Hachette

The Stillness isn’t a post-apocalyptic world—it’s a civilization built entirely to survive the next apocalypse.  And each one after that.  However, the final destruction of an unstable land comes not from constant natural disasters, but from a doom the people sowed themselves.  N.K. Jemisin has built a beautiful, brutal, devastating world whose ties to our own are stronger than they appear, and the start of an epic trilogy unlike any you’ve read before.  --Jocelyn

$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

Patrick McDonnell, the author/illustrator of staff favorite Me, Jane and the comic strip Mutts, has an easily identifiable illustration style and a sweet, silly sense of humor. Both talents are on display in this charming book. Three little monsters live in a dark castle above a frightened town. One day, they decide to build the biggest monster ever, but the results are not what they expected. In the end—thanks to one not so monstrous monster and some jelly donuts—the little monsters learn to appreciate the little things in life. This is an absolutely adorable book. Ages 4+

--Flannery

$17.00
ISBN: 9780316045476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2012

Simon Rich has struck gold in his newest collection, lampooning overbearing moms, millennials, and hipper-than-thou slackers—all lacking direction and humility. I laughed out loud reading the harrowing life of a hamster stuck in a 1st-grade classroom. It’s twisted with sour one-liners and written like he was telling you these stories at a cocktail party in an abandoned warehouse in Williamsburg. Great for fans of B.J. Novak and David Sedaris.  —Louise

$15.00
ISBN: 9780316368650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - May 26th, 2015

When Elizabeth I and Philip II sat on their thrones it seemed the whole world was split between Catholics and Protestants. Most people are aware of the Spanish Inquisition, even if only through Monty Python. Lesser known is the internal struggle of the French. Goldstone takes it and manages to make it rather hilarious and relatable. Never have I laughed so much at footnotes.
Reviewed by: 
Ivy
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316409650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - June 23rd, 2015

Steampunk fantasy with a side of Jane Austen. . . what’s not to love? Alexia is unusual not only because she cares not a whit for social niceties or her unmarriageable status, but because she is “soulless” and lacks the vital energy that vampires and other supernaturals consume. There’s a plot afoot, and Alexia’s special gift just may come in handy. I love this book; it warms the cockles of my gear-driven heart.  —Jax

$15.00
ISBN: 9780316402415
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - April 1st, 2014

You isn’t just about the magical moment when you first laid eyes on a video game console. It’s about everything that goes into creating a game: fleshing out imaginary universes sentence by sentence and tearing out your hair writing code at 3 in the morning. The magical realism and ☆90s flashbacks☆ made this emotional, introspective look at the development of gaming super enjoyable to read.  —Andrea

$15.00
ISBN: 9780316198547
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - April 8th, 2014

Look out, this is Battle Fantasy at its best. Fans of Joe Abercrombie will feel right at home—particularly fans the kick-ass Monza in Best Served Cold. The twisting plot of ambition and revenge is full of tough female characters—they are intelligent commanders, vicious fighters, ruthless plotters and no one is surprised that they’re also women. It’s also refreshingly non-heteronormative, and the story is full of inventive narcotics, creative demonology, and twisted religious fanatics. It’s a wild ride.

Reviewed by: 
Nici
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316277983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - April 14th, 2015

Kate Atkinson describes A God in Ruins as a “companion piece” to Life After Life, but I like to think of it as the quieter younger brother. The book is about Teddy, a quiet soul who becomes a RAF bomber, and his long life after World War II. While his sister Ursula had hundreds of chances at reliving her life, Teddy remains fixed, and must reckon with a future he never thought he’d live to see.

Reviewed by: 
Rico
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316176538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - May 5th, 2015

Set in Nigeria in the mid-1990s, this terrific debut tells the story of four brothers whose fortunes change for the worse when their father takes a job in a faraway city. The plot feels as solid and classic as something out of the Old Testament—an African version of Cain and Abel—and the writing is unique, creating tension in oblique and unexpected ways. I found this a profound and moving reading experience.

Reviewed by: 
Rico
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316338370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 14th, 2015

How does Donna Tartt keep creating protagonists with whom I identify so deeply, even though I’ve [probably] never stolen a famous painting and then become a drug-addicted furniture swindler? Each sentence is so multifaceted and drenched in feeling that it demands to be dissected, and your heart will be scraped raw by the end. Am I exaggerating? Now that this Pulitzer Prize winner is in paperback, there's no better time to discover The Goldfinch for yourself.

Reviewed by: 
Andrea
$20.00
ISBN: 9780316055444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 7th, 2015

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060