User menu

Shopping cart

The King Shall Rejoice, HWV 260: Vocal score (Paperback)

The King Shall Rejoice, HWV 260: Vocal score By George Frideric Handel, Friedrich Chrysander (Arranged by), Clark McAlister (Editor) Cover Image
Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
(Please note: This book cannot be returned.)


Handel's Coronation Anthems were composed from September to October of 1727, only four years in his post as composer of music for the Chapel Royal. The occasion was the coronation of the new king, George II, on October 22, 1727. The performance featured the Chapel Royal vocal soloists, chorus and orchestra under the composer's direction in Westminster Abbey. The anthems soon became popular and were subsequently used for other ceremonial events. Handel's four anthems have been performed at every single English coronation since the 1727 premiere. The King Shall Rejoice was the third one performed in 1727 as in more recent years.

Offered here is the beautifully engraved edition prepared by Dr. Clark McAlister for the now-defunct American publisher E.F. Kalmus in 1986. Along with reproducing the engraving in the highest quality, this new vocal score has been enlarged to the larger A4 format, which makes the chorus singer's job much easier when rehearsing and performing. Serenissima Music is proud to br the exclusive publisher for Clark McAlister's outstanding catalogue of superb orchestrations and authoritative editions.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781608742042
ISBN-10: 1608742040
Publisher: Serenissima Music
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2023
Pages: 34
Language: English