User menu

Shopping cart

Into the Sunken City (Hardcover)

Into the Sunken City By Dinesh Thiru Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 21 4:05pm
(KID-YA)

Description


"Steal-your-breath adventure." —Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Lunar Chronicles

Perfect for fans of Fable and House of Salt and Sorrows, this spectacular YA fantasy adventure debut is like nothing else, featuring a unique twist on Treasure Island, a magnetic second chance romance, and a thrilling heist where the reward is great—but the risks are even greater.

In the slowly sinking city of Coconino, Arizona, the days are long, the money is tight, and the rain never stops.

For Jin Haldar, this life is nothing new—ever since her father died in a diving accident, she’s barely made ends meet for her and her younger sister, Thara.

Enter Bhili: a drifter who offers Jin and Thara the score of a lifetime—a massive stash of gold hidden in the sunken ruins of Las Vegas.

Jin knows it’s too dangerous. She stopped diving after her father’s accident. But when her sister decides to go, Jin’s left with only one choice: to go with her.

A ragtag crew is assembled—including Jin’s annoyingly hot ex-boyfriend. From there, a high-stakes heist ensues that’s beyond even Jin’s wildest fears. Crumbling ruins, sea beasts, corsairs, and a mysterious figure named João Silva all lie in wait. To survive, Jin will have to do what she promised herself she’d never do again: dive.

 

About the Author


Dinesh Thiru is a writer and stay-at-home dad currently living in Barcelona. He grew up in North Carolina, married his college sweetheart from the University of Pennsylvania, and spent over a decade in San Francisco. Dinesh is half-Indian, half-white. He loves the ocean. He used to have other interests, but he swapped them for kids. Those kids are seven, four, and a dog. You can find him at dineshthiru.com.

Praise For…


"Steal-your-breath adventure meets a uniquely forlorn futuristic world and a cast of characters so memorable you just might find yourself speaking with a sailor's brogue. Add in the most clever nods to Treasure Island, and this is the retelling I didn't know I was craving!" — Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles

“A high-stakes, deep-diving adventure with twists that will keep you turning the pages to the very last! This retelling charts a course into new, exciting waters." — Natalie C. Parker, award-winning author of the Seafire series

"Into the Sunken City is the definition of swashbuckling—a gripping underwater adventure set in a fantastically full-bodied world of storms, sea, and cephalopods. Sisters Jin and Thara are the heart of this story, and their relationship—in Jin’s words—makes the whole spirit glow."  — Nina Varela, author of Crier’s War

"This futuristic adventure features nonstop thrills and action and an unpredictable, compelling, twist-filled plot... A riveting fantasy adventure debut that pulls readers into the deep" — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The cinematic story line, electric prose, and creative and lived-in worldbuilding make Thiru’s debut a thrilling adventure on the high seas, a striking portrayal of trauma and hope in dystopian times, and a thoroughly compelling read." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The fresh premise, immersive, waterlogged atmosphere, and cinematic action of this dystopian riff on Treasure Island combine for an unforgettable read perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows or Adrienne Young’s Fable. Worldbuilding is vivid and detailed, while leaving tantalizing questions on the table for an anticipated sequel... Addictively pulse-pounding deep-sea ­future fiction, this is highly recommended." — School Library Journal (starred review)

"Paints a harrowing but beautiful picture of a rain-soaked apocalyptic world... Charming characters and multilayered mysteries will keep readers hooked from beginning to end in this well-developed eco-thriller with a lot of heart." — BookPage (starred review)

"This debut has a unique and original underwater dystopia, a treasure hunt, a second-chance romance, and a twisty heist with shifting alliances and complicated relationships." — Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063310513
ISBN-10: 0063310511
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English