User menu

Shopping cart



Summer Reading Program Grades 7-8

Below are the books for grades 7–8 that are part of our English Summer Reading Program in 2022. Pick up a bookmark at Bookshop Santa Cruz, add one to your cart (below), or download one to print (here) to keep track of the books as you read. 

While I Was Away Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780063017122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 21st, 2021

Empowering middle grade memoir from debut author Waka T. Brown, who takes readers on a journey to 1980s Japan, where she was sent as a child to reconnect to her family’s roots.


Staff Pick Badge
Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316493796
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 30th, 2021

"Complex and raw, this book challenged me in the best way and showed me a new perspective on racial injustice. Perfect for kids not quite ready for The Hate U Give." —Ivy


Hurricane Child (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338129311
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - October 1st, 2019

Prepare to be swept up by this exquisite novel that reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.


Slider Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781536204322
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 23rd, 2019

"This novel is laugh-out-loud funny and genuinely sweet. Though the premise of scarfing down pizzas seems silly, this is ultimately a meaningful book with insight into having a sibling with special needs and the general ups and downs that come with being a teenager..." —School Library Journal (starred review)
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
The House of the Scorpion Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781665918589
Availability: Not Yet Published - Available for Pre-Order; Please See Publication Date Below Before Ordering
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 7th, 2022

Matt Alacrán wasn’t born. He was harvested. His DNA came from El Patrón, the drug-lord ruler of the country of Opium. Most people hate and fear clones like Matt—except for El Patrón. El Patrón loves Matt as he loves himself, because Matt is himself.


The House of the Scorpion Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780689852237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2004

Spindlefish and Stars Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316496032
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2021

This spellbinding fantasy about a girl from the shadows and a boy from the sea is perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Book of Boy.


The Barren Grounds: The Misewa Saga, Book One Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780735266124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Canada - August 31st, 2021

"David A. Robertson has written such a fine, beautiful novel. He manages to combine hard truths about our history with a Narnia-like fantasy, sweeping us into the world of the story while opening our hearts as well." —Susin Nielsen, author of We Are All Made of Molecules and No Fixed Address


Explorer (The Mystery Boxes #1) Cover Image
By Kazu Kibuishi (Editor)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419700095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - March 1st, 2012

Funny, fantastic, spooky, and suspenseful—Seven clever stories answer one simple question: what’s in the box?


The Woman in the Woods and Other North American Stories Cover Image
By Kate Ashwin (Editor), Kel McDonald (Editor), Alina Pete (Editor)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820977
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iron Circus Comics - April 5th, 2022

Loup Garrou, trickster rabbits, and spirits with names that can't be spoken -- the plains and forests of North America are alive with characters like these, all waiting to meet you in this collection of folklore retold in comics.


The Fifth Quarter Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250244185
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - May 25th, 2021

"The relatable story line has an uplifting message and a Raina Telgemeier–esque vibe, which will appeal even to readers who aren’t very sporty." —School Library Journal