional classic, this beautiful fable for our current modern world stands on its own.—Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Garden on 81st Street: A Modern Graphic Retelling of The Secret Garden (Classic Graphic Remix) By Ivy Noelle Weir, Amber Padilla (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ivy Noelle Weir, Amber Padilla (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316459709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Ink - October 19th, 2021

Artie and the Wolf Moon by Olivia Stephens

This thrilling supernatural graphic novel about a teen girl who just found out she descends from a long line of werewolves is a perfect blend of action and heart. Olivia Stephens weaves a tale of loss, growing up, and family, both found and biological. With art that jumps off the page and a sweet, sapphic romance, fans of Mooncakes and Spill Zone will want to sink their teeth into this fantasy adventure. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Artie and the Wolf Moon By Olivia Stephens, Olivia Stephens (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Olivia Stephens, Olivia Stephens (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728420202
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - September 7th, 2021

The Bug Club by Elise Gravel

Not only is this little hardcover educational, but it’s so CUTE. Even the passing appreciator of nature will love this adorably illustrated guide to our six-legged friends. Elise Gravel uses her charming art and handwritten text to create an approachable guide that feels more like sharing notes with a very smart friend than reading lists of facts. As a big fan of bugs, I may be biased, but this book is a must-have for the future entomologist in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Bug Club By Elise Gravel Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770464155
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - August 10th, 2021

Cranky Chicken by Katherine Battersby

A cranky chicken and an optimistic worm are unlikely pals in this hilarious series starter about friendship and learning to love people as they are. Cranky likes being cranky and doesn’t want any friends, but after saving a worm named Speedy, it would seem she is stuck with one. The illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny, and I have never felt like a chicken was a kindred spirit until now. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and the Narwhal and Jelly series.

—Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken: A Cranky Chicken Book 1 By Katherine Battersby, Katherine Battersby (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534469891
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 6th, 2022

The Quest for Snacks by Susie Yi

This little book is full of so much magic, good-hearted lessons, and delicious snacks you won’t be able to resist taking these cats home with you! Squash and Ginny are on the hunt for ingredients to make a potion for never-ending snacks. Along the way they make new friends, learning a lot about themselves and each other. The art is adorable and the storyline was fun, but what I most enjoyed were the lessons of kindness and responsibility these kitties learn, making this a perfect addition to any child’s library.

—Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Cat & Cat Adventures: The Quest for Snacks By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780063083806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 7th, 2021

Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel by Jennifer L. Holm & Savanna Ganucheau

Available in paperback

Despite never before having met the relatives she’s staying with in Key West, Turtle wastes no time taking charge. She shows tenacity and fearlessness as she joins her cousin’s babysitting business, and even secures a job on a fishing boat. The artwork is decidedly tropical, and my favorite part is the legend of the pirate’s treasure. This graphic novel reminded me that sometimes all you need is a change of scenery to come out of your shell. — Celeste

Staff Pick Badge
Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel By Jennifer L. Holm, Savanna Ganucheau Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

Delicates (Sheets, Volume 2) by Brenna Thummler

Have you ever been friends with a ghost? Majorie is friends with several, a nd Eliza is set on photographing one, even if everyone thinks it's weird. The setting reminds me of a pastel Stranger Things and captures a feeling I remember from eighth grade, of growing up where there are new friends but being a kid is not that far behind. Delicates is a reminder that you don’t have to feel like a middle school ghost; there are always people who see you. —Celeste

 

Staff Pick Badge
Delicates (Sheets #2) By Brenna Thummler Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781620107881
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Oni Press - March 23rd, 2021

Katie the Catsitter, Book 1 Written by Colleen AF Venable Illustrated by Stephanie Yue

Katie can’t afford to go to summer camp, so she decides to take on odd jobs from her neighbors in order to raise the money to join her friends. She begins catsitting for her neighbor upstairs, whose cats—ALL 217 OF THEM—are absolutely hilarious... and possibly evil? This was a delightful read that had me chuckling all the way through, and it would be perfect for fans of superheroes or cats (like me!). —Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Katie the Catsitter: (A Graphic Novel) By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - January 5th, 2021

Agent 9: Flood-A-Geddon! by James Burks

Feline hero Agent 9 of the Super-Secret Spy Service is on a mission to keep the world safe from maniacal villains. King Crab has a diabolical plan to melt the polar ice cap and build a massive water park. Can Agent 9 save the day? Lots of fast action, humor, and suspense. Readers who like Baby Mouse or Mighty Robot should give this book a try. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Agent 9: Flood-a-Geddon! By James Burks Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593202968
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Razorbill - March 16th, 2021

Class Act by Jerry Craft

Newbery medalist Jerry Craft does it again. This companion to New Kid focuses on Jordan as well his friend Drew who, unlike light-skinned Jordan, faces othering based in colorism. How Craft takes serious subject matter and makes it hilarious remains a mystery to me, but I was literally laughing out loud while reading, just like I did with New Kid. A great choice for fans of the first installment, school stories, socially conscious books, and those who—like me—love to laugh! — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Class Act: A Graphic Novel By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062885500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Bookshop's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids