If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

We're Going to Need More Wine: Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
We're Going to Need More Wine: Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 24 8:45am
(HARDBACK NONFICTION)

Staff Reviews


Writing this off as another celebrity memoir is the worst mistake you can make in your reading life. Union has put together a collection of essays covering topics of race, feminism, beauty standards, and fame that truly touch the soul. I would recommend for fans of Roxane Gay and Phoebe Robinson, for her blunt truthfulness and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed reading every essay and would read anything she writes in the future.

— Karena

Badass and gripping, this memoir feels like the most honest conversation you’ve ever had with a best friend about the important topics of your lives. Captivating whether you know Union or not, I want to hand this to every feminist with a reading list. Union’s transparency, intensity, and grace merit both awe and a prodigious red wine toast.

— a.c.

Description


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Nominated for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work

Named a Best Book of the Year by The Root

Chosen by Emma Straub as a Best New Celebrity Memoir

“A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever produced.” — Lena Dunham, Lenny Letter

In the spirit of Amy Poehler’s Yes Please, Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl, and Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist, a powerful collection of essays about gender, sexuality, race, beauty, Hollywood, and what it means to be a modern woman.

One month before the release of the highly anticipated film The Birth of a Nation, actress Gabrielle Union shook the world with a vulnerable and impassioned editorial in which she urged our society to have compassion for victims of sexual violence. In the wake of rape allegations made against director and actor Nate Parker, Union—a forty-four-year-old actress who launched her career with roles in iconic ’90s movies—instantly became the insightful, outspoken actress that Hollywood has been desperately awaiting. With honesty and heartbreaking wisdom, she revealed her own trauma as a victim of sexual assault: "It is for you that I am speaking. This is real. We are real."

In this moving collection of thought provoking essays infused with her unique wisdom and deep humor, Union uses that same fearlessness to tell astonishingly personal and true stories about power, color, gender, feminism, and fame. Union tackles a range of experiences, including bullying, beauty standards, and competition between women in Hollywood, growing up in white California suburbia and then spending summers with her black relatives in Nebraska, coping with crushes, puberty, and the divorce of her parents. Genuine and perceptive, Union bravely lays herself bare, uncovering a complex and courageous life of self-doubt and self-discovery with incredible poise and brutal honesty. Throughout, she compels us to be ethical and empathetic, and reminds us of the importance of confidence, self-awareness, and the power of sharing truth, laughter, and support.

Praise For…


“[Gabrielle Union’s] written a book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever produced. In this fantastic book, she discusses everything from sexual assault to the complexity of money in relationships to infertility (plus all the extra gossip you crave). Gab has not only excused the demons of her two-decade career, but she’s turned the exercise into primal scream therapy for her fans. As witty, warm, and assured on the page as she is in person, this book lives somewhere between Nora Ephron and Eve Babitz, with a touch of Audre Lorde’s radical awareness.”

“searing and powerful”

We’re Going to Need More Wine is a collection of funny and emotional essays...Union gets real about everything”

“stunning...an affirmation of [Union’s] uncanny insight and profound capacity for empathy.”

“Moving”

“[A] thought-provoking, funny, tell-it-like-it-is essay collection”

“I have gotten the pleasure to know Gabrielle over the years and besides the fact that she loves to drink, I’ve always taken comfort in how much we have in common. The predilection to go from talking about the latest humiliating sexual position to a debate on politics or racism, that’s exactly what this book felt like to me, an honest conversation with Gabrielle about her life. I appreciate her integrity, love her humor and openness about her life. I also love the fact that she’s older than me . . . Go, girl.”

“I love this woman and her book.”

We’re Going to Need More Wine is honest, raw, and funny. Union’s vulnerability about her flaws and mistakes, and also pride in her triumphs, will not only make you feel as though you’re seeing yourself reflected, but will also inspire you to be your most authentic self.”


“A hilarious and moving memoir from a natural storyteller. Gabrielle Union explores love, family, trauma and racial identity in a book that somehow manages to be both heartbreakingly honest and laugh-out-loud funny.”

“With honesty and humor, Union bares her soul and shares her levels of insecurity, the difficulties of being a black woman in Hollywood, and the way fame has changed her life. She embraces many multilayered issues in these intimate essays, giving readers glimpses of insight into her soul.”

“[Gabrielle] Union is warm, outspoken, laugh-out-loud funny…This is sure to be a crowd-pleaser, and deservedly so.”  

“This sparkling book collects amusing and heartbreaking stories from the life of actress Union...[her] no-holds-barred essays and intimate voice will appeal to her fans as well as those less familiar with her work.”

“Union invites readers into her world with honesty, grit, and grace. A much-needed addition to the endless catalog of celebrity memoirs.”



Coverage from NPR



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062693983
ISBN-10: 0062693980
Publisher: Dey Street Books
Publication Date: October 17th, 2017
Pages: 272
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060