If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$17.95
On Our Shelves Now
28 on hand, as of Jul 21 6:45am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Luna was left in the woods as an infant by superstitious villagers. Xan, a witch, intends to take her for adoption to a nearby town but can’t seem to part with her. When she feeds her on the moon’s magic, Xan knows she’s created a big problem: Luna has magic, and too much of it. Meanwhile, something evil suppresses the hopes of the villagers, feeding on their despair. A delightful fantasy, featuring a kindly witch, a sage swamp monster, his buddy (a miniature dragon who imagines himself big), and an epic struggle to save the forest. For readers of Jinx, Real Boy, and Rick Riordan. Grades 5–8.

— Tera

Description


Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
Named to KirkusReviews' Best Books of 2016
2017 Booklist Youth Editors' Choice


Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna's thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth's surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl . . .

The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch's Boy.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781616205676
ISBN-10: 1616205679
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication Date: August 9th, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060