New Paperback Fiction, July 2012

This is one of those reads that I picked up and instantly became wrapped up in, the whole time one small part of my brain being so excited that I had at last found that long sought perfect summer read. Mostly told through the point of view of high-spirited and fiercely determined 11-year-old Swan, one cannot help but fall in love with this vibrant young girl. As Swan's Arkansas family is exposed to their core after an unforeseen tragedy, Swan seems the only one who refuses to give up faith or spirit. It may sound cliche, but this really is that book that makes you laugh, hold your breath, and tear up. For fans of Fannie Flagg, this is that it summer read.
Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
The Homecoming of Samuel Lake Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780385344098
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - July 10th, 2012

This book surprised me by its wit and full-fledged characters. The time is 1968 in a small New England town that is slow to pick up on feminism and civil rights. Carolyn Cooke's book opens with a crisis that sets the whole town into a forward moving tailspin. We watch a widow, her young daughter, and a teen age girl (who happens to be the only co-ed in an all boys school) circle the edges of independence and liberation in a town that isn't quite ready to meet them. With quirky characters and plenty of wit, this was a satisfying and smart read.
Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
Daughters of the Revolution Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307741462
Availability: Special Order
Published: Vintage Books - June 5th, 2012

A child lost at sea, a shipwreck, a siege, a remote island, and a hard-earned chance for survival—all of these things are the premise for the beginning of Michael Parker’s new novel, The Watery Part of The World. Taking a true fact from history about a young woman lost at sea in 1813 off the North Carolina coast, Parkers weaves a tale that is lyrical and haunting. Spanning 150 years with two interwoven stories, this novel speaks to love and sacrifice--Parker has beautifully written a literary adventure story about the power of endurance and the bonds that form in make-shift places. A perfect read for fans of Toni Morrison or Ian McEwan.
Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
The Watery Part of the World Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781616201432
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - June 5th, 2012

When I finished this book, I turned it over and read it all over again. Seriously. Every chapter of this early 20th century period piece left me with a hauntingly beautiful image of life at the turn of the century. From the perspective of a lonely laborer named Robert Grainier looking back at the events of his life, there is a feeling of wonder and discovery in the realization of the American frontier. Really, though, I loved this book.
Reviewed by: 
Tracy
Train Dreams: A Novella Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9781250007650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - May 22nd, 2012

There's something amazingly fresh about Jones' writing. It feels like a memoir, and a not terribly coherent one at that, but figuring out the mysteries of the narration is almost as fun as trying to figure out who burned the cotton and who shot the gun. It's a slice of life, convincing and unflattering, brought to you in a remarably beautiful voice by an incredibly talented writer.
Reviewed by: 
Nici
Growing Up Dead in Texas Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781849821544
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MP Publishing - June 19th, 2012

This interlocking collection of short stories swept me up and firmly invaded my heart. Each story features women attempting to deal with serious experiences, and sheds light on the inner struggles that we don't always share and sometimes won't even admit to. There's humor here, lurking in the shadows of their hearts. Schappell moves you through their lives with ease, beauty and honesty.
Reviewed by: 
Nici
Blueprints for Building Better Girls Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780743276719
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 10th, 2012

I picked up this book and was immediately swept up in its story. In the small town of Fox Hollow (in the Smokey Mountains) a child wakes from a nightmare in confusion, gravely hurt, and suddenly mute. Her family must struggle to figure out if what the child manages to tell about what happened that night is truth, or a hallucination brought on by the child’s fear and injury. Doubt, miracles, loss and survival, hurt and forgiveness collide in this wonderful novel. Not wanting to give too much away, this is a story that warms—where the characters are lovable and we find ourselves rooting for this small town community, holding heart and hope—and ultimately the power of healing found in hard to reach places.
Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
The Healer of Fox Hollow Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781936467358
Availability: Special Order
Published: Vantage Point - July 1st, 2012

A haunting look inside the mind of a little boy as he tries to understand his mother’s death and deal with circumstances that no person, much less child, should have to face. Moved from foster home to a series of other less than ideal living situations, he struggles to persuade himself of his self-worth while the world beats him down. Heartbreaking and often uncomfortable, The Kid keeps pulling you back in. If you liked Push, you’ll love this.
Reviewed by: 
Lou
The Kid Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143121206
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

Three young lovers are lost in a wood. They were never in love with each other-in fact have never met. But heartache, and strange coincidence, has drawn them together, to face a most unusual and terrifying night, born of a Queen’s own desperation and loss. Inspired by--but not following--A Midsummer Night’s Dream, this contemporary faerie tale pits the most modern of troubles against the oldest: love, loss, and terrors made real in the night.
Reviewed by: 
Jocelyn
The Great Night Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250007384
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - May 8th, 2012

Strange and wonderful, at times almost impossibly confusing–but in that way that seems fraught with meaning. Murakami elevates the natural condition of human existence to an alternate reality, where the weirdness of life is brought into the open when a less-than-normal woman is caught between worlds. There’s sex and love, faith and fantasy, young and old, the mysterious and disgusting–and a story, or stories, that will frustrate and comfort with longing and familiarity.
Reviewed by: 
Jocelyn
Staff Pick Logo
1q84: 3 Volume Boxed Set Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780345802934
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 15th, 2012

The 3 volumes are paperbacks, the case is hard plastic.


Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060