Mystery

Starting with a phone call that leads to a child, drugged but alive in a suitcase, this Danish mystery is a perfect blend of Tanya French and Stieg Larsson—as psychologically driven as it is plot driven—a page turner so riveting that you may want to gear up if you plan to sit within arm’s length to this book’s reader.

Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
The Boy in the Suitcase (Nina Borg #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781569479810
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Soho Crime - November 8th, 2011

The main character of this novel, private investigator Claire DeWitt, reminds me a bit of Sherlock Holmes – she has addictions, and isn't very friendly most of the time – but with a New Age twist (imagine Holmes using the I Ching to find clues, if you can). The story is set in New Orleans six months after Katrina, a time and place that is viscerally well realized.

Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Logo
Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780547428499
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) - June 2nd, 2011

There are a great many writers out there who are obsessed with Sherlock Holmes, and who can blame them? In this new anthology, writers such as Neil Gaiman, Lee Child, and Jacqueline Winspear share their own take on the greatest detective in the world. The stories are far-reaching and creative, including a modern-day take on Baker Street, and an alternative history that involves President McKinley. You don’t want to miss this stellar lineup of devoted writers. —Kat

Staff Pick Logo
A Study in Sherlock: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon Cover Image
By Laurie R. King (Editor), Leslie S. Klinger (Editor), Lee Child (Contribution by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812982466
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - October 25th, 2011

Sue Grafton is nearing the end of her “Alphabet” mystery series that feature California private eye Kinsey Millhone, and already we’re becoming nostalgic. Still, we can’t wait to gobble up V is for Vengeance, the 22nd book in the series. A spiderweb of dangerous relationships is at the heart of this tale, in which Kinsey receives a punch in the face for her 38th birthday. V: Victim. Violence. Vengeance.

V Is for Vengeance: A Kinsey Millhone Novel (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries) Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780399157868
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Marian Wood Books/Putnam - November 14th, 2011

If you like your mysteries gritty, a bit terrifying, and very well written, then look no further than Bookshop favorite Stuart Neville (Collusion, The Ghosts of Belfast). His latest Jack Lennon investigation features the detective and a gutsy new heroine who is caught up in the dark world of human trafficking. This streamlined thriller is gripping and full of nonstop action.

Stolen Souls Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781569479834
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Soho Crime - October 4th, 2011

This fourth installment in Atkinson’s stellar mystery series starring Jackson Brodie is every bit as good as the previous ones. When Brodie and retired officer Tracy Waterhouse find themselves with unexpected, rescued charges, they find that there are startling repercussions for their good deeds. As with her earlier novels, the best parts of this book are the depth of the emotional and psychological lives of her characters, the intricate plot, and the sharp, dark wit.

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
Started Early, Took My Dog Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316066747
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reagan Arthur Books - October 6th, 2011

I love love loved this book, and I think you will, too. It’s epic in scale with a whole cadre of characters to love and hate, and Follet weaves them together into an addictive story. Like Pillars of the Earth or World Without End, you feel immersed in history—yet drawn in to the intimate details of the characters lives. By balancing five families from all sides of the Great War, Follet paints a complex picture of the beginning of the Twentieth Century.

Reviewed by: 
Nici
Fall of Giants (Century Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780451232571
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - August 30th, 2011

I get cranky if I go too long without a Mary Russell fix. God of the Hive was published a scant year and a half ago, but it feels like much longer since I've checked in with my favorite detectives, Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes. In Pirate King we are taken to Lisbon, where a mystery involving silent films and Gilbert and Sullivan awaits. King's dexterous plotting skills are hard at work in this novel, and surprises are in store. I can't wait!

Reviewed by: 
Kat
Staff Pick Logo
Pirate King: A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780553807981
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Bantam - September 6th, 2011

“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Denmark’s Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson, but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction.” —Library Journal 

The Keeper of Lost Causes Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525952480
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Dutton Adult - August 23rd, 2011

Smart, sassy Brett is a talented tattoo artist with her own high-end parlor on the Vegas strip, and a knack for finding trouble. When her cop brother requests her expertise, she and a handful of colorful cohorts find themselves wrapped up in murder. Short and sweet chapters always end in a cliff hanger, making for a fast, fun read you don’t want to put down.  

Reviewed by: 
Flannery
The Missing Ink (Tattoo Shop Mystery) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451227461
Availability: Backordered
Published: Obsidian Mysteries - July 7th, 2009

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060