User menu

Shopping cart

Bunny and Clyde (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Bunny and Clyde By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Megan McDonald, Scott Nash (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Apr 23 4:06am
(KID-INDEP)

Staff Reviews


Bunny and Clyde are tired of being good. They want to be bad. So obviously they go to the library to do some research. However, some critters (or people) are never going to be good at being bad no matter how hard they try. Illustrated with gentle line drawings, I found this early chapter book to be laugh-out-loud funny and surprisingly kind. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and Ivy & Bean.

— Ivy

Description


From New York Times best-selling author Megan McDonald, creator of Judy Moody, and lauded illustrator Scott Nash comes a droll comedy for early readers about an endearingly inept pair of outlaws.

Get ready for a wild ride with Bunny and Clyde! These by-the-rules buddies, a rabbit and a chipmunk, are sick and tired of being good. For once, they want to know what it’s like to be baddies—rotten to the core! They want thrills and excitement! But to get really good at being bad, they’re going to need some experience. What if the dastardly duo started returning library books late on purpose? Or borrowing markers without asking? Everyone knows it’s a swift downhill slide from there—as long as there’s an unprotected piggy bank in town! Unless, of course, their best attempts at mastering bad deeds are strangely misconstrued . . . Author Megan McDonald brings her quick wit and ear for dialogue, matched by Scott Nash’s deft animal characterizations, to a hilarious caper of criminal intentions gone awry.

About the Author


Megan McDonald is the author of the popular Judy Moody and Stink series for older readers and the Judy Moody and Friends series for beginning readers. She has also written many other chapter books and picture books for children. Megan McDonald lives in California.

Scott Nash is the creator of the illustrated middle-grade novel The High-Skies Adventures of Blue Jay the Pirate and the early reader Tuff Fluff and is the illustrator of many other children’s books. In 2016, he and Nancy Gibson-Nash founded Illustration Institute. Scott Nash lives on Peaks Island off the coast of Maine.

Praise For…


The clever plot is anchored by Bunny and Clyde’s Hollywood gangster-speak, tongue-in-cheek dialogue, and groan-worthy puns, all of which will charm young readers. . . . Being bad is work. Delightful.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Bunny and Clyde’s schemes—facilitated by bouncy, fast-paced plotting from McDonald (the Judy Moody series) and boldly expressive art from Nash (I’m Afraid Your Teddy Is in the Principal’s Office)—prove amusing, and the characters’ independence, alongside their sassy banter, will appeal to young readers.
—Publishers Weekly

Do-gooders Bunny and Clyde are fed up with playing nice, so the rabbit and the chipmunk set their sights on being as bad as possible. . . . The stakes are low, the action breezy, and the gentle humor reminiscent of Frog and Toad, making this an excellent next read for lovers of those books. . . . Chapters are nicely episodic for budding readers, and the friends’ shenanigans are perfectly paced within each section, providing quick but useful breathers for those kids just building up to chapter books.
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

McDonald, of Judy Moody and Stink fame, is clearly having fun in her new chapter-book series, which is packed with humorous situations, puns, and old-timey gangster slang. The black-and white illustrations lean into the overarching joke that the friends are “goodniks” in spite of themselves. A criminally charming new series for fans of Kara LaReau’s Infamous Ratsos books.
—Booklist

If you have the main characters stealing toilet paper on the cover of a book, you’re going to get some kids intrigued. When the book is written by Judy Moody creator Megan McDonald, you’re going to get this school librarian intrigued. The fact that it is heavily illustrated by Scott Nash is icing on the cake.
—100 Scope Notes


Product Details
ISBN: 9781536228731
ISBN-10: 1536228737
Publisher: Candlewick
Publication Date: March 12th, 2024
Pages: 128
Language: English