Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry by Rosalie K. Fry

This blend of historical fiction and selkie mythology packs a punch even greater than its cinematic adaptation, John Sayles’s film The Secret of Roan Inish. Young Fiona McConville has returned to the small cluster of Scottish islands to stay with her grandparents. When she sees Jamie—her younger brother who was lost at sea years before—alive and running about the abandoned island of Ron Mor, she is determined to reconnect with him. In language both poetic and practical, Fry captures the mystery and magic of the sea and the voice of the Scottish fishing families who call it home. Perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables or Sarah, Plain and Tall. Ages 8–11. - Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry Cover Image
By Rosalie K. Fry, Rosalie K. Fry (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781681371665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review of Books - October 24th, 2017


Other Services:


All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060