User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

2020 Summer Reading Program: Grades K-2


Below are the books for grades K-2 that are part of our our Summer Reading Program in 2020. Be sure to add the free bookmark below to your cart (or download one here) to check them off as you read. Learn more about our Summer Reading Program here.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Bird & Squirrel On the Run (Bird & Squirrel #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780545312837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 1st, 2012

Squirrel is a planner, Bird is not. Squirrel is fearful, Bird is fearless. When Bird is being chased by a cat, Squirrel helps to rescue him despite not particularly liking Bird. The unlikely duo team up to evade being eaten and in the process find themselves in more peril than they could imagine. I loved how they solved their problems in surprising ways each step of their dangerous adventure. This fun graphic novel with themes of teamwork and overcoming fears is great for early readers! —Ivy


Jabari Jumps Cover Image
By Gaia Cornwall, Gaia Cornwall (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781536202908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 7th, 2020

Working up the courage to do something scary is hard. Jabari goes to the pool with his dad and little sister with the intention of jumping off the diving board for the first time. With his toes curled around the rough edge of the board, he gets ready to jump. Will he do it? A perfect summer read and a great story for the child building the courage to try something new. —Noreen


Staff Pick Badge
Jasmine Green Rescues: A Piglet Called Truffle Cover Image
By Helen Peters, Ellie Snowdon (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781536214598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - March 17th, 2020

The ever-observant Jasmine Green springs into action whenever she finds an animal in need and with a veterinarian mom and farmer dad, you might say she is extra keen to learn the family business. In this first book of the series, Jasmine’s rescue mission focuses on a newly born piglet, so small that it isn’t even counted by the neighbor pig farmer—but wait, Jasmine isn’t the only one doing the rescuing in this story! Punctuated with sweet pencil drawings on almost every page, this early chapter book also has a map at the beginning that shows the lay of the land and hints at the other rescue missions to follow. Fans of Zoey & Sassafras will love reading about how Jasmine tackles each challenge.—Michelle


Staff Pick Badge
Mia Mayhem Is a Superhero! Cover Image
By Kara West, Leeza Hernandez (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781534432697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - December 18th, 2018

Mia is constantly causing mayhem and chaos, whether it is breaking a soccer goal post, or flooding the hallway at school it seems she is always causing trouble. Until one day she receives a letter in the mail inviting her to attend a school for superheroes. Learning that she and both her parents have super powers certainly changes her after school activities! This fun and fast-paced early reader is sure to enthrall all who love superheroes or long to be one. —Kathy


Staff Pick Badge
The Mr. Wolf's Class (Mr. Wolf's Class #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338047684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - June 26th, 2018

Written and illustrated by elementary teacher and cartoonist, Aron Nels Steinke, this upbeat, observant, and enjoyable graphic novel series for early readers follows the adventures of the new fourth grade teacher, Mr. Wolf, and his vibrant, hilarious students. There's Margot, who’s new to town town, Abdi, whose lunch is stolen by rats, and Penny, who goes missing. The first day of school at Hazelwood Elementary is brought to life with relatable ups and downs and promises more adventures to come. Fans of school stories and graphic novels are going to love being in Mr. Wolf's class. —Azia


Staff Pick Badge
The Way Home (Owly #1) Cover Image
By Andy Runton, Andy Runton (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781338300659
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - February 4th, 2020

In this first installment of a new graphic novel series, we meet kindhearted Owly and follow along in his quest to make a friend, despite the dreadful reputation of owls among the forest creatures. Thanks to author and illustrator Runton, Owly’s super-expressive eyes and image-enhanced thought bubbles give beginning readers many different ways to puzzle out these two stories on the meaning of home. Fans of Narwhal & Jelly, here’s your next series! —Michelle


Staff Pick Badge
Danger in Ancient Rome (Ranger in Time #2) Cover Image
By Kate Messner, Kelley McMorris (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780545639170
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 30th, 2015

Time-traveling golden retriever Ranger is both heroic and hilariously dog-ish. He failed rescue school because of his penchant to be distracted by squirrels, but still wins at helping people: his magical first aid kit allows him to time travel and rescue those in need. In Ancient Rome, enslaved youngster Marcius (??) wants to become a gladiator. It’s up to Ranger to help free him from slavery and live his dream. The quality of the research behind the stories shines through: words and definitions for elements of gladiator and Ancient Roman life are weaved into the story naturally (a glossary is also provided) and help create a vibrant setting. This one’s a great choice for fans of the Magic Treehouse series! —Stephanie


Staff Pick Badge
The Ugly Vegetables Cover Image
By Grace Lin, Grace Lin (Illustrator)
$7.95
ISBN: 9781570914911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - July 1st, 2001

The narrator of this charming picture book spends a lot of time comparing her mother’s garden of Chinese vegetables to their neighbors’ gardens full of flowers. But once the vegetables have grown her mother makes a delicious soup that everyone loves, helping her daughter to see the value in their garden, even if it looks different than their neighbors’ flowers. Includes a recipe at the end! Perfect for ages 5-7.—MJ