User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

2020 Summer Reading Program: Grades 5-6

Below are the books for grades 5-6 that are part of our our Summer Reading Program in 2020. Be sure to add the free bookmark below to your cart (or download one here) to check them off as you read. Learn more about our Summer Reading Program here.

Apocalypse Taco Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419739132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 12th, 2020

Eleven-year old twins Ivan and Axle, and 16-year old Sid, volunteer to make a late night fast food run for their theater troupe. There's not a lot open at 1:40am but Taco Bear sounds way better than burgers, that is, until the tacos start moving and everything gets strange. The drive-through is actually an alien dimension threatening to "copy" and destroy humanity. In this eerie and humorous tale of science gone awry, it's up to three hungry kids and a couple of monsters to escape and save humanity all before tomorrow's dress rehearsal. Hazardous Reader's and "Stranger Things" fan's are sure to find this graphic novel satisfying! —Azia


Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Boy Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062686213
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 5th, 2020

Boy has a hump that must never be revealed and makes him a monster in other's eyes. Secundus is on a quest to reunite himself with his family. Together, they find a fellowship as they travel through the plague ravished lands of France and Italy. I read this book in one sitting and spent hours after thinking about it. Highly recommended for kids looking for something fantastical to read after the likes of Percy Jackson and Grace Lin. —Ivy


Staff Pick Badge
Ghost Boys Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316262262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

When 12-year old Jerome dies he becomes a Ghost Boy and soon realizes he isn't the only one. He meets the ghosts of other murdered Black boys including historical figure Emmet Till, who acts as a mentor to Jerome. Then Jerome meets Sarah. Sarah is the only living person who can see him— and also the daughter of the police officer that killed him. I once discussed this book with a group of middle school boys and the impact the book had on them, and the research and activism it inspired in them, was incredible to see. This is a perfect book for those who are interested in contemporary racial justice issues but a bit young for The Hate U Give. A challenging and worthwhile read. —Stephanie


Staff Pick Badge
Harbor Me Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525515142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - April 21st, 2020

When Ms. Laverne tells her six middle-grade students to “...take your books. You won’t be coming back here today,” teacher and kids alike take a brave leap into an experimental learning experience called ARTT (A Room to Talk). At 2 pm every Friday, these six kids meet in an old art classroom to tell their own stories in their own time to only each other. We readers are privileged to listen in and follow along with their truths and triumphs during a full school year of ARTT, where six separate stories become one. Don’t miss this gem by former National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson. —Michelle


Staff Pick Badge
Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women Cover Image
By Rey Terciero, Bre Indigo (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316522885
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

This modern retelling of Little Women is chock-full of adorable illustrations detailing the ups and down of both sister and family bonds. The story is told from their very different perspectives, using not only the graphic novel format but also emails and diary entries to give a more detailed look at what the sisters are experiencing. Perfect for current and future Little Women fans! —MJ


Staff Pick Badge
To Night Owl From Dogfish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525553243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - April 28th, 2020

As anyone familiar with The Parent Trap will tell you, two very different girls from opposite ends of the country brought together at summer camp for some sisterly bonding is a recipe for hijinks. A modern update on an old formula, this funny, fast-paced adventure becomes a sweet, poignant tale about friendship and family. —Katherine


Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534431454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - September 3rd, 2019

Moth Hush loves fun witchy stuff. So she’s delighted to discover she’s a real-life witch from a line of powerful witches. But being a witch isn’t all fun and games. The historical bits add gravitas to this tale, making it one full of humor (Mr. Laszlo, Moth’s familiar, is one quippy cat) and heart. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jameison are sure to love this story about families, identity, and finding a place where you belong. —Stephanie


Staff Pick Badge
Sal and Gabi Break the Universe (A Sal and Gabi Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368023627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - May 5th, 2020

Be warned—I cannot describe how awesome this book is! At a Miami arts school new kid, Sal Vidón, and class president, Gabi Reál, clash and collaborate with intelligence, mischief, science, showmanship, sleight of hand, and delicious Cuban food—all amidst dealing with robots, alternate realities, bullying, chronic health issues, and grief. At its heart, this book is about being a unique kid, and exploring the limits of love, friendship, and yourself. Do yourself a favor and strap in. —Jocelyn


Staff Pick Badge
This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

This magical visual feast is a delight. Combining the whimsical, beautiful, and bizarre it evokes Studio Ghibli films with its dapper fisherbear, lanterns that transform into flying fish, mysterious paths, and magical cartographer crows. Ben and Nathaniel both felt so real, and Ben’s struggle to do what is right, despite potential social consequences, really rang true. Do yourself a favor and join them on their magical adventure! —Stephanie


Staff Pick Badge
The Unicorn Quest Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781681199832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 19th, 2019

When two sisters move to Windermere Manor, the house of their missing Great Aunt, they discover a magical world by climbing a ladder inside a chimney. But when one sister visits the world alone, it’s up to the other to save her — and the last unicorn! This suspenseful adventure will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. This is perfect for fans of CS Lewis and stories of strong sibling bonds with a little magic sprinkled into the mix.—Kathy