Mystery

If you like your mysteries gritty, a bit terrifying, and very well written, then look no further than Bookshop favorite Stuart Neville (Collusion, The Ghosts of Belfast). His latest Jack Lennon investigation features the detective and a gutsy new heroine who is caught up in the dark world of human trafficking. This streamlined thriller is gripping and full of nonstop action.

Stolen Souls Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781569479834
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Soho Crime - October 4th, 2011

This fourth installment in Atkinson’s stellar mystery series starring Jackson Brodie is every bit as good as the previous ones. When Brodie and retired officer Tracy Waterhouse find themselves with unexpected, rescued charges, they find that there are startling repercussions for their good deeds. As with her earlier novels, the best parts of this book are the depth of the emotional and psychological lives of her characters, the intricate plot, and the sharp, dark wit.

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
Started Early, Took My Dog Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316066747
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - October 6th, 2011

I love love loved this book, and I think you will, too. It’s epic in scale with a whole cadre of characters to love and hate, and Follet weaves them together into an addictive story. Like Pillars of the Earth or World Without End, you feel immersed in history—yet drawn in to the intimate details of the characters lives. By balancing five families from all sides of the Great War, Follet paints a complex picture of the beginning of the Twentieth Century.

Reviewed by: 
Nici
Fall of Giants Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780451232571
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New American Library - August 30th, 2011

I get cranky if I go too long without a Mary Russell fix. God of the Hive was published a scant year and a half ago, but it feels like much longer since I've checked in with my favorite detectives, Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes. In Pirate King we are taken to Lisbon, where a mystery involving silent films and Gilbert and Sullivan awaits. King's dexterous plotting skills are hard at work in this novel, and surprises are in store. I can't wait!

Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Logo
Pirate King: A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780553807981
Availability: Special Order
Published: Bantam - September 6th, 2011

“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Denmark’s Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson, but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction.” —Library Journal 

The Keeper of Lost Causes Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525952480
Availability: Special Order
Published: Dutton Adult - August 23rd, 2011

Smart, sassy Brett is a talented tattoo artist with her own high-end parlor on the Vegas strip, and a knack for finding trouble. When her cop brother requests her expertise, she and a handful of colorful cohorts find themselves wrapped up in murder. Short and sweet chapters always end in a cliff hanger, making for a fast, fun read you don’t want to put down.  

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
The Missing Ink Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451227461
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Obsidian Mysteries - July 7th, 2009

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060