User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

2018 Children's Literature Award Winners

The American Library Association announces:


Newbery Medal

Hello, Universe, written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Newbery Honor Books

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, written by Derrick Barnes, illustrated by Gordon C. James Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds and published by Atheneum
Piecing Me Together, written by Renée Watson



Caldecott Medal

Wolf in the Snow, illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell

Caldecott Honor Books

Big Cat, little cat, illustrated and written by Elisha Cooper
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes
A Different Pond, illustrated by Thi Bui, written by Bao Phi
Grand Canyon, illustrated and written by Jason Chin



Coretta Scott King Author Book Award

Piecing Me Together, written by Renée Watson

King Author Honor Books

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, written by Derrick Barnes

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas





Coretta Scott King Illustrator Book Award

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets, illustrated by Ekua Holmes

King Illustrator Honor Books

Crown: An Ode to a Fresh Cut, illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes

Before She Was Harriet: The Story of Harriet Tubman, illustrated by James E. Ransome, written by Lesa Cline-Ransome



Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

The Stars Beneath Our Feet, written by David Barclay Moore







Coretta Scott King– Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

Eloise Greenfield is the winner of the Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.





Michael L. Printz Award

We Are Okay, written by Nina LaCour

Printz Honor Books

The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

Strange the Dreamer, written by Laini Taylor

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers, written by Deborah Heiligman




2018 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Debbie Reese will deliver the 2018 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture.








Batchelder Award

The Murderer’s Ape, written and illustrated by Jakob Wegelius, translated from Swedish by Peter Graves

Batchelder Honor Books

Malala: Activist for Girls’ Education, written by Raphaële Frier, illustrated by Aurélia Fronty and translated from French by Julie Cormier

When a Wolf is Hungry, written by Christine Naumann-Villemin, illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo and translated from French by Eerdmans Books for Young Readers

You Can’t Be Too Careful!, written and illustrated by Roger Mello, and translated from Portuguese by Daniel Hahn.



Belpre Author Award

Lucky Broken Girl, written by Ruth Behar

Belpré Author Honor Books

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, written by Pablo Cartaya

The First Rule of Punk, written by Celia C. Pérez 





Belpre Illustrator Award

La Princesa and the Pea, illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal

Belpré Illustrator Honor Books

All Around Us, illustrated by Adriana M. Garcia, written by Xelena González
Frida Kahlo and Her Animalitos, illustrated by John Parra, written by Monica Brown


Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Jacqueline Woodson







Margaret A. Edwards Award

Angela Johnson










Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award

Twelve Days in May: Freedom Ride 1961, written by Larry Dane Brimner

Sibert Honor Books

Chef Roy Choi and the Street Food Remix, written by Jacqueline Briggs Martin and June Jo Lee, illustrated by Man One

Grand Canyon, written and illustrated by Jason Chin
Not So Different: What You Really Want to Ask about Having a Disability, written by Shane Burcaw, illustrated by Matt Carr
Sea Otter Heroes: The Predators That Saved an Ecosystem, written by Patricia Newman


Theodore Seuss Geisel Award

Charlie & Mouse, written by Laurel Snyder and illustrated by Emily Hughes

Geisel Honor Books

I See a Cat, written and illustrated by Paul Meisel
King & Kayla and the Case of the Missing Dog Treats, written by Dori Hillestad Butler, illustrated by Nancy Meyers
My Kite Is Stuck! And Other Stories, written and illustrated by Salina Yoon
Noodleheads See the Future, written by Tedd Arnold, Martha Hamilton and Mitch Weiss, illustrated by Tedd Arnold
Snail & Worm Again, written and illustrated by Tina Kügler



Odyssey Award

The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas and narrated by Bahni Turpin.

Odyssey Honor Recording

The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage, written by Philip Pullman and narrated by Michael Sheen

A Boy Called Christmas, written by Matt Haig and narrated by Stephen Fry
Long Way Down, written and narrated by Jason Reynolds

Trombone Shorty, written by Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews and narrated by Dion Graham

The Wizards of Once, written by Cressida Cowell and narrated by David Tennant.  


Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award


Little & Lion, written by Brandy Colbert

Young Adult

The 57 Bus, written by Dashka Slater

Stonewall Honor Books

As the Crow Flies, written and illustrated by Melanie Gillman

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, written by Mackenzi Lee


Schneider Family Book Award

Age 0 - 10

Silent Days, Silent Dreams, written and illustrated by Allen Say

Middle School

Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess, written by Shari Green


You’re Welcome, Universe, written and illustrated by Whitney Gardner




William C. Morris Award

The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas

Morris Finalist Books

Dear Martin, written by Nic Stone

Devils Within, written by S. F. Henson

Saints and Misfits, written by S. K. Ali

Starfish, written by Akemi Dawn Bowman



YALSA Award 

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers, written by Deborah Heiligman

YALSA Finalist Books

#NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women, edited by Mary Beth Leatherdale and Lisa Charleyboy

Eyes of the World: Robert Capa, Gerda Taro, and the Invention of Modern Photojournalism, written by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos

The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives, written by Dashka Slater

The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found, written by Martin W. Sandler


Alex Awards

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells, a Book,
The Clockwork Dynasty, by Daniel H. Wilson
Down Among the Sticks and Bones, by Seanan McGuire
Electric Arches, by Eve L. Ewing, published by Haymarket Books
A Hope More Powerful Than the Sea, by Melissa Fleming
Malagash, by Joey Comeau
Roughneck, by Jeff Lemire
She Rides Shotgun, by Jordan Harper, published by Ecco
Things We Have in Common, by Tasha Kavanagh
An Unkindness of Magicians, by Kat Howard