MacMillan

Reading the stories in Her Body and Other Parties has been among the memorable literary pleasures of 2017. Carmen Maria Machado writes with fearless exploration, precision, and tenderness that would prompt envy if gratitude and admiration weren’t first to arrive on the scene. From the lovely, apocalyptic love story “Inventory” to the dizzying and original “Especially Heinous,” Machado’s work is curious, inventive, and thrilling. It’s feminist and pop culture, classic and weird; the stories are complex and the characters are haunting. What a debut! - Chorel

Staff Pick Logo
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

This novel is simply exquisite. I loved every quiet, joyous, heart-bursting, heart-breaking, contemplative moment of it. Deeply immersed in turn of the 20th century Catholic Brooklyn, McDermott unspools and weaves together the lives affected by one man’s life-ending decision, as his widowed wife, their infant daughter, and the Little Nursing Sisters of the Sick Poor come to understand the power of friendship and loyalty, and the nuances of faith and forgiveness. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Ninth Hour Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374280147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - September 19th, 2017

Captivating historical fiction about a priceless painting, the painter who created it, the man who inherited it, and the celebrated art historian who created a forgery of it.  Smith skillfully weaves a multi-layered story narrated by the painter Sara de Vos in 17th century Amsterdam, the owner Marty de Groot in 1957 New York, and the forger Ellie Shipley in 2000 Sydney Australia. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
The Last Painting of Sara De Vos Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250118325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - April 4th, 2017

A sublime collection of speculative, dystopian short stories. Weinstein’s near-future is full of isolating cybersex, social media implants and memory manufacturers. A father has to deal with his malfunctioning robot son. A suburban town has to decide which local kid to shoot off into space. Perfect for fans of George Saunders or Phillip K. Dick. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Children of the New World: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250098993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - September 13th, 2016

Hassan Blasim, author of the haunting book The Corpse Exhibition, has assembled science fiction stories from Iraqi writers, all set 100 years after the U.S. occupation of Iraq. These stories demonstrate how Iraq's past will influence its future by blending history with fantastical technology. The defiance to imagine the future so creatively when at times even the arrival of the next day is uncertain is the spirit of this collection. - Louise

Staff Pick Logo
Iraq + 100: The First Anthology of Science Fiction to Have Emerged from Iraq Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250161321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 12th, 2017

The year is 2044, and a performance enhancing drug is causing people to work themselves to death. Tractor Jack, a female drug pirate with a submarine, embarks upon a mission to stop the spread of the deadly drug before it becomes an epidemic. An unlikely man-robot love affair sweetens an otherwise dystopian storyline. The political undertone (a pharmaceutical big bad, human and A.I. trafficking) echoes Margaret Atwood. This is my early pick for best Sci-Fi book of the year. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Autonomous Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765392077
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 19th, 2017

It’s hard to imagine a memoir about one heartbroken single-ish mother’s struggle through the medical system to save her infant daughter being warm and joyful, and yet this book is exactly that. Harpham writes with such grace, honesty and humor, it is easy to follow her through the harrowing moments of her journey with her daughter Gracie and to discover with her the many different ways love and support can manifest and lead to outright joy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Happiness: A Memoir: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781250131560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - August 1st, 2017

Kassabova returns to the land of her childhood, Bulgaria, to explore the complex Balkan borderlands it shares with Turkey and Greece. Through extensive research, interviews with townsfolk, and personal reflection, she examines the forces that continue to shape this intriguing region. Lyrical and rich with stories, this book is travelogue, political history, and folklore all in one. - Natalie

Staff Pick Logo
Border: A Journey to the Edge of Europe Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 5th, 2017

Joyce Maynard (bestselling of author of At Home in the World) has written a touching and sincere book about finding strength and life in the midst of hardship. In their late 50’s, Joyce and her soon-to-be husband, Jim, met for the first time. Each had been married, had children, and also then subsequently divorced. Neither Jim nor Joyce was particularly looking for love again, but there was a deep connection between the two, that neither could ignore. Maynard writes their story of reclaiming love and romance, getting married, and then dealing with the blow of Jim’s diagnosis of pancreatic cancer. Praised by Anne Lamott for being full of “the tears and joy of life,” Maynard coveys with such clarity not just the honesty about the ugliness of illness, but also the unparalleled bond of intimacy and awareness that springs forth when life is on the line. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Logo
The Best of Us: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635570342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - September 5th, 2017

A customer recommended this book to me, and I’m so glad she did! Horwitz and his wisecracking, alcoholic friend follow the same course as the legendary sailor Captain James Cook. Horwitz’s journey helps him strike a balance between admiration for Cook’s achievements, and an acknowledgement of the irreversible catastrophes he unintentionally wrought on the native cultures he encountered whilst circumnavigating the globe. - Jade

Staff Pick Logo
Blue Latitudes: Boldly Going Where Captain Cook Has Gone Before Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780312422608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - August 1st, 2003

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060