User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

The Sun Is Also a Star (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Sun Is Also a Star Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
21 on hand, as of Jul 19 7:30am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Nicola Yoon’s incredible award-winning novel starts with the complexity of the universe and continues with two teens—an immigrant and the child of immigrants, both American—on a single day in New York City. A love story and a story of choices, this book is more real and consequential than most you will ever read. Natasha and Daniel and all the lives they intersect made my breath catch and my mind soar, and made me feel like a piece of the greater wonder.

— Jocelyn

Summer 2019 Reading Group Indie Next List


“Romeo and Juliet. Dash and Lily. Eleanor and Park. Natasha and Daniel are the next great couple! While romantic poet Daniel wholeheartedly believes in the possibility of love at first sight, science-minded Natasha is much harder to convince. But time is not on their side, as Natasha and her family are set to be deported at the end of the single day in which this story takes place. Nicola Yoon delicately incorporates familial and culture issues into this page-turning, will-they-or-won’t-they modern romance.”
— Jessica Perez, University Book Store (Mill Creek), Mill Creek, WA

Description


Now a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!

Natasha:
I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? 

***

The #1 New York Times Bestseller 
A National Book Award Finalist
A 2017 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
A New York Times Notable Book
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year
A POPSUGAR Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editor's Choice
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens
Recipient of the John Steptoe New Talent Award
A Walter Award Honor Book

"Beautifully crafted." 
--People 

"A book that is very much about the many factors that affect falling in love, as much as it is about the very act itself. . . . Fans of Yoon’s first novel, Everything Everything, will find much to love—if not, more—in what is easily an even stronger follow up." —Entertainment Weekly

"Transcends the limits of YA as a human story about falling in love and seeking out our futures." —POPSUGAR.com





About the Author


NICOLA YOON is the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Sun Is Also a Star and Everything, Everything, her debut novel, which was turned into a major motion picture. She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her family. She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.

Follow @NicolaYoon on Tumblr, Twitter, and Instagram.



Praise For…


★ "An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness--is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love... and it shines." Shelf Awareness, starred review 
 
★ “Moving and suspenseful.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review 

★ “Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate. . . and the universal beating of the human heart." —Booklist, starred review

★ "Fresh and compelling." —The Horn Book, starred review

★ "With appeal to cynics and romantics alike, this profound exploration of life and love tempers harsh realities with the beauty of hope in a way that is both deeply moving and satisfying."—Kirkus, starred review

★ “A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways.”—The Bulletin, starred review

"This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park."—SLJ


Praise for Everything, Everything:

“[A] fresh, moving debut.” —Entertainment Weekly

Gorgeous and lyrical.” —The New York Times Book Review

Will give you butterflies.” —Seventeen

 “A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone).” —Justine

 “YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here.”—MTV.com


Product Details
ISBN: 9780553496710
ISBN-10: 0553496719
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 384
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 1/6/2019 02:04pm
Last Updated At: 7/18/2019 11:50pm