MacMillan

A treasure trove for Twin Peaks fans, this book bridges the gap between the original episodes and the upcoming season. It provides new clues about the original mystery, fresh insights into the characters, and features illustrations, documents, and photographs that supplement the story. If you’ve missed Agent Cooper, the Log Lady, Deputy Hawk, or any of the other wonderful characters from the original series, The Secret History of Twin Peaks will tide you over until the new episodes air.                                      —Jade

Staff Pick Logo
The Secret History of Twin Peaks Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250075581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 18th, 2016

“The Art of Waiting is an eye-opening, gorgeously written blend of memoir, reportage, and cultural analysis....Examining infertility and childlessness through the lens of her own struggle to become pregnant, Boggs presents not only a courageous account of her personal experience but an illuminating, wide-ranging study of the medical, psychological, social, and historical aspects of a condition that affects one in eight couples nationwide.” —Boston Globe

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 6th, 2016

When her marriage falls apart, Melton (a blogger by trade) does the only thing she can: She writes every brutal truth with surgical precision for the world to see. Glennon speaks secrets about being a person that you feel never should be voiced, but in a way that compels you to look at your own shortcomings and come to terms with them. This book tore me to pieces but left me with a pleasant ache of hope.  —Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Love Warrior: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250075727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 6th, 2016

In Foer’s latest novel, generations of history are laid on the shoulders of one modern Jewish-American family during a time of crisis. So much is endured, revealed, and lost that they seem inextricably bound to the reader. At the heart of it all is this: What does it mean to be fully present in one’s life? There are no easy answers, but I am in awe at the skill with which Foer delves into the heart of familial life.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Here I Am Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374280024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 6th, 2016

In this beautiful, brazen debut novel, Arudpragasam intimately explores the human condition through a day in the life of Dinesh, a young refugee of the Sri Lankan Civil War. Asked to marry an older man’s only daughter to provide an illusion of protection from the armies and the shellings, Dinesh accepts and in so doing must reacquaint himself with the act of living, instead of merely surviving. It is bone-deep introspective and worth the devastating read.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Story of a Brief Marriage Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250072405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 6th, 2016

This charming adventure features a young American medium working during the Great War as part of a spiritualist effort to support the British military, and is full of brave deeds, creative magic, and tragic love. This fantasy is truly made remarkable by Kowal’s ability to describe a world extending beyond what our eyes can see; her writing gives vivid life to auras, spirits, and mystical forces. A unique premise and excellent supporting characters make this a sure-to-please fantasy.  —Nici

Staff Pick Logo
Ghost Talkers Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780765378255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - August 16th, 2016

This book hits so many things I’ve been pining for lately! There are assassins who worship a mysterious goddess of death, plus a rich history and fantastic world building, all wrapped in luscious writing that’s a treat to read. Did I mention the anti-heroine who is wonderfully complex and surprisingly hard to forget, and her talking “cat” made of shadows? A perfect fit for fans of Scott Lynch or Patrick Rothfuss.  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Nevernight Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250073020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - August 9th, 2016

A rot has spread into the ranks of the Surete, so Armande Gamache takes a position at the Surete training grounds to find and eliminate the cause. Of course, he quickly finds himself dealing with a murder, while an odd map of Three Pines surfaces and adds mystery of its own. This is Louise Penny at her best—a character driven story filled with beloved characters that is also a deftly woven mystery. I loved it.  —Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
A Great Reckoning Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250022134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - August 30th, 2016

When an artist becomes so famous as to be ubiquitous it can make their work seem safe, apolitical, and even boring. Years of seeing Claude Monet’s water lilies on countless mugs, cutting boards and other tchotchkes has had this effect. This book opens up the completely devastating, radical and gorgeous life of Monet—a man who painted through blindness and depression, and who would not allow a single flower at his funeral.  —Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781632860125
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 6th, 2016

Compulsively readable, real, and important, Jeff Chang’s new book provides a topic-by-topic overview of how racial tension, pain, and calls for justice have risen to the current moment—from Donald Trump to Rachel Dolezal, police brutality to campus protest. The author writes as one aware that, stranded in discomfort, many people elect to stay silent about racial issues. The invitation he writes toward is simple: Screw silence. Join in. You are needed.  —Amber

Staff Pick Logo
We Gon' Be Alright: Notes on Race and Resegregation Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780312429485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - September 13th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060