User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
$40.94
Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability

Staff Reviews


It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams!

— Jess

Fans of Pam Houston have to wait a few years between books, but the wait is always worth it. Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country chronicles life on the  ranch she bought 25 years ago in Creede, Colorado, while also lovingly bearing witness to the large and small changes our planet and its inhabitants are undergoing. Houston weaves stories of her travels to remote and beautiful places with painful childhood memories and happenings on the ranch while addressing hope in the face of a changing climate. She leaves us with the idea that it is possible to simultaneously love and grieve, and that at its best grieving calls us to love that much more.

— Rachel Farber

February 2019 Indie Next List


“I can’t decide if Mineral County, Colorado, is a piece of heaven or if it’s actually heaven. Either way, it is a wondrous Rocky Mountain paradise — a paradise beset by bitter cold, fires, and various degrees of hardship, but always exquisite beauty. Pam Houston has 120 acres of it, and readers get a glimpse of life and death on the ranch in this marvelous combination of memoir and nature writing. Both deeply personal and wide-reaching, Deep Creek is about the human capacity to feel grief and joy all at once for the ground beneath one’s feet and the planet as a whole.”
— Stan Hynds, Northshire Saratoga, Saratoga Springs, NY

Summer 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List


Deep Creek is Pam Houston at her most honest and lyrical. She looks at how her life has been shaped by her beautiful ranch in Colorado’s high country, and she lovingly evokes that land with its horses, dogs, and, most importantly, the people who populate and enrich her life.”
— Arsen Kashkashian, Boulder Book Store, Boulder, CO



Product Details
ISBN: 9781432862756
ISBN-10: 1432862758
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: April 10th, 2019
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: Ingram
Created At: 12/16/2018 01:50pm
Last Updated At: 9/12/2020 01:21pm