Science Fiction/Fantasy

Inspired by the original pulp comics of the 1940s, and a dedication to the real animals of our world, the legendary Margaret Atwood draws on a life-long love of the graphic medium for ANGEL CATBIRD!  A new superhero in a world of science, secretly populated by half-human-half animals, threatened by a diabolical plan to take over the world. Absolute fun with just a touch of fur and feathers—they don’t make ‘em like this anymore.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Angel Catbird, Volume 1 Cover Image
By Margaret Atwood, Margaret Atwood (Created by), Johnnie Christmas (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781506700632
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dark Horse Books - September 6th, 2016

This charming adventure features a young American medium working during the Great War as part of a spiritualist effort to support the British military, and is full of brave deeds, creative magic, and tragic love. This fantasy is truly made remarkable by Kowal’s ability to describe a world extending beyond what our eyes can see; her writing gives vivid life to auras, spirits, and mystical forces. A unique premise and excellent supporting characters make this a sure-to-please fantasy.  —Nici

Staff Pick Logo
Ghost Talkers Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780765378255
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Tor Books - August 16th, 2016

A proud, interplanetary empire stands on the brink of destruction, war and intrigue tearing it apart. A Princess missing years ago is the last hope...or a gunrunner facing mutiny and betrayal, who does not want to go home. The fast-paced story kept me hooked, action balanced with memorable characters unraveling a deep-seated plot for the throne. If you need to escape to the stars—or to a seedy back alley—this is the book.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Behind the Throne (Indranan War #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316308601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 2nd, 2016

This book hits so many things I’ve been pining for lately! There are assassins who worship a mysterious goddess of death, plus a rich history and fantastic world building, all wrapped in luscious writing that’s a treat to read. Did I mention the anti-heroine who is wonderfully complex and surprisingly hard to forget, and her talking “cat” made of shadows? A perfect fit for fans of Scott Lynch or Patrick Rothfuss.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Nevernight (Nevernight Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250073020
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - August 9th, 2016

It’s hard to grow up when most people want to eat your brains, as this rag-tag group discovers as they try to survive the apocalypse and each other. I’m pretty obsessed with zombies, so I am super excited for this book, a mash-up of Zombieland and Station Eleven. Humor, action, brains and the Nerdist stamp of approval makes this the must-have out of the zombie hoard.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Welcome to Deadland Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781941758854
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nerdist - August 9th, 2016

This is a fascinating, in-depth, well-written examination of the world's largest franchise. Chris Taylor balances a chronological recounting of the development of the Star Wars movies and universe with stories of current-day fandom and culture. Illuminating facts & anecdotes vie with inspirational stories to keep you hooked – and proud to be a Star Wars fan. —Jocelyn
Staff Pick Logo
How Star Wars Conquered the Universe: The Past, Present, and Future of a Multibillion Dollar Franchise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780465049899
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - October 6th, 2015

It is a rare storyteller who can make a new tale seem familiar. Naomi Novik deftly accomplishes this feat in Uprooted. Agnieszka is a compelling, stubborn protagonist and the exacting “Dragon” is her perfect foil. The premise is precise and well crafted, combining Russian folktales with a classic European fairytale. It felt like coming home to the fantasy roots of my youth. —Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Uprooted (Temeraire) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780804179058
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - March 1st, 2016

For all of you who’ve just torn through Neil Gaiman’s new collection of non-fiction, The View from the Cheap Seats, there’s no better time to revisit some of his earliest short fictions. Whether these stories push you to wonder about the imagination’s role in reality, or if the introduction inspires you to put fingers to keys, you’ll be glad you returned to its pages, whether it was your first time or your twenty-third. —Aric
Staff Pick Logo
Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders (P.S.) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061252020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 2nd, 2007

The story starts with a girl in a bloody dress walking down a dark highway and only gets stranger from there. The girl, after being orphaned at a young age, was taken in by a mysterious figure known only as Father. He trains her to become a Librarian of Languages in his odd library. This book takes all the elements of a fantasy novel and turns them on their head. Wherever you think this story is going, you're wrong. —Ivy
Staff Pick Logo
The Library at Mount Char Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553418620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - March 15th, 2016

A wholly original, rich science fiction folktale steeped in the language and legends of the Caribbean. Tan-tan is a little girl lost, looking for the way home. Also, it so happens, she is the Robber Queen with a heart of gold, saving two lives for each one she takes. Her story will take you through new worlds delightful in speculative invention, yet familiar in the people and prejudices inhabiting them. —Jocelyn
Staff Pick Logo
Midnight Robber Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780446675604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 1st, 2000

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060