User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country (MP3 CD)

Staff Pick Badge
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
By Pam Houston, Pam Houston (Read by)
$14.99
Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability

Staff Reviews


It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams!

— Jess

Fans of Pam Houston have to wait a few years between books, but the wait is always worth it. Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country chronicles life on the  ranch she bought 25 years ago in Creede, Colorado, while also lovingly bearing witness to the large and small changes our planet and its inhabitants are undergoing. Houston weaves stories of her travels to remote and beautiful places with painful childhood memories and happenings on the ranch while addressing hope in the face of a changing climate. She leaves us with the idea that it is possible to simultaneously love and grieve, and that at its best grieving calls us to love that much more.

— Rachel Farber

February 2019 Indie Next List


“I can’t decide if Mineral County, Colorado, is a piece of heaven or if it’s actually heaven. Either way, it is a wondrous Rocky Mountain paradise — a paradise beset by bitter cold, fires, and various degrees of hardship, but always exquisite beauty. Pam Houston has 120 acres of it, and readers get a glimpse of life and death on the ranch in this marvelous combination of memoir and nature writing. Both deeply personal and wide-reaching, Deep Creek is about the human capacity to feel grief and joy all at once for the ground beneath one’s feet and the planet as a whole.”
— Stan Hynds, Northshire Saratoga, Saratoga Springs, NY

Description


"How do we become who we are in the world? We ask the world to teach us."

On her 120-acre homestead high in the Colorado Rockies, beloved writer Pam Houston learns what it means to care for a piece of land and the creatures on it. Elk calves and bluebirds mark the changing seasons, winter temperatures drop to 35 below, and lightning sparks a 110,000-acre wildfire, threatening her century-old barn and all its inhabitants. Through her travels from the Gulf of Mexico to Alaska, she explores what ties her to the Earth, the ranch most of all. Alongside her devoted Irish wolfhounds and a spirited troupe of horses, donkeys, and Icelandic sheep, the ranch becomes Houston's sanctuary, a place where she discovers how the natural world has mothered and healed her after a childhood of horrific parental abuse and neglect.

In essays as lucid and invigorating as mountain air, Deep Creek delivers Houston's most profound meditations yet on how "to live simultaneously inside the wonder and the grief...to love the damaged world and do what I can to help it thrive."



Product Details
ISBN: 9781978672543
ISBN-10: 1978672543
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: Ingram
Created At: 2/24/2019 05:11pm
Last Updated At: 8/14/2020 11:03am