Middle Grade Books from the 2016 Winter Newsletter

These titles were featured in our 2016 Winter Newsletter.

A clear and engaging field guide for our area, with high-quality audio bird songs from the world-renowned Cornell Lab of Ornithology. “Don Kroodsma’s passion for birdsong is infectious, and this guide will have any birder (including me) listening to birds with new insight and appreciation after reading it.” —David Allen Sibley, author and illustrator of The Sibley Guide to Birds. For all ages.

Staff Pick Logo
The Backyard Birdsong Guide Western North America: A Guide to Listening Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781943645008
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Cornell Lab Publishing Group - April 12th, 2016

A score of poetic vignettes provide the setup for Esquire writer Art Kane’s iconic 1958 photograph of jazz greats, posed for an unpaid photo shoot at the outlandish (for jazz musicians) hour of 10 am on the steps of a brownstone at 126th Street in Harlem. Roxane Orgill’s text is accompanied by Francis Vallejo’s evocative acrylic and pastel paintings, leading up to a fold-out spread of the actual photo, indicated by a black page with the word “click” in white print. This is the second picture book—the other being Me…Jane by Patrick McDonnell, about Jane Goodall—to make perfectly exquisite use of an iconic photograph. Grades 4 & up. —GĀ

Staff Pick Logo
Jazz Day: The Making of a Famous Photograph Cover Image
By Roxane Orgill, Francis Vallejo (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763669546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - March 8th, 2016

When a children’s picture book biography contains primary source materials (letters, photos, manuscript pages); when it has drawings, whimsical collages, and watercolor; and, most importantly, has a clear and nimble text, I get happy. What Melissa Sweet’s book conveys about E. B. White’s writing (through excerpts), and what she herself conveys through her own writing, is joy—the sense of how lucky we are to live this life. Some Writer! is just what a biography should be, leaving you both satisfied and curious. Ages 8 & up. —GĀ

Staff Pick Logo
Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780544319592
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 4th, 2016

Here is a wilderness survival story, told in alternating chapters by 12-year-old Peter and by Pax, the orphaned fox kit he raised, as they attempt to reunite in a warring countryside that feels a little like our own neighborhoods in the near future. This is a startling and viscerally moving antiwar novel that will appeal to several age groups. We have some signed first editions in stock. Grades 5–8.—GĀ

Staff Pick Logo
Pax Cover Image
By Sara Pennypacker, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062377012
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 2nd, 2016

This is not what we’ve come to expect from a Kate DiCamillo novel—no clever razzle-dazzle of poet-squirrels and brave mice that steal your heart. Instead, as in her very first novel, we have a young girl in trouble. Ten-year-old Raymie’s dad has run away with a dental hygienist. She can’t make him return unless, she reasons, he sees her photo in the paper as the baton-twirling winner (she’s never twirled a baton) of the Miss Central Florida Tire Competition of 1975. Two other girls covet this prize, each for their own similarly unreasoned reasons, but the three girls become loyal friends and (sans adults) rescue each other. Droll, heartbreaking, and oh so nice. Grades 4–7. —GĀ

 

Staff Pick Logo
Raymie Nightingale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763681173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 12th, 2016

Booked is a riveting sports story about a smart, reading-averse, soccer-obsessed, 12-year-old boy. Like his Newbery Award–winning Crossover, the novel is told in verse and Kwame Alexander is just the writer to pull this off and make it absolutely appealing to a reluctant reader like his protagonist Nick (or to a seasoned reader like me). Grades 5–8. —GĀ

 

Staff Pick Logo
Booked Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544570986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 5th, 2016

Luna was left in the woods as an infant by superstitious villagers. Xan, a witch, intends to take her for adoption to a nearby town but can’t seem to part with her. When she feeds her on the moon’s magic, Xan knows she’s created a big problem: Luna has magic, and too much of it. Meanwhile, something evil suppresses the hopes of the villagers, feeding on their despair. A delightful fantasy, featuring a kindly witch, a sage swamp monster, his buddy (a miniature dragon who imagines himself big), and an epic struggle to save the forest. For readers of Jinx, Real Boy, and Rick Riordan. Grades 5–8.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

The creator of Smile and Drama is back! Ghosts is an all-new graphic novel set in Bahía de la Luna (a blend of Half Moon Bay and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk) that features sisters Catrina (Cat) and Maya. As Cat’s family prepares to celebrate the Day of the Dead after moving to a new town, Cat dodges black cats, ghosts, and difficult truths she doesn’t want to face. Another crowd-pleaser from Raina Telgemeier, whom Bookshop will be hosting on the Day of the Dead, November 1st. (See page 43 for details.) Ages 9–13.  —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Ghosts Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780545540612
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Reynolds uses a swift, light touch to tell the endearing story of a feisty black middle school boy who is rescued by running track. It’s terrific.   —Ga

 

Staff Pick Logo
Ghost Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481450157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - August 30th, 2016

For readers who loved The One and Only Ivan or The Thing About Jellyfish. Maybe a Fox had me in its grasp from the first few sentences and didn’t let go until the last word. Gripping, heartbreaking, and lovely, this small, sweet novel holds nothing back. Sighting a fox is known to be lucky (as is believed in Jules’ small town), but Jules has been nothing but unlucky in life. When a newborn fox is born at the same moment as a tragedy occurs, Jules stands in need of all the luck she can get, and maybe a special gift from an unusual and mysterious creature. Ages 10–13. —TERA

 

Staff Pick Logo
Maybe a Fox Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442482425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - March 8th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060