User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Hardback Fiction from our 2019 Summer Newsletter

These titles were featured in our 2019 Summer Newsletter.

Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips

Julia Phillips is an author to watch. She beautifully transports us to a region of the world, the Kamchatka Peninsula in Northern Russia, that I had never heard of and now can’t stop thinking about. The stories of the women there—their family dynamics, their hopes and fears, the economic and cultural divide of various communities—are not only about this place but ultimately about the universal struggle women have in determining how to live with the expectations placed on them as women. A remarkable debut. - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Disappearing Earth: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520412
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

Normal People by Sally Rooney

Switching between the two halves of a longtime on-again, off-again romance, Rooney offers us an intimate study of her two well-drawn protagonists. Totally absorbing, this powerful book is perfect for traveling or a quiet afternoon at home. You will be fully transported into Rooney’s masterful novel, which explores the dynamics and complexities of relationships. - Emma

Staff Pick Badge
Normal People: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781984822178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - April 16th, 2019

Machines Like Me by Ian McEwan

Set in an alternative 1980s London in which extremely humanlike robots are available for purchase, this is the tale of Charlie, his love interest Miranda, and his robot-slash-friend Adam. As usual, McEwan’s writing is fantastic—smart, wry, and filled with a creeping menace that keeps you turning the pages in a rush. He tells the story with so many observant and insightful details, his “alternative” world feels like real life—and might actually be real life in the not-very-distant future. The book’s blend of the fantastical, the real, and the just plain weird is perfect for hardcore sci-fi fans as well as readers of literary fiction. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Machines Like Me: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - April 23rd, 2019

The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters by Balli Kaur Jaswal

I will read anything and everything that Jaswal (Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows) writes. This fantastically written book about three sisters on a journey arranged by their recently deceased mother charmed me. Within a story of sisterhood and family, Jaswal explores an immigrant experience as well as the complexities women go through in different ways. Sisterhood isn’t always about getting along and having everything in common, and Jaswal dives into that in this novel. I will be thinking about the Shergill sisters for a while, finding new things to love about them. - Karena 

Staff Pick Badge
The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062645142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - April 30th, 2019

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

Ocean Vuong’s gorgeous debut expands our notion of the Great American Novel, speaking to our shared experience through exquisite lyricism, unforgettable story, and the voice of the narrator Little Dog, who attempts to write the letter of their life to his mother, even as she is unable to read it. In telling their story, a bigger picture is revealed, one of war, survival, identity, sexuality, and addiction, all through the eyes of raw, bursting youth. The result is fierce, loving, and resplendent. - Melinda

Don’t miss our event with Ocean Vuong on June 17th.

Staff Pick Badge
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780525562023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2019

Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane

Two Irish families, living side by side in suburban New York, are tied by the similarities of their path into the neighborhood and by a tragic event of a single night that reverberates across multiple generations for decades. Mary Beth Keane paints a subtle portrait of families dealing with mental health issues and long-held secrets, and the desire for connection across those divides. The result is a deeply felt and immersive novel, one that ties you not only to the characters but ultimately to their lessons for life. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett and Celeste Ng and one of my favorite reads this year. - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Ask Again, Yes: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982106980
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 28th, 2019

The Travelers by Regina Porter

Regina Porter’s novel moves through time and characters with such agility and craft that it’s deliciously hard to believe it’s a debut. Playful in form and inspiration, at its center is the compelling narrative of two interweaving families, from the 1950s to the first year of Obama’s presidency, whose story also tells the greater American experience with an exacting, compassionate touch. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
The Travelers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525576198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - June 18th, 2019

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo

This is a delightful, moving read for fans of Ann Patchett, Celeste Ng, or Alice McDermott. As the story weaves in and out of a narrative that covers 40 years, the reader gets an intimate view of a Chicago couple and their four daughters and of what happens when a family secret resurfaces. There is such realness in each character that it is impossible not to find yourself simultaneously exasperated and in love with each family member. The novel explores the complex ties of parenting and sisterhood, and how love can be a weight as well as salvation. This is a wonderful, amazing debut. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

Spring by Ali Smith

The third book in her Seasonal Quartet, Spring is full of all the surrealism, gender play, oddball love, and clever puns admirers of Ali Smith have come to expect from her work. Anyone who is desperate for hope in an increasingly hopeless world will find a tonic in Smith’s work; the seeds she planted in Autumn and Winter start to sprout in Spring, as sunlight slowly begins to edge out the night. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Spring: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101870778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - April 30th, 2019

The Guest Book by Sarah Blake

Reading this book put flesh and bones and heart and layers to this merry-go-round of world issues and the people who are along for the ride. Sarah Blake has brought together history and story in a way that made me love people who were easy to hate and question traditions that seemed lovely. We see the lives of three generations of one family unfold and grow in their time, in their surroundings, and in the changing world around them. World War I, the Great Depression, World War II, the ‘60s and ‘70s—what can one family maintain and what does it cost them? What do we all try to maintain and why? - Jenny

Staff Pick Badge
The Guest Book: A Novel Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9781250110251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 7th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Hardback Fiction from our 2019 Summer Newsletter