User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Summer of a Thousand Pies (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Summer of a Thousand Pies Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Nov 27 6:01am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Cady Bennett is such a cool kid! Landing in the house of two aunts after growing up homeless with her dad in San Diego, Cady uses her strong survival skills to learn to trust adults who will do what they promise. The Great British Baking Show and a thousand pies inspire Cady to save the day. This book is all about feeling that you belong.

— Noreen

Description


A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt’s failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree—and The Great British Baking Show.

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn’t even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn’t sure what to expect. Cady isn’t used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.

Now she’s staying in her mother’s old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell’s own pie shop—and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell’s shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she’s ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can’t fix?

Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

About the Author


Margaret Dilloway is the author of Summer of a Thousand Pies and six other books for children and adults. She lives with her family in San Diego, where she performs long-form improv on three teams and writes and produces sketch shows. Margaret can be found online at www.margaretdilloway.com.

Praise For…


“Inspiring and hopeful…. [a] tender coming-of-age story, perfect for fans for Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin.”
— ALA Booklist

“Evok[ing] the warmth of home, newfound security, and friendship, Dilloway effectively contrasts Cady’s old life with her new one while examining her muddled emotions.... Those who share the protagonist’s passion for the culinary arts will delight in the easy-to-follow pie recipes following the story’s gratifying conclusion.”
Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Anne of Green Gables will find a satisfying story and another heroine to cheer on…. Sweet as pie.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Memorable characters and strong writing make this more than just a book about pie.”
— School Library Journal

“Readers will delight in Cady’s new world of baking and friends and learning that with both, she’ll be able to get through just about anything. This fabulous book about making pies will leave you hungry, while Cady’s journey toward making a life will leave you entirely satisfied.”
— Donna Gephart, award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin and In Your Shoes

“Margaret Dilloway approaches tough topics with a fine touch. Readers are going to love Cady’s spunk, determination, and grit.”
— Karina Yan Glaser, the author of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

“The writing is lovely, and the main character is sensitively portrayed. Summer of a Thousand Pies is delightful reading for summer or any other season.”
— Margarita Engle, Young People’s Poet Laureate and Newbery Honor-winning author of The Surrender Tree


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062803474
ISBN-10: 0062803476
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 12th, 2020
Pages: 400
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 8/12/2019 02:04am
Last Updated At: 11/23/2020 06:10am
Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!