User menu

Shopping cart

IN-PERSON EVENT: Aida Salazar, A Seed in the Sun

Wednesday, November 9, 2022 - 6:00pm

IN-PERSON EVENT: Critically acclaimed author Aida Salazar will join us to share her tender-hearted middle grade novel in verse, A Seed in the Sun, in which a young girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers' rights. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan. 

This event is cosponsored by the Live Like Coco Foundation.

Lula Viramontes dreams of one day becoming someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling carpa, like the one she saw years ago while her family was working a harvest in Texas. But when the Teatro Campesino (the official theater company of the United Farm Workers) comes to their encampment in Delano, California, Lula meets activist Dolores Huerta and discovers an even more pressing reason to raise her voice: the upcoming farm workers' strike, an event that will determine her family's future-for better or worse.

Aida Salazar is an award-winning author and arts activist whose writings for adults and children explore issues of identity and social justice. She is the author of the critically acclaimed middle grade verse novels The Moon Within and Land of the Cranes. Her forthcoming books include the picture book anthology In the Spirit of a Dream: 13 Stories of Immigrants of Color (fall 2021), the picture book biography Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Revolutionary Fighter (fall 2022), the middle grade novel A Seed in the Sun (2022), and the middle grade anthology The Gift: Writings on Menstruation by MG Authors of Color (2022). Aida is a founding member of LAS MUSAS-a Latinx kidlit debut author collective. Her story, "By the Light of the Moon," was adapted into a ballet production by the Sonoma Conservatory of Dance and is the first Xicana-themed ballet in history. She lives with her family of artists in a teal house in Oakland, CA.

 

Staff Pick Badge
A Seed in the Sun By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593406601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - October 25th, 2022

$17.99
SKU: A780593406601

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

Thank you for supporting local public schools!