If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This book hits so many things I’ve been pining for lately! There are assassins who worship a mysterious goddess of death, plus a rich history and fantastic world building, all wrapped in luscious writing that’s a treat to read. Did I mention the anti-heroine who is wonderfully complex and surprisingly hard to forget, and her talking “cat” made of shadows? A perfect fit for fans of Scott Lynch or Patrick Rothfuss.

— Jax

This book hits so many things I’ve been pining for lately! There are assassins who worship a mysterious goddess of death, plus a rich history and fantastic world building, all wrapped in luscious writing that’s a treat to read. Did I mention the anti-heroine who is wonderfully complex and surprisingly hard to forget, and her talking “cat” made of shadows? A perfect fit for fans of Scott Lynch or Patrick Rothfuss.

— Jax

Description


Nevernight is the first in an epic new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Jay Kristoff.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, a sixteen year old Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic — the Red Church. Treachery and trials await her with the Church’s halls, and to fail is to die. But if she survives to initiation, Mia will be inducted among the chosen of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the only thing she desires.

Revenge.

About the Author


JAY KRISTOFF is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Lotus War, The Illuminae Files and The Nevernight Chronicle. He is the winner of four Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the Locus award, David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over thirty countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 12,365 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell. He does not believe in happy endings.

Praise For…


"Launching the Nevernight fantasy series, Kristoff (the Lotus War trilogy) creates a splendid world of corruption and violence. Kristoff portrays a world as rife with villains and treachery as the ancient Italian civilizations it echoes. Absorbing in its complexity and bold in its bloodiness, this beginning promises (and delivers) equal shares of beauty and decay. With a delicate balance of the ancient and the magical, this tense and brutal tale is unflinching, thrilling, and satisfying." - Publishers Weekly, starred review on Nevernight

"A sensuous, shades-of-moral-gray world; a compelling, passionate heroine; a high-stakes quest for revenge—this is a fantasy fans won't be able to put down."—Kirkus on Nevernight

"The world-building is delightfully detailed, its baroque flourishes supplied by sarcastic footnotes, but we are drawn through the narrative by Mia’s triple quest: to rescue her family members, to avenge her father’s death and to survive her education at the church, where the ultimate test is to avoid being killed by the training." -The Daily Mail on Nevernight

"Assassins, magic, strange creatures are all pluses for me. But my favorite thing about this book is the voice...I adore well-done omniscient narrators with snark and a slight bit of disdain for either the reader or the main character."—Book Riot on Nevernight

"Kristoff's bold writing style...joins lyrical high fantasy with f-bombs aplenty, Pratchett-like humor and unflinching descriptions of violence."—SciFiNow

Harry Potter meets The Lies of Locke Lamora”—USA Today

"The innovative setting, fast-moving plot, vivid descriptions, and thrilling action scenes make this a refreshing addition to the steampunk canon." - Publishers Weekly, starred review on Stormdancer

"Soars higher than the arashitora Kristoff writes about; superb." - Kirkus, starred review on Stormdancer

"Stormdancer is an intoxicating joyride into steampunklandia with a magical dose of mythology, the supernatural, violence, dystopian themes, and a top-notch brassy heroine who rivals Katniss Everdeen of The Hunger Games. Yes, I did say that!" —Huffington Post

"Murder, magic, sex, and humor—the first installment in Kristoff’s new fantasy series is off to a rollicking start... Kristoff has created a rich, vibrant world for readers, borrowing heavily from historical Italian political structures, which provide a base of stability and familiarity to the new creations. Footnotes accompany the story,...embellishing and further developing the world, and providing a welcome and often biting wit. Dense and measured, this will appeal to fans of traditional and political fantasies."—Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250073020
ISBN-10: 1250073022
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date: August 9th, 2016
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: The Nevernight Chronicle

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060