Blair's Reviews

Blair began working at Bookshop Santa Cruz after working two years at the Del Mar Theatre and spending four years at UCSC studying media theory. She is interested in film and television, advertising, literature, and feminism. A few authors she enjoys reading are Haruki Murakam, Joan Didion, and Zadie Smith.

Words full of passion/
pictures cold yet bewitching/
read this in one gulp.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
Blue Is the Warmest Color Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781551525143
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - September 3rd, 2013

Wit to match the Brits/
all-American style/
Ms. Parker writes fire.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
The Portable Dorothy Parker Cover Image
By Dorothy Parker, Marion Meade (Introduction by), Seth (Illustrator)
$23.00
ISBN: 9780143039532
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - March 28th, 2006

Mrs. Robinson/
a scandalized SoCal town/
disaffection reigns.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
The Graduate Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780743456456
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - April 1st, 2002

Model's face burns off/
eighty screws can't fix her life/
but coming home might.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
Look at Me Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780385721356
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - October 8th, 2002

Race, class, sex and guilt/
a liberal college town/
Middlemarch re-vamped. 
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
On Beauty Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143037743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 1st, 2006

Rebecca Solnit’s writing is so effortlessly loose and lovely that she could make one want to read about almost any subject. This book, a meditation on the way stories can tangle together, offers up reflections on her mother’s Alzheimer’s disease, Iceland, and Frankenstein. But the real meaning can be found in the way Solnit gracefully connects all these seemingly disparate entities.

Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
The Faraway Nearby Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 29th, 2014

One can only guess as to how many talented women remain forever anonymous due to the cruel nature of history. Zelda Fitzgerald, at least, is not one of those women, though she is often overshadowed by her husband, F. Scott Fitzgerald. This novel gives a new voice to the witty, troubled writer who was so much more than her husband’s muse. Z is a fun reimagined romp through the literary world of the Jazz Age.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250028662
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 4th, 2014

Much is being written right now about the dangers and potential of media and technology, but this timeless collage of trippy images and quotes from famous media theorist Marshall McLuhan is really the definitive book on the subject. On top of that, it manages to do what so many professors fail at--making theory fun.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
The Medium Is the Massage Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781584230700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gingko Press - August 1st, 2001

Full of hilarious personal tales about bosses from hell, an embarrassing drawer full of toy ponies, and killing off middle school math teachers one by one on computer game The Oregon Trail, these essays are perfect reading material for fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Nora Ephron.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
I Was Told There'd Be Cake Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594483066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 1st, 2008

Joan Didion is anxious, neurotic, vague, and absolutely brilliant. These essays paint a perfect portrait of a country at the end of its innocence: post-1960s America. Reading it through the first time, I found myself wanting to underline every other sentence.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
Staff Pick Logo
The White Album Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374532079
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - November 10th, 2009

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060