User menu

Shopping cart

Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1) By Saadia Faruqi, Ani Bushry (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Saadia Faruqi, Ani Bushry (Illustrator)
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Dec 7 8:04am
(KID-INDEP)

Staff Reviews


Faruqi, author of Meet Yasmin!, is back with a new heroine ready to take on the world. Third-grader Marya Khan’s family, friendships, dreams, and jealousy are immediately recognizable, as is the trouble she gets herself into. Her escapades are not only entertaining but insightful for all involved. With Bushry's playful illustrations, this chapter book is terrific for kids with big dreams.

— JOCELYN

Description


Perfect for fans of Ivy & Bean and Dory Fantasmagory, this is the start of a charming new chapter book series about a third-grader whose plans may backfire but whose persistence and heart are inspiring.

Marya’s eighth birthday is coming up in a week, and all she wants is an over-the-top birthday party just like the ones Alexa, her rich neighbor, always throws. When Alexa parades into school with fancy invitations, Marya can't help herself—she claims that she’s having the most epic henna party ever. Now she has to convince her family to make it happen. Enter Operation Help the Khans! Marya's siblings clearly need help with their projects. Maybe she could cook dinner for her parents, or clean her grandmother’s room? Except everything Marya does seems to end in disaster. Will Marya and her family be able pull it together and throw the best party ever?!

About the Author


Saadia Faruqi was born in Pakistan and moved to the United States when she was 22 years old. She writes the Yasmin series and popular middle-grade novels such as Yusuf Azeem Is Not A Hero. Besides writing books for kids, she also loves reading, binge-watching her favorite shows, and taking naps. She lives in Houston with her family.

Praise For…


"There’s so much to love about Marya. She’s spunky, persistent, and resourceful. . .A delightful story of friendship, family, and upended expectations.
— Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will look forward to reading more of plucky Marya’s adventures."
— School Library Journal

"A lively voice brings the large cast to life in this fast-paced, entertaining chapter book." 
— Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781419761164
ISBN-10: 1419761161
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 144
Language: English
Series: Marya Khan
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 2/5/2022 06:00am
Last Updated At: 12/7/2022 07:34am

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

Thank you for supporting local public schools!