User menu

Shopping cart



Summer Reading Program Grades K-2

Below are the books for grades K-2 that are part of our English Summer Reading Program in 2022. Pick up a bookmark at Bookshop Santa Cruz, add one to your cart (below), or download one to print (here) to keep track of the books as you read. 

The Field  Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9780735844612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NorthSouth Books - September 7th, 2021

There is not much more joyful than kids running around a field playing soccer. However, rain threatens their plans! I love the exuberant movement of the art and the fun onomatopoeias spread throughout. Perfect for a coastal summer and readers of We All Play


Fern and Otto: A Picture Book Story About Two Best Friends Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593481325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dragonfly Books - August 24th, 2021

A charming paperback picture book filled with discovery, adventure, and friendship.


Intersectionallies: We Make Room for All Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781948340571
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dottir Press - February 1st, 2022

"A welcoming resource for conversations about equality and social justice that shows readers how identities are made up of myriad influences." —Publishers Weekly


The Best of Iggy Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Sam Ricks (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984813329
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 4th, 2022

“The first of a series, this slender chapter book is inviting to pick up, hard to put down, and near-impossible to read without laughing out loud.” –Booklist, starred review


The Cool Cat Club (Jasper and Scruff #1) Cover Image
By Nicola Colton, Nicola Colton (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781680104608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tiger Tales - February 4th, 2020

Meet Jasper and Scruff, an unlikely pair as they learn about friendship, determination, and working together.


Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue Cover Image
By Paula Harrison, Jenny Lovlie (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780062934710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 10th, 2019

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is the first book in a chapter book series about Kitty and her superhero adventures. These chapter books are just right for newly independent readers.


Staff Pick Badge
Charlie & Mouse: Book 1 (Classic Children’s Book, Illustrated Books for Children) Cover Image
By Laurel Snyder, Emily Hughes (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781452172637
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - April 2nd, 2019

"I highly recommend the gentle mischief and hijinks of two young brothers, Charlie and Mouse, in this charming early chapter book." —Tera


Garden Day! (Step into Reading) Cover Image
By Candice Ransom, Erika Meza (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781524720407
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 12th, 2019

Easy-to-follow rhymes—read along with the brother and sister from Pumpkin Day!, Apple Picking Day!, and Snow Day! as they return to plant peas in their backyard.


Fitz and Cleo (A Fitz and Cleo Book #1) Cover Image
By Jonathan Stutzman, Heather Fox (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781250832641
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - March 8th, 2022

If you’re a fan of Narwhal and Jelly or Owly, you will fall for Fitz and Cleo—siblings by chance, but best friends by choice. Oh, and they also happen to be ghosts!


Staff Pick Badge
Beak & Ally #1: Unlikely Friends Cover Image
By Norm Feuti, Norm Feuti (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780063021587
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperAlley - January 4th, 2022

Ally just wants to be left alone, but Beak is certain they are destined to be best friends. Will the neighbors find a way to meet in the middle? This was an absolute delight to read. Funny and poignant, you'll root for these two new best friends. Perfect for fans of Cranky Chicken and early graphic novels. —Ivy