User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
King & Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 2 4:01am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Amateur detectives King (a big friendly dog) and Kayla (his girl) are back, serving up clue after clue as they get to the root of a recent neighborhood mystery. Kayla and her friend Jillian make keen observations, carry out experiments, and analyze data, but they’re always a paw-step behind our intrepid narrator King and his dog buddies. For fans of Nate the Great and Cam Jansen, this early chapter book gives a delightful taste of both kid and dog reasoning.

— Michelle

Description


The Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award-winning series is back

"Entertaining reading for the newest generation of detectives." --Kirkus Reviews

A new entry in the laugh-out-loud detective series for early chapter book readers starring lovable dog King and his human girl Kayla From the Geisel Honor Award-winning team of Dori Hillestad Butler and Nancy Meyers.

When Jillian's dog, Thor, is accused of digging up Mr. Gary's garden, King and Kayla put their detective skills to work to clear his name. At the scene of the crime, Kayla picks up several clues--there is too much damage for a small dog like Thor to have caused, and several half-eaten vegetables are scattered on the ground. King also finds a clue: A witness to the crime tells King that the culprit is a "new guy" who likes to fight. But who could that be? And can they track down this new guy and clear Thor's name?

With simple, straightforward language and great verbal and visual humor, the King & Kayla series from Geisel Honor Award-winning team Dori Hillestad Butler and Nancy Meyers is perfect for newly independent readers transitioning from easy readers to beginning chapter books. Great for introducing mysteries and the important concepts of fact gathering, list making, clues, and analytical thinking.

Series Activity Kit available



Product Details
ISBN: 9781682630563
ISBN-10: 1682630560
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication Date: March 1st, 2020
Pages: 48
Language: English
Series: King & Kayla
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: Ingram
Created At: 8/11/2019 07:43am
Last Updated At: 12/2/2020 09:04pm
Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!