Staff Nonfiction Favorites

Hornby would make a good bookseller. For the past ten years, he's been writing reviews for The Believer, wherein he recounts the books he's bought, the books he's read, and his thoughts on everything from writing to peregrine falcons. Warning: you will want to read all of the books he talks about. It may be wise to invest in a bookcase before diving into this smart, fabulous book.
Reviewed by: 
Kat
$26.00
ISBN: 9781938073731
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: McSweeney's Books - December 3rd, 2013
Janet Mock is an emerging voice for modern feminist politics. She, along with a handful of other notable advocates, has brought trans inclusion and womanist ideology to the forefront of the American consciousness. Her new memoir is a waterfall of emotion. It's told as if you were having coffee together, and invites you to consider and incorporate many different definitions of violence.
Reviewed by: 
Louise
$24.99
ISBN: 9781476709123
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 4th, 2014
One of our country's foremost intellectuals examines the axis of race, class, and gender in her most recent body of work. Sister Citizen discusses how internalized misogyny, anti-blackness, and respectability politics police how black American women engage in public discourse. An absolutely necessary read for anyone interested in womanist studies and modern American politics.
Reviewed by: 
Louise
$17.00
ISBN: 9780300188189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yale University Press - April 23rd, 2013
Mattilda tells the reader all, never shielding us from the ugliness of her past, which will render you absolutely speechless. But rather than waxing poetic about what it all means, Sycamore unleashes a tidal wave of frustration, happiness, and sometimes drug-induced euphoria in this heartache of a book. It will severely enrich your life--you'll never think of SF in the same way again.
Reviewed by: 
Louise
$15.95
ISBN: 9780872865723
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: City Lights Books - March 19th, 2013
Every once in a great while, there is a book that breaks your heart because it is so purely true. bell hooks has a knack for hitting the nail right on the head, and this meditation of a book is no exception. Although themes explored here don't necessarily have that new idea smell, it’s a wonderful book that should be read aloud with someone you love. –Louise
Reviewed by: 
Louise
$13.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - January 9th, 2001

I thought this memoir did an outstanding job of combining the beautiful self-reflection of Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls with the savory zealousness for life I felt while reading Julia Child's My Life in France. It was a joy to read about someone finding their passion, and tracing steps backward to thank everyone for their influences, positive as well as constructive.

Reviewed by: 
Mikaela
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812981117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - May 25th, 2010
I love that this cookbook puts on display some of the great farms in our area. There are some interesting profiles inside of people who have devoted their lives to their trade: farming, cooking and of course eating! Great locally-based recipes that take into account the seasonality of vegetables that grow best in Santa Cruz.
Reviewed by: 
Mikaela
$40.00
ISBN: 9780061441486
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - June 23rd, 2009
This book talks about the emergence of a new cooking order that is entirely Californian: farm-to-table. It also discusses how this has changed the landscape of modern restaurants, with more women chefs and a more artisanal approach. A really engrossing read for anyone interested in food and food politics.
Reviewed by: 
Mikaela
$34.95
ISBN: 9780520268197
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of California Press - September 6th, 2013
Much is being written right now about the dangers and potential of media and technology, but this timeless collage of trippy images and quotes from famous media theorist Marshall McLuhan is really the definitive book on the subject. On top of that, it manages to do what so many professors fail at--making theory fun.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
By Marshall McLuhan, Shepard Fairey (Illustrator), Quentin Fiore (Joint Author)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781584230700
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gingko Press - August 2001
Full of hilarious personal tales about bosses from hell, an embarrassing drawer full of toy ponies, and killing off middle school math teachers one by one on computer game The Oregon Trail, these essays are perfect reading material for fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Nora Ephron.
Reviewed by: 
Blair
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594483066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 2008

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060