User menu

Shopping cart



Café Con Lychee (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Café Con Lychee Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Jun 28 2:03am
(KID-YA)

Staff Reviews


When outspoken, determined Theo (one of the few Asian-Americans and only gay kid at his small high school) and shy, secretive Gabi are thrown into a joint venture, things are tense. Can these seemingly opposite personalities go from enemies to frenemies to something more? This is a fun and fresh rom-com that reminds us that being a teenager isn’t just about growing into who you are meant to be, but also about letting go of some of who you thought you were. 

— S.M.C.

Description


From the author of Meet Cute Diary comes a delectable rom-com that’s brimming with zest and a sprinkle of sweetness. A must-read for fans of Casey McQuiston and Julian Winters.

Theo Mori and Gabriel Moreno have always been at odds. Their parents own rival businesses—an Asian American café and a Puerto Rican bakery—and Gabi’s lack of coordination has cost their soccer team too many games to count.

Stuck in the closet and scared to pursue his own dreams, Gabi sees his family’s shop as his future. Stuck under the weight of his parents’ expectations, Theo’s best shot at leaving Vermont means first ensuring his parents’ livelihood is secure. 

So when a new fusion café threatens both shops, Theo and Gabi realize an unfortunate truth—they can only achieve their goals by working together to cook up an underground snack operation and win back their customers. But can they put aside their differences long enough to save their parents’ shops, or will the new feelings between them boil over?

About the Author


Emery Lee is a kidlit author, artist, and You-Tuber hailing from a mixed-racial background. After graduating with a degree in creative writing, e’s gone on to author novels, short stories, and web comics. When away from reading and writing, you’ll most likely find em engaged in art or snuggling cute dogs. Find em online at www.emeryleebooks.com.

Praise For…


"Café con Lychee quenched my thirst for the perfect queer enemies-to-lovers tale! With the most exquisitely picked ingredients—loveably cantankerous Theo, adorably awkward Gabi, delicious descriptions of treats, and relatable discoveries of love and sexuality—Emery Lee has yet again cooked up a world and characters I want to return to over and over!" — Jason June, author of Jay's Gay Agenda and Out of the Blue

"Café Con Lychee is as sweet as the baked goods and boba that fill up its pages, along with the adorable enemies-turned-lovers romance at its heart." — Adiba Jaigirdar, author of The Henna Wars and Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating

"Continuing to be THE master of tropes, Emery Lee's food filled, beautifully multicultural, enemies-to-lovers Café Con Lychee is everything that I love about eir books: humorous, sassy, the perfect amount of stress that keeps me obsessively captivated, and so incredibly gay." — Jonny Garza Villa, author of Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun and Ander and Santi Were Here 

"If enemies-to-lovers is what you’re hungry for, Emery Lee has something special on the menu for you. Café con Lychee is the confection of sweetness and sweethearts we all need right now!" — Adam Sass, award-winning author of Surrender Your Sons



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063210271
ISBN-10: 0063210274
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 8/9/2021 02:04pm
Last Updated At: 6/27/2022 02:10pm