User menu

Shopping cart



Summer Reading Program Grades 5-6

Below are the books for grades 5–6 that are part of our English Summer Reading Program in 2022. Pick up a bookmark at Bookshop Santa Cruz, add one to your cart (below), or download one to print (here) to keep track of the books as you read. 

Something to Say Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062836724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 4th, 2021

An unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.


This Is Just a Test Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338037739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 26th, 2019

A 12-year-old boy is caught in the middle of cultures, friends, and growing up Chinese Jewish American in this acclaimed, hilariously witty, and heartwarming coming-of-age story.


The Million Dollar Race Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534420281
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - April 19th, 2022

Quick-paced, heartfelt, and zany novel follows a speedy kid from an unconventional family who will do whatever it takes to win an international track contest.


Me and White Supremacy: Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781728261287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - February 1st, 2022

The young readers edition aims to teach readers how to explore and understand racism and white supremacy through a variety of topics—white privilege, white fragility, racist stereotypes, and more.


The Last Fallen Star (A Gifted Clans Novel) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368061278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - April 26th, 2022

"Exploring familial bonds, belonging, and community, this is a fast-paced urban fantasy drawing on Korean mythology. Complications and twists keep the plot engaging and snappy. A fun, new magical world that promises more adventures to come."—Kirkus Reviews


Thornwood (Sisters Ever After #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593178867
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - April 12th, 2022

Sleeping Beauty like you've never seen it before, about a girl who lives in the shadow of her older sister and the curse that has haunted her from birth.
 


Middle School Misadventures Cover Image
By Jason Platt (By (artist))
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316416887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2019

In this fun and imaginative full-color graphic novel, Jason Platt sends a fast-talking, daydreaming, middle school kid on a desperate quest to pull off a great show and save his summer.


Rabbit Chase Cover Image
By Elizabeth Lapensee, Kc Oster (Illustrator), Aarin Dokum (Translator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781773216195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Annick Press - April 5th, 2022

A story of self-discovery, community, and finding one's place in the world—in this coming-of-age graphic novel that explores Indigenous and gender issues through a fresh yet familiar looking glass.


Anne of West Philly: A Modern Graphic Retelling of Anne of Green Gables (Classic Graphic Remix) Cover Image
By Ivy Noelle Weir, Myisha Haynes (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316459778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

Anne of Green Gables with a twist—Anne Shirley moves to modern-day West Philadelphia, where where she finds new friends, new rivals, and a new family.