User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Cranky Chicken (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Oct 17 5:18am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


A cranky chicken and an optimistic worm are unlikely pals in this hilarious series starter about friendship and learning to love people as they are. Cranky likes being cranky and doesn’t want any friends, but after saving a worm named Speedy, it would seem she is stuck with one. The illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny, and I have never felt like a chicken was a kindred spirit until now. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and the Narwhal and Jelly series.

— Ivy

Description


Narwhal and Jelly meet The Bad Guys in this heartwarming, brightly illustrated, and downright hilarious chapter book about what happens when a very cranky chicken is befriended by a very cheerful worm.

Cranky Chicken is, well, cranky. With one cranky eyebrow, cranky eyes, and even cranky, scratchy feet. But then one day, Cranky meets a very friendly worm named Speedy who wants nothing more than to be friends. Young readers will love seeing the mismatched friendship grow over the course of three charming and laugh-out-loud short adventures as Chicken and Speedy become BFFs (Best Feathered Friends) and Speedy shows Chicken how to look on the bright side.

About the Author


Katherine Battersby is the critically acclaimed children’s author and illustrator of two chapter books and twelve picture books, including Perfect Pigeons and Squish Rabbit, a CBC Children’s Choice Book. Her picture books have also been shortlisted for numerous Australian awards, including the CBCA Awards for New Illustrator and Book of the Year. Katherine lives in Ottawa, Canada. Visit her at KatherineBattersby.com.

Katherine Battersby is the critically acclaimed children’s author and illustrator of two chapter books and twelve picture books, including Perfect Pigeons and Squish Rabbit, a CBC Children’s Choice Book. Her picture books have also been shortlisted for numerous Australian awards, including the CBCA Awards for New Illustrator and Book of the Year. Katherine lives in Ottawa, Canada. Visit her at KatherineBattersby.com.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534469884
ISBN-10: 1534469885
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 116
Language: English
Series: Cranky Chicken
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 2/7/2021 10:07am
Last Updated At: 10/16/2021 03:05pm