Tera's Reviews

Funny, sarcastic, and real, Lucy is a heroine who is just trying to make it out of adolescence with her self-respect intact. This gem from an Asian-Australian writer penetrates deeply into how we try to leave our old selves behind for something shiny and new—and how that never works out. A standout like Eleanor & Park and I’ll Give You the Sun, this is by far my favorite young adult book of the year. Read this book! Ages 13 & up.                                                   —TERA

Staff Pick Logo
Lucy and Linh Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399550485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2016

All three books in Congressman John Lewis’ epic graphic novel biography series have received massive acclaim. Compulsively readable and powerfully told, March: Book Three takes graphic novel literature to a new level, while also teaching with visceral impact about the civil rights movement. This final book in the trilogy takes on the tumultuous years before the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965. Great literature that digs deep into justice, nonviolence, and courage. Ages 12 & up.        —TERA

Staff Pick Logo
March: Book Three Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 2nd, 2016

Even better than Scorpion Rules, the first book in the series, The Swan Riders is gripping from beginning to end, with a fast, tight plot that keeps you wanting more. But what makes it unique among young adult science fiction novels is the relationship between Greta, royal heir of the Pan Polar Confederacy, and Talis, the AI who controls the fate of the world in his spider’s web. When one of his incarnations breaks away from the central mastermind, he starts to experience what enforced peace, free will, and emotional attachment mean on the human level. Even an AI can have doubts in this utterly fascinating dystopian novel. Ages 13 & up.  —TERA

Staff Pick Logo
The Swan Riders Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481442749
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 20th, 2016

Luna was left in the woods as an infant by superstitious villagers. Xan, a witch, intends to take her for adoption to a nearby town but can’t seem to part with her. When she feeds her on the moon’s magic, Xan knows she’s created a big problem: Luna has magic, and too much of it. Meanwhile, something evil suppresses the hopes of the villagers, feeding on their despair. A delightful fantasy, featuring a kindly witch, a sage swamp monster, his buddy (a miniature dragon who imagines himself big), and an epic struggle to save the forest. For readers of Jinx, Real Boy, and Rick Riordan. Grades 5–8.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

The creator of Smile and Drama is back! Ghosts is an all-new graphic novel set in Bahía de la Luna (a blend of Half Moon Bay and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk) that features sisters Catrina (Cat) and Maya. As Cat’s family prepares to celebrate the Day of the Dead after moving to a new town, Cat dodges black cats, ghosts, and difficult truths she doesn’t want to face. Another crowd-pleaser from Raina Telgemeier, whom Bookshop will be hosting on the Day of the Dead, November 1st. (See page 43 for details.) Ages 9–13.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Ghosts Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780545540612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

For readers who loved The One and Only Ivan or The Thing About Jellyfish. Maybe a Fox had me in its grasp from the first few sentences and didn’t let go until the last word. Gripping, heartbreaking, and lovely, this small, sweet novel holds nothing back. Sighting a fox is known to be lucky (as is believed in Jules’ small town), but Jules has been nothing but unlucky in life. When a newborn fox is born at the same moment as a tragedy occurs, Jules stands in need of all the luck she can get, and maybe a special gift from an unusual and mysterious creature. Ages 10–13. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Maybe a Fox Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781442482425
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books - March 8th, 2016

The Secret Horses of Briar Hill is a shivery, magical treat that has one foot in the real world and one in moonlight and dreams. Emmaline has been a resident at Briar Hill Hospital for Tubercular Children for as long as she can remember. But only recently has she started hearing hooves on the ceiling and caught glimpses of a winged horse in the mirror. When she finds the horse staring at her pleadingly, Emmaline knows she has a choice to make. An utterly lovely masterpiece along the lines of The Secret Garden and Narnia. Grades 4–8. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Secret Horses of Briar Hill Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101939758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 11th, 2016

This big-hearted novel will send your empathy off the charts. Perry has lived at the Blue River Coed Correctional Facility with his mom for all of his 11 years. But what’s normal to Perry—a morning run, school, dinner with his mom, and an extended family of other prisoners—looks wrong to others, who can’t imagine a life on the “inside.” It’s up to Perry to convince everyone that only by listening to each other’s stories can we find the truth. Prepare for some heart-exploding, belly-laughing fun from Newbery Award winner Leslie Connor. Ages 9–12.  —Tera

 

Staff Pick Logo
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062333469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 2016

Probably the most heartfelt book about cowboys that will ever exist, this lovely paean to life on the range celebrates loyalty, endurance, diversity, and the occasional good cry. I fell in love with the ephemeral, soulful art of Jonathan Bean, and with the unexpected sincerity of Kate Hoefler’s mesmerizing, poetic text. This is fast becoming my favorite book of the year. Each time I read it, I fall harder. Ages 5–8. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Real Cowboys Cover Image
By Kate Hoefler, Jonathan Bean (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544148925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 4th, 2016

A young boy feels overwhelmed by his unusual name, which he shares with his boisterous, strong, and loving father. Thunder Boy Jr. is eager to find a name that’s truly his own, and it is eventually granted to him by his thoughtful father: Now he’s “Lightning.” “Together my dad and I will become amazing weather.” Written by the brilliant Sherman Alexie (in his first foray into picture books), this story is illustrated by the multi-award–winning artist Yuyi Morales. Her art sparkles and crashes and bursts with emotion, while the textures of her bold, multimedia collages are taken from the clay bricks and wood of a crumbling, antique house in Mexico, near where she has her studio. Ages 4 & up.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Thunder Boy Jr. Cover Image
By Sherman Alexie, Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316013727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060