Fall Reading, 2016

In Foer’s latest novel, generations of history are laid on the shoulders of one modern Jewish-American family during a time of crisis. So much is endured, revealed, and lost that they seem inextricably bound to the reader. At the heart of it all is this: What does it mean to be fully present in one’s life? There are no easy answers, but I am in awe at the skill with which Foer delves into the heart of familial life.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Here I Am Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374280024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 6th, 2016

In this beautiful, brazen debut novel, Arudpragasam intimately explores the human condition through a day in the life of Dinesh, a young refugee of the Sri Lankan Civil War. Asked to marry an older man’s only daughter to provide an illusion of protection from the armies and the shellings, Dinesh accepts and in so doing must reacquaint himself with the act of living, instead of merely surviving. It is bone-deep introspective and worth the devastating read.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Story of a Brief Marriage Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250072405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 6th, 2016

In his new novel, Maksik captures the slipperiness of bipolar disorder and the discomforting contradiction of our current cultural climate. Shelter in Place shifts through time, moving back and forth in the Pacific Northwest, beginning in the early 90s when Joe March graduates from college, falls madly in love, and sees his mother go to prison for murder, and then forward through the years as he lives with the aftermath of that one summer as well as his own mental illness—or as he describes it, the bird, the tar, and the ecstasy.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Shelter in Place Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609453640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 13th, 2016

Living history through another’s eyes is a long tradition in American literature, but it is often from a very white perspective. Peter Ho Davies, through his superb mastery of language, shows us what it means to be an American while also being Chinese. Davies takes four unique characters from different eras and draws readers into their story at once distinct and familiar. Over and over, I recalibrated my understanding of history and how much is owed to overlooked, but vast communities.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
The Fortunes Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780544263703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 6th, 2016

Mischling opens at the doorsteps of Auschwitz as twin sisters first enter Josef Mengele’s infamous “Zoo,” where he affronted the human soul with a series of unforgivable experiments. Told from their dueling perspectives, this story isn’t a historical Holocaust narrative—instead, it is a literary, experiential kaleidoscope, using precocious young narrators to wrest meaning from that abyss. Horrible reality here gives way to poetic, lyrical prose which is affecting, powerful, and transcendent.  —Amber

Staff Pick Logo
Mischling Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316308106
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lee Boudreaux Books - September 6th, 2016

Towles cements himself as a gifted storyteller and expert world builder with his delightful novel, A Gentleman in Moscow. In 1922, the young Count Rostov is sentenced to house arrest in the attic of a grand hotel, and from there we witness three decades of Russian history and the interior lives of those who lived it. How the fullness of humanity can be contained, distilled and brought to exquisite life within a single hotel, within a single remarkable man, is both a feat and a joy to witness.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

Inspired by the original pulp comics of the 1940s, and a dedication to the real animals of our world, the legendary Margaret Atwood draws on a life-long love of the graphic medium for ANGEL CATBIRD!  A new superhero in a world of science, secretly populated by half-human-half animals, threatened by a diabolical plan to take over the world. Absolute fun with just a touch of fur and feathers—they don’t make ‘em like this anymore.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Angel Catbird, Volume 1 Cover Image
By Margaret Atwood, Margaret Atwood (Created by), Johnnie Christmas (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781506700632
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dark Horse Books - September 6th, 2016

This charming adventure features a young American medium working during the Great War as part of a spiritualist effort to support the British military, and is full of brave deeds, creative magic, and tragic love. This fantasy is truly made remarkable by Kowal’s ability to describe a world extending beyond what our eyes can see; her writing gives vivid life to auras, spirits, and mystical forces. A unique premise and excellent supporting characters make this a sure-to-please fantasy.  —Nici

Staff Pick Logo
Ghost Talkers Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780765378255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - August 16th, 2016

A proud, interplanetary empire stands on the brink of destruction, war and intrigue tearing it apart. A Princess missing years ago is the last hope...or a gunrunner facing mutiny and betrayal, who does not want to go home. The fast-paced story kept me hooked, action balanced with memorable characters unraveling a deep-seated plot for the throne. If you need to escape to the stars—or to a seedy back alley—this is the book.  —Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Behind the Throne Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316308601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 2nd, 2016

This book hits so many things I’ve been pining for lately! There are assassins who worship a mysterious goddess of death, plus a rich history and fantastic world building, all wrapped in luscious writing that’s a treat to read. Did I mention the anti-heroine who is wonderfully complex and surprisingly hard to forget, and her talking “cat” made of shadows? A perfect fit for fans of Scott Lynch or Patrick Rothfuss.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Nevernight Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250073020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - August 9th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060