User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Séance Tea Party (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Dec 2 4:01am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

— Molly

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“Lora doesn’t want to grow up like the rest of her friends; she wants to keep playing outside, imagining far-away places and crazy adventures. When she meets Alexa, a ghost about her age, Lora thinks she has solved her problem — she doesn’t want to grow up, and Alexa never will. But as their friendship grows and Lora begins to meet more living people who have similar interests, they both begin to realize that maybe growing up isn’t bad, it’s just hard.”
— Teresa Steele, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

Description


Lora wants to stay a kid forever, and she'll do anything to make that happen . . . including befriending Alexa, the ghost who haunts her house. A middle-grade graphic novel about growing up that's perfect for fans of Ghosts and Making Friends.

Growing up sounds terrible.

No one has time to do anything fun, or play outside, or use their imagination. Everything is suddenly so serious. People are more interested in their looks and what others think about them than having fun adventures. Who wants that?

Not Lora.

After watching her circle of friends seemingly fade away, Lora is determined to still have fun on her own. A tea party with a twist leaves Lora to re-discovering Alexa, the ghost that haunts her house -- and Lora's old imaginary friend! Lora and Alexa are thrilled to meet kindred spirits and they become best friends . . . but unfortunately, not everything can last forever.

Reimena Yee brings to life a story about growing up, childhood, and what it means to let go. A fantastical story following lovable characters as they each realize what it means to be who you are.

About the Author


Reimena Yee is an illustrator, writer, and designer. Hailing from the dusty metropolis of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, she is now based in Melbourne, Australia. She once was a STEM student, but left to pursue her passion for the world and all of the histories and cultures within it, which she weaves into her art and stories. She is the co-founder of UNNAMED, a comics collective that builds community and resources for visual-literary creators in Southeast Asia.

She is the author-illustrator of the gothic comics The World in Deeper Inspection and the Eisner and McDuffie-nominated The Carpet Merchant of Konstantiniyya. Séance Tea Party is her debut middle-grade graphic novel.

@reimenayee

Praise For…


A perfect choice for young readers coping with the death of a loved one or even those beginning life in a new school or new city, Alexa and Lora show that nothing you love is ever truly gone and growing up can be a blessing.—The Bulletin, Starred Review
 
"A coming-of-age tale that is both comforting and wonderfully peculiar." —Kirkus Reviews

“[The] art is loose and bright, and the colors are vibrant, bringing a diverse cast to life. An empathetic look at a late bloomer.” —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984894151
ISBN-10: 1984894153
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: September 15th, 2020
Pages: 272
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 2/9/2020 02:00pm
Last Updated At: 12/3/2020 08:19am
Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!