User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Ask Again, Yes (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Ask Again, Yes Cover Image
$30.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Two Irish families, living side by side in suburban New York, are tied by the similarities of their path into the neighborhood and by a tragic event of a single night that reverberates across multiple generations for decades. Mary Beth Keane paints a subtle portrait of families dealing with mental health issues and long-held secrets, and the desire for connection across those divides. The result is a deeply felt and immersive novel, one that ties you not only to the characters but ultimately to their lessons for life. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett and Celeste Ng and one of my favorite reads this year.

— Casey

June 2019 Indie Next List


Ask Again, Yes is a compelling, heartbreaking, yet ultimately hopeful novel. Mary Beth Keane is incredibly talented; she does not sugar coat, instead giving readers a compulsively readable family drama. I did not expect to become so completely engrossed in these characters’ stories — two families whose lives become inextricably linked by young love and personal tragedy. Their myriad mistakes and attempts to atone beautifully demonstrate the power and grace found in forgiveness.”
— Anderson McKean, Page and Palette, Fairhope, AL

Description


INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

**The Tonight Show Summer Reads Pick**

�One of the most unpretentiously profound books I've read in a long time�modestly magnificent.� �Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air

�A beautiful novel, bursting at the seams with empathy.� �Elle

How much can a family forgive?

A profoundly moving novel about two neighboring families in a suburban town, the friendship between their children, a tragedy that reverberates over four decades, the daily intimacies of marriage, and the power of forgiveness.

Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope, rookie cops in the NYPD, live next door to each other outside the city. What happens behind closed doors in both houses�the loneliness of Francis�s wife, Lena, and the instability of Brian�s wife, Anne, sets the stage for the explosive events to come.

Ask Again, Yes is a deeply affecting exploration of the lifelong friendship and love that blossoms between Kate Gleeson and Peter Stanhope, born six months apart. One shocking night their loyalties are divided, and their bond will be tested again and again over the next 40 years. Luminous, heartbreaking, and redemptive, Ask Again, Yes reveals the way childhood memories change when viewed from the distance of adulthood�villains lose their menace and those who appeared innocent seem less so. Kate and Peter�s love story, while haunted by echoes from the past, is marked by tenderness, generosity, and grace.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432867188
ISBN-10: 1432867180
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: September 25th, 2019
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: Ingram
Created At: 5/26/2019 09:41am
Last Updated At: 12/14/2019 01:25pm
Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!