User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of May 23 1:15am
(SCIENCE FICTION FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie.

— Clara

Description


In a world where magic is tightly controlled, the most powerful man in the world must choose between his kingdom and his son in the first book in the Lightbringer series, the blockbuster epic fantasy from NYT bestselling author Brent Weeks.

Guile is the Prism. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. Yet Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.

When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he's willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

If you loved the action and adventure of the Night Angel trilogy, you will devour this incredible epic fantasy series by Brent Weeks.

Lightbringer
The Black Prism
The Blinding Knife
The Broken Eye
The Blood Mirror
The Burning White

For more from Brent Weeks, check out:

Night Angel
The Way of Shadows
Shadow's Edge
Beyond the Shadows
Perfect Shadow: A Night Angel Novella

Night Angel: The Complete Trilogy (omnibus)
The Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel

About the Author


Brent Weeks was born and raised in Montana. He wrote on bar napkins and lesson plans before landing his dream job years and thousands of pages later. Brent lives in Oregon with his wife, Kristi, and their daughters. Find out more about the author at www.brentweeks.com or on twitter @brentweeks.

Praise For…


"Brent Weeks is so good it's starting to tick me off."—Peter V. Brett, New York Times bestselling author of The Desert Spear

"Weeks manages to ring new tunes on...old bells, letting a deep background slowly reveal its secrets and presenting his characters in a realistically flawed and human way." --- Publishers Weekly

"Weeks has written an epic fantasy unlike any of its contemporaries. It is a truly visionary and original work, and has set the bar high for others in its subgenre." ---graspingforthewind.com


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316246279
ISBN-10: 0316246271
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: July 23rd, 2013
Pages: 688
Language: English
Series: Lightbringer
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 3/7/2014 08:25am
Last Updated At: 5/23/2019 06:09am