MacMillan

San Francisco is my favorite city in the world, and this book gives so many reasons to fall in love all over again – and is also an intriguing and lovely introduction for any stranger to the foggy shore. Starting from a physical exploration, Gary Kamiya takes you on a temporal, environmental, and ideological tour of this small, wonderful place.   

Reviewed by: 
Jocelyn
$16.00
ISBN: 9781620401262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - October 14th, 2014

The best DIY, anti-consumer homemaker guide out there. Easy to use, compact, realistic, and not for hippies. Want to save money and avoid toxic chemicals while cleaning your stuff and yourself, but still want your hair to shine and your toilet to sparkle? Includes everything from non-toxic lip balm recipes to what kind of dish soap you can recycle into your gardening.  

Reviewed by: 
Julia
$21.00
ISBN: 9781605294629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rodale Press - April 26th, 2011

This is a good book. It's about people who are happy and depressed and ecstatic and regretful and loving and bored, and how they are brought together in this book with ink and pain and blood and everything they’ve experienced. Pen & Ink is sparse and gorgeous, the illustrations allowing the narratives to take center stage.  

Reviewed by: 
Rachel
$22.00
ISBN: 9781620404904
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - October 7th, 2014

Reminiscent of an engaging college lecture, Animal Weapons is as labeled: a look at the evolution of antlers, horns, teeth, and spikes (with the weapon-bearers ranging from hoofstock and prehistoric cats to birds and dung beetles). Emlen also tracks the evolution of human weapons, providing an interesting comparison of the time-line between the two. 

Reviewed by: 
Rachel
By Douglas J. Emlen, David Tuss (Illustrator)
$30.00
ISBN: 9780805094503
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - November 11th, 2014

The true story of 4 undocumented Mexican American teenagers from an under-funded, under-supported Phoenix high school are challenged by their brave teachers to enter a national, collegiate level robotics competition--and they win. (Don't worry, I'm not giving anything away; it wouldn't now be a Hollywood-produced movie if they'd lost.) Joshua Davis is a master storyteller who is interested in more than just the shiny success story of these amazing students. What does it mean when this kind of potential is squandered, even deported? Spare Parts is entertaining, inspiring, and funny, without a doubt--but it's also a thought-provoking look at the modern "American Dream" and the institutions and prejudices that decide who gets to have a chance at it.

Reviewed by: 
Julia
$14.00
ISBN: 9780374534981
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - December 2nd, 2014

Two brothers sneak out at night for an innocent adventure, but only one will return home. So begins the premise of debut author’s Nathan Filer’s novel. Narrated by 19-year old Mathew, who is being treated for schizophrenia, Mathew is determined to tell the story of what actually happened ten years before when his brother went missing, and in by doing so, he may just save himself from his own demons. Readers who enjoyed Curious Incident of the Dog in Nighttime or Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain will gravitate toward this novel, but it is so fully its own—one that must be read and not described: “‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’”

How’s that for an opener? This is a beautiful book with an ending that comes as surprise. This is the story for the reader who upturns rocks to see what’s underneath—the reader that loves a story where shadow reveals beauty, and hope seeps through.

Reviewed by: 
S.M.C.
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250028136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 6th, 2015

Anda finds her calling in Coarsegold Online, a multiplayer online roleplaying game. When she is ordered to wipe out in-game gold farmers—players paid pennies a day to gather valuable items for other players—she does so without a second thought. But things change when she "meets" Raymond, whose work as a gold farmer may be his only hope at treating his very real illness. With Gamergate still very much a timely topic, this incredibly illustrated graphic novel should be required reading for anyone making enemies and friends online.

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
By Cory Doctorow, Jen Wang (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781596436589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - October 14th, 2014

This book is deranged, mean-spirited, brilliantly written and funny as hell. Set in the jewelry business, it’s about a rivalry between two brothers but also about capitalism and self-interest run amok. It’s one of the most surprising and enjoyable books I’ve read in the last few years. (But a sick sense of humor is definitely required.)

Reviewed by: 
Rico
$20.00
ISBN: 9780312429645
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - April 27th, 2010

Knock, knock. Who's there? It's the funniest, quirkiest, most whimsical short story writer this bookseller has ever read. A bestseller in his native Israel, he's quickly made his way to the top of the bestsellers list of my heart with his innate ability to take unremarkable situations and spin them slowly and surely into strange and magical tales unconstrained by reality.

Reviewed by: 
Megan
By Etgar Keret, Miriam Shlesinger (Translator), Sondra Silverston (Translator)
$14.00
ISBN: 9780374533335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - March 27th, 2012

Telling the story of a good, middle-class girl who grows up to be a strident radical (think Kathleen Soliah of the SLA or Bernadine Dohrn of the Weather Underground), Nunez captures a powerful, unrelenting personality, as well as the mood and events of the 1960s and 70s. The writing is somehow both relaxed and urgent, conversational and polished. A great book.

Reviewed by: 
Rico
$19.00
ISBN: 9780312425944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 12th, 2006

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060